اكتب للبحث

الحرب ضد أوروبا

وافقت المملكة المتحدة على مبيعات الأسلحة لإسرائيل بعد أيام من إطلاق النار على غزة

احتجاج على مبيعات الأسلحة ضد المملكة المتحدة في لندن ، مارس 2018. (الصورة: اليسدار هيكسون)
احتجاج على مبيعات الأسلحة ضد المملكة المتحدة في لندن ، مارس 2018. (الصورة: اليسدار هيكسون)

"هناك انفصال تام بين مبادئ الاتحاد الأوروبي وصورته وفرض أي سياسة متماسكة فيما يتعلق بصادرات الأسلحة."

أعطت الحكومة البريطانية الضوء الأخضر لمبيعات الأسلحة لإسرائيل في 2018 بقيمة 17 مليون دولار على الرغم من الاحتجاج الدولي على تورط الدولة اليهودية في احتجاجات غزة القاتلة في العام نفسه.

وفقًا لتقرير مرصد الشرق الأوسط، نشرت وزارة التجارة الدولية في المملكة المتحدة (DIT) بيانات بيع الأسلحة التي تم جمعها من قبل الحملة ضد تجارة الأسلحة (CAAT). أظهرت البيانات أن الإدارة البريطانية منحت تراخيص لبيع الأسلحة التي شملت أجزاء من الذخيرة والبنادق الهجومية وكذلك الأسلحة الأخرى التي سيتم استخدامها من قبل الجيش الإسرائيلي ضد الفلسطينيين.

في مايو 2018 ، دعمت لندن قيمة صادرات الأسلحة أكثر من $ شنومكس بعد أربعة أيام فقط من إطلاق الجنود الإسرائيليين النار على فلسطينيين 68. من سخرية القدر ، وافقت إدارة تيريزا ماي آنذاك على المبيعات في نفس الأسبوع الذي أثارت فيه بواعث قلق خطيرة بشأن عمليات القتل.

في 2017 ، أصدرت المملكة المتحدة تراخيص تصدير الأسلحة تبلغ قيمتها 294 مليون دولار لمقاولي الدفاع الذين يصدرون معدات الحرب إلى إسرائيل ، بزيادة مذهلة تبلغ 256 في المئة مقارنة بالعام السابق (114 مليون دولار).

وقال CAAT في 2018 أن المملكة المتحدة باعت معدات عسكرية وحربية تبلغ قيمتها أكثر من 466 مليون دولار لإسرائيل على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية.

أندرو سميث ، المتحدث الرسمي باسم CAAT ، قال للجزيرة تم استخدام أسلحة المملكة المتحدة التي سبق بيعها لإسرائيل في هجومين إسرائيليين على الأقل على الجيب الساحلي المحاصر.

وقال: "لقد أكدت تحقيقات حكومة المملكة المتحدة أن الأسلحة البريطانية استخدمت ضد سكان غزة في 2009 و 2014" ، داعياً إلى "تحقيق كامل" لتحديد ما إذا كان "تم استخدامها في الأعمال الوحشية الأخيرة".

وأضاف سميث أن الزيادة الهائلة في مبيعات الأسلحة دليل على "العلاقة السياسية والعسكرية الوثيقة بشكل متزايد بين المملكة المتحدة وإسرائيل".

قواعد المملكة المتحدة ضد مبيعات الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية

يوم الخميس ، يونيو 20 ، قضت محكمة استئناف بريطانية بأن بيع الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية كان غير قانوني. زعمت المحكمة أن صادرات الأسلحة ساهمت في زيادة عدد القتلى المدنيين في حرب اليمن ، والتي استمرت لمدة خمس سنوات.

"خلصت محكمة الاستئناف إلى أن عملية صنع القرار من قبل الحكومة كانت خاطئة في القانون من جانب واحد مهم" قال تيرينس اثيرتونثاني أكبر قاض في إنجلترا.

ذكرت وكالة الأنباء البريطانية (CAAT) أن المملكة المتحدة قد منحت صادرات الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية الغنية بالنفط بقيمة 4.7 مليار دولار منذ 2015 - عندما بدأت السعودية وحلفاؤها في الخليج تدخلًا عسكريًا لقمع ثورة المتمردين الحوثيين في اليمن. رفعت المنظمة غير الربحية دعوى قضائية ضد حكومة المملكة المتحدة بناءً على فرضية أن التحالف المدعوم من السعودية قد انتهك إجراءات تصدير الأسلحة بموجب القانون الدولي والاتحاد الأوروبي.

ذكرت المستقلة في شهر تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) ، بلغت صادرات المملكة المتحدة من الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية أعلى مستوياتها وزادت 2017 في المئة منذ بداية حرب اليمن.

أشاد النشطاء المناهضون للحرب بالحكم البريطاني باعتباره "تاريخياً" ، لكن حكم المحكمة لا يعني أن صادرات الأسلحة إلى السعودية ستتوقف تلقائيًا ، حيث سيتم احترام العقود الحالية ، في انتظار قرار وزير الخارجية.

ذكرت الحكومة البريطانية أنها ستستأنف حكم المحكمة.

موقع النزاع المسلح ومشروع بيانات الحدثأو ACLED ، ذكرت أن حوالي 17,100 مدنيون قتلوا في نزاعات مسلحة في 2015. بينما قتل مدنيو 11,900 حتى الآن هذا العام وكانت 2018 هي الأكثر دموية في التاريخ الحديث حيث أودت بحياة 30,800.

بيانات ACLED أظهر أنه اعتبارًا من أبريل 2019 ، قتل التحالف المدعوم من السعودية في اليمن أكثر من مدنيين من 4,800 منذ 2016 ، في حين قتل المتمردون الحوثيون مدنيي 1,300 في نفس الفترة الزمنية.

سياسة الاتحاد الأوروبي للحد من الأسلحة

في الواقع ، لدى الاتحاد الأوروبي مدونة لقواعد السلوك بشأن صادرات الأسلحة تنص على إجراءات ومتطلبات تصدير الأسلحة. تشدد القاعدة على أن صادرات الأسلحة يجب أن تتجنب انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان وأن تمنع أيضًا استخدام الأسلحة ضد القوات المسلحة الأوروبية.

ومع ذلك ، فإن مدونة الاتحاد الأوروبي ليست ملزمة قانونًا. وبالتالي ، بالسماح للدول الأعضاء الفردية بأن يكون لها القول الفصل في منح عقود تصدير الأسلحة لمصنعي المعدات الحربية ، مما يؤدي إلى الفصل بين سياسة الاتحاد الأوروبي للحد من الأسلحة وسياسات الدول الأعضاء فيما يتعلق بمبيعات الأسلحة ،

وقال بيتس جيل ، مدير معهد SIPRI: "هناك انفصال تام بين مبادئ الاتحاد الأوروبي وصورته وفرض أي سياسة متماسكة فيما يتعلق بصادرات الأسلحة". كارنيجي أوروبا.

غالبًا ما يتهم المدافعون عن الحد من الأسلحة الدول الأوروبية بتطبيق معايير مزدوجة عندما يتعلق الأمر بتصدير الأسلحة. ألمانيا ، على سبيل المثال ، تمديد حظر تصدير الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية في أعقاب مقتل الصحفي واشنطن بوست جمال خاشقجي في اسطنبول في أكتوبر الماضي. ومع ذلك ، برلين وافق في نهاية المطاف بعض مبيعات معدات الحرب لأعضاء التحالف بقيادة السعودية من أجل الوفاء بالعقود المشتركة القائمة مع المقاولين الفرنسيين والبريطانيين.

وفقا ل DW، وافقت ألمانيا على شحنة من "التكنولوجيا لإنتاج شبه مقطورة منخفضة السرير" من شركة كاماج مقرها أولم إلى فرنسا ، والتي سوف ترسل بعد ذلك المنتج النهائي إلى المملكة العربية السعودية.

تشمل الصادرات الأخرى المعتمدة أو المعلقة الملحقات الألمانية - الفرنسية لأنظمة رادار تتبع المدفعية "كوبرا" التي سيتم شحنها إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، وثلاث مركبات مصفحة من طراز "دنغو" ورؤوس حربية من طراز 168 إلى قطر ، ومحركات كهربائية من طراز 92 لحاملة أفراد مدرعة من طراز "فوكس" إلى الجزائر ، صواعق 18,000 لتفجير قنابل هاون إلى إندونيسيا وأسلحة مضادة للدبابات 3,000 إلى سنغافورة.

أدانت الدول الأوروبية والولايات المتحدة مرارًا وتكرارًا عمليات القتل المدنية في اليمن ودعت إلى السلام في غزة ، لكنهم استمروا في شحن الأسلحة إلى منظمات مثل هيومن رايتس ووتش التي وصفت بأنها منتهكات جسيمة لحقوق الإنسان ، مثل المملكة العربية السعودية و إسرائيل.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ياسمين رشيدي

ياسمين كاتبة وخريجة العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الوطنية بجاكرتا. وهي تغطي مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع لحقيقة المواطن ، بما في ذلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والصراعات الدولية وقضايا حرية الصحافة. عملت ياسمين في وكالة شينخوا الإندونيسية و GeoStrategist سابقًا. تكتب من جاكرتا ، اندونيسيا.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANTI WAR EUROPE

UK Approved Arms Sales To Israel Days After Gaza Shootings

Anti-UK arms sales protest in London, March 2018. (Photo: Alisdare Hickson)
Anti-UK arms sales protest in London, March 2018. (Photo: Alisdare Hickson)

“There is a complete disconnect between EU principles and its image and enforcing any coherent policy concerning arms exports.”

The British government gave the green light to arms sales to Israel in 2018 worth $17 million despite international protest over the Jewish state’s involvement in the deadly Gaza protests of the same year.

According to a Middle East Monitor Report, the U.K.’s Department of International Trade (DIT) published the arms sale data which was collected by the Campaign Against the Arms Trade (CAAT). The data showed that the British administration granted licenses to sell weapons which included parts for ammunition and assault rifles as well as other arms that would be used by the Israeli army against Palestinians.

In May 2018, London backed arms exports worth more than $125,000 just four days after Israeli soldiers shot 68 Palestinians. Ironically, the then Theresa May administration approved the sales the same week that she raised grave concerns about the killings.

In 2017, the U.K. issued arms export licenses worth $294 million to defense contractors exporting war equipment to Israel, a staggering rise of 256 percent compared to the previous year ($114 million).

The CAAT said in 2018 that the U.K. had sold military and war equipment worth more than $466 million to Israel over the last five years.

Andrew Smith, CAAT spokesperson, told Al Jazeera that U.K. weaponry previously sold to Israel was used in at least two Israeli offensives on the besieged coastal enclave.

“U.K. government investigations have confirmed that U.K. arms were used against the people of Gaza in 2009 and 2014,” he said, calling for “a full investigation” to determine whether “they were used in recent atrocities”.

The exponential increase of arms sale is testament to the “increasingly close political and military relationship between the UK and Israel”, Smith added.

UK Court Rules Against Arms Sales to Saudi Arabia

On Thursday, June 20, a U.K. court of appeal ruled the sale of weapons to Saudi Arabia was unlawful. The court claimed that arms exports have contributed to the increase in civilian deaths in the Yemen War, which has gone on for five years.

“The Court of Appeal has concluded that the process of decision-making by the government was wrong in law in one significant respect,” said Terence Etherton, England’s second most senior judge.

CAAT reported that the U.K. had granted arms exports to oil-rich Saudi Arabia worth $4.7 billion since 2015 – when Saudi and its Gulf allies launched a military intervention to quell the Houthi rebel uprising in Yemen. The non-profit organization filed a lawsuit against the U.K. government based on the premise that the Saudi-backed coalition had broken international law and European Union (EU) arms export procedures.

The Independent reported in November 2017 that U.K. arms exports to Saudi Arabia hit record highs and had increased 500 percent since the start of the Yemen War.

Anti-war activists hailed the U.K. verdict as “historic,” but the court’s ruling does not mean that arms exports to Saudi Arabia will automatically stop, as existing contracts will be honored, pending the secretary of state’s decision.

The British government stated that it would appeal the court’s verdict.

The Armed Conflict Location and Event Data Project, or ACLED, reported that around 17,100 civilians were killed in armed conflicts in 2015. While 11,900 civilians have been killed so far this year and 2018 was the deadliest in recent history as it claimed 30,800 lives.

ACLED data showed that as of April 2019, the Saudi-backed coalition in Yemen had killed more than 4,800 civilians since 2016, while Houthi rebels had killed 1,300 civilians in the same time period.

EU Arms Control Policy

The E.U. has, in fact, a code of conduct on arms exports which stipulates arms export procedures and requirements. The rule stresses that arms exports must avoid human rights violations and also prevent the use of arms against European armed forces.

However, the E.U.’s code is not legally binding. Thus, permitting individual member countries to have the final say to grant arms export contracts to war equipment manufacturers, leading to a disconnect between E.U. arms control policy and member countries’ policies regarding arms sales,

“There is a complete disconnect between EU principles and its image and enforcing any coherent policy concerning arms exports,” Bates Gill, director of SIPRI told Carnegie Europe.

Arms control advocates often accuse European countries of applying a double standard when it comes to exporting weapons. Germany, for example, extended a ban on arms exports to Saudi Arabia following the murder of Washington Post journalist Jamal Khashoggi in Istanbul last October. However, Berlin eventually approved some war equipment sales to Saudi-led coalition members in order to fulfill existing joint contracts with French and British contractors.

According to DW, Germany approved a shipment of “technology for low-bed semi-trailer production” from the Ulm-based company Kamag to France, which will then send a finished product to Saudi Arabia.

Other approved or pending exports include German-French-produced accessories for “Cobra” artillery tracking radar systems to be shipped to the UAE,  three “Dingo” armored vehicles and 168 warheads to Qatar, 92 electric drives for the “Fuchs” armored personnel carrier to Algeria,18,000 detonators for mortar grenades to Indonesia and 3,000 anti-tank weapons to Singapore.

European countries and the U.S. have repeatedly condemned civilian killings in Yemen and called for peace in Gaza, but they continue to ship arms to countries organizations like Human Rights Watch have dubbed as gross human rights violators, such as Saudi Arabia and Israel.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.