اكتب للبحث

الشرق الأوسط

خبير من الأمم المتحدة: ولي العهد السعودي مسؤول عن مقتل جمال خاشقجي

ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان. (الصورة: وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية ، تحرير جاكوب ريمان)
ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان. (الصورة: وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية ، تحرير جاكوب ريمان)

"هناك أدلة موثوق بها تستدعي المزيد من التحقيق في المسئولية الفردية للمسؤولين السعوديين ، بما في ذلك ولي العهد".

"السيد. كان مقتل خاشقجي جريمة قتل خارج نطاق القضاء تتحمل دولة المملكة العربية السعودية المسؤولية عنها. ومحاولته للاختطاف ستشكل أيضًا انتهاكًا بموجب القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان " تقرير بقلم أغنيس كالامارد ، المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بعمليات القتل خارج نطاق القضاء أو بإجراءات موجزة أو الإعدام التعسفي.

"إن مقتل السيد خاشقجي يشكل كذلك انتهاكًا لاتفاقية فيينا للعلاقات القنصلية (بعد ذلك VCCR) وحظر استخدام القوة خارج الحدود الإقليمية في وقت السلم (القانون العرفي وميثاق الأمم المتحدة)" تابع - تتويجا للتحقيق لمدة ستة أشهر.

"في قتل صحفي ، ارتكبت دولة المملكة العربية السعودية أيضًا عملاً لا يتفق مع مبدأ أساسي من مبادئ الأمم المتحدة ، ألا وهو حماية حرية التعبير. على هذا النحو ، يمكن القول بشكل موثوق أنه استخدم القوة خارج الحدود الإقليمية بطريقة "لا تتوافق مع مقاصد الأمم المتحدة".

مقتل جمال خاشقجي

قالت مصادر تركية لرويترز إنها تعتقد أن خاشقجي فقد حياته بسبب انتقاده للحكومة السعودية ، وخاصة الأمير محمد بن سلمان (MBS) ، باعتباره "المواطن الحقيقي" وذكرت في أكتوبر 2018.

ستلوم المقررة الخاصة كالامارد على وجه التحديد MBS في تقريرها الذي يحدد "... هناك أدلة موثوق بها ، تستدعي المزيد من التحقيق في المسؤولية الفردية للمسؤولين السعوديين رفيعي المستوى ، بما في ذلك ولي العهد".

وحذرت من التركيز غير المتناسب على تحديد من أمر الجريمة ، مشيرة إلى أن البحث عن العدالة والمساءلة لا يعتمد بشكل فردي على العثور على بندقية تدخين والشخص الذي يحملها. ثم أضافت: "... فشلت التحقيقات التي أجرتها المملكة العربية السعودية وتركيا في الوفاء بالمعايير الدولية المتعلقة بالتحقيق في الوفيات غير القانونية".

كما أوضح التحقيق الرسمي للأمم المتحدة نمط العنف ضد الصحفيين:

"يعد إعدام السيد خاشقجي رمزا لنمط آخر ، وإن كان أقل تواترا من قتل الصحفيين ، فهو ليس أقل خطورة. هذا هو نمط التهديد باستخدام القوة أو استخدامها خارج حدود الدولة ، خارج حالة نزاع مسلح ، من جانب دولة ضد الأشخاص الموجودين على أراضي دولة أخرى ، مما يؤدي إلى انتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان ، بما في ذلك القتل خارج نطاق القضاء والخطف والتسليم السري الذي قد يؤدي إلى التعذيب ، السجن والاختفاء والموت. قد تتضمن الانتهاكات الأخرى الناتجة أيضًا انتهاكات لحرية التعبير أو الحق في الخصوصية. أصبح الفرار إلى الخارج بحثًا عن الأمان شكلاً موثوقًا من أشكال الحماية ".

ماذا وجد التحقيق

"في 1 October 2018 ، ذكر Citizen Lab ، وهو مختبر للأبحاث الأكاديمية الكندية ، أن الهاتف المحمول للناشط السياسي السعودي عمر عبد العزيز قد أصيب ببرامج التجسس Pegasus التي تنتجها وتباعها مجموعة NSO" ، كما جاء في تقرير Callamard الذي تابع أيضًا التفاصيل. مراقبة الحكومة السعودية للنقاد.

"في الوقت الذي أصيب فيه هاتفه ، كان السيد عبد العزيز على اتصال دائم بالسيد خاشقجي. ناقش الاثنان قضايا حقوق الإنسان في المملكة العربية السعودية ومشروعات لتعزيز حقوق الإنسان في وطنهما. في بعض الرسائل ، انتقد السيد خاشقجي أيضًا سياسات ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان ".

كشفت التسجيلات التي سمعها كالامارد عن المحادثات التي أدت إلى دخول خاشقجي إلى القنصلية التركية التي ترسم صورة لفريق يخطط لإلحاق الأذى بالصحفي.

"في 13: 02 ، داخل القنصلية ، أجرى السيد Mutreb والدكتور Tubaigy محادثة قبل دقائق فقط من دخول السيد Khashoggi. سأل السيد Mutreb ما إذا كان "سيكون من الممكن وضع الجذع في كيس؟" أجاب الدكتور طبيقي "لا. ثقيل جدا.' وأعرب عن أمله في أن يكون الأمر "سهلاً". سيتم فصل المفاصل. انها ليست مشكلة. الجسم ثقيل. أول مرة قطعت على الأرض. إذا أخذنا الأكياس البلاستيكية وقطعناها إلى قطع ، فسيتم الانتهاء منها. سنلتف كل واحد منهم. "حقائب جلدية". كان هناك إشارة إلى قطع الجلد. أعرب الدكتور Tubaigny أيضًا عن مخاوفه: 'مديري المباشر ليس على دراية بما أقوم به. لا يوجد أحد يحميني. في نهاية المحادثة ، سأل السيد Mutreb ما إذا كان "الحيوان الذبيحة" قد وصل. في 13: 13 ، قال صوت "لقد وصل". في هذه التسجيلات التي سمعها المقرر الخاص ، لم يتم ذكر اسم السيد خاشقجي ".

قام المقرر الخاص لاحقًا بتفصيل الجرائم المتعددة التي ارتكبتها المملكة العربية السعودية في مقتل خاشقجي:

"السيد. وقع مقتل خاشقجي في مكتب القنصل العام بمشاركة بعض الأشخاص على الأقل ممن لديهم حصانة دبلوماسية. يشكل قانون الدولة هذا انتهاكًا صارخًا وخطيرًا لاتفاقية فيينا للعلاقات القنصلية (VCCR) وإعاقة الجهود من جانب تركيا للتحقيق في الجريمة. إن استخدام القنصلية لقتل وإخفاء الجريمة ينتهك بلا شك حقوق تركيا بموجب قانون VCCR ، لكنه يقوض أيضًا المبادئ الأساسية الحاسمة في سير العلاقات الدولية ".

في كتابة هذا المقال ، لم تعلق العائلة المالكة السعودية رسمياً على التقرير.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
والتر ييتس

Walter Yeates هو صحفي وروائي وكاتب سيناريو يعمل في Standing Rock مع قدامى المحاربين العسكريين و First People في ديسمبر 2016. يغطي مجموعة من المواضيع في Citizen Truth وهو مفتوح للحصول على نصائح واقتراحات. تويتر: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall أو www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

UN Expert Says Saudi Crown Prince Responsible In Jamal Khashoggi Murder

Saudi Arabian crown prince Mohammad Bin Salman (MBS). (Photo: U.S. State Department, edited by Jakob Reimann)
Saudi Arabian crown prince Mohammad Bin Salman (MBS). (Photo: U.S. State Department, edited by Jakob Reimann)

“There is credible evidence, warranting further investigation of high-level Saudi Officials’ individual liability, including the Crown Prince’s.”

“Mr. Khashoggi’s killing constituted an extrajudicial killing for which the State of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is responsible. His attempted kidnapping would also constitute a violation under international human rights law,” began a report by Agnes Callamard, United Nations (UN) Special Rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary killings.

“The killing of Mr. Khashoggi further constituted a violation of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations (thereafter VCCR) and of the prohibition against the extra-territorial use of force in time of peace (customary law and UN Charter),” the explosive report continued – the culmination of a six-month investigation.

“In killing a journalist, the State of Saudi Arabia also committed an act inconsistent with a core tenet of the United Nations, the protection of freedom of expression. As such, it can be credibly argued that it used force extra-territorially in a manner ‘inconsistent with the Purposes of the United Nations,'” added the report.

The Murder Of Jamal Khashoggi

Turkish sources told Reuters they believe Khashoggi lost his life due to his critique of the Saudi government, especially Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS), as Citizen Truth reported in October 2018.

Special Rapporteur Callamard would specifically blame MBS in her report determining, “…there is credible evidence, warranting further investigation of high-level Saudi Officials’ individual liability, including the Crown Prince’s.”

She warned against a disproportionate emphasis on identifying who ordered the crime, pointing out that the search for justice and accountability is not singularly dependent on finding a smoking gun and the person holding it. She would go on to add, “…both the investigations conducted by Saudi Arabia and Turkey failed to meet international standards regarding the investigation into unlawful deaths.”

The official UN investigation also detailed a pattern of violence against journalists:

“The execution of Mr. Khashoggi is also emblematic of another pattern which, albeit less frequent than the killing of journalists, is no less serious. That is the pattern of extraterritorial threat or use of force, outside an armed conflict situation, by one State against people located on the territory of another State, resulting in human rights violations, including extrajudicial killing, kidnapping and rendition that may result in torture, imprisonment, disappearance and death. Other resulting violations may also include violations of freedom of expression or the right to privacy. Fleeing abroad in search of safety has become less and less a reliable form of protection.”

What The Investigation Found

“On 1 October 2018, Citizen Lab, a Canadian academic research lab, reported that the cellphone of Saudi political activist Omar Abdulaziz had been infected with Pegasus spyware which is produced and sold by NSO Group,” said Callamard’s report which also went on to detail the Saudi Arabian government’s surveillance of critics.

“At the time his phone was infected, Mr. Abdulaziz was in frequent contact with Mr. Khashoggi. The two discussed human rights issues in Saudi Arabia and projects to strengthen human rights in their homeland. In some messages, Mr. Khashoggi also criticized the policies of the Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman.”

Recordings heard by Callamard reveal conversations leading up to Khashoggi entering the Turkish consulate that paint a picture of a team planning to do harm to the journalist.

“At 13:02, inside the Consulate, Mr. Mutreb and Dr. Tubaigy had a conversation just minutes before Mr. Khashoggi entered. Mr. Mutreb asked whether it will ‘be possible to put the trunk in a bag?’ Dr. Tubaigy replied ‘No. Too heavy.’  He expressed hope that it would ‘be easy. Joints will be separated. It is not a problem. The body is heavy. First time I cut on the ground. If we take plastic bags and cut it into pieces, it will be finished. We will wrap each of them.’ ‘Leather bags.’ There was a reference to cutting skin. Dr. Tubaigny also expressed concerns: ‘My direct manager is not aware of what I am doing. There is nobody to protect me.’ At the end of the conversation, Mr. Mutreb asked whether ‘the sacrificial animal’ has arrived. At 13:13, a voice said ‘he has arrived.’ In these recordings heard by the Special Rapporteur, Mr. Khashoggi’s name was not mentioned.”

The Special Rapporteur later detailed the multiple crimes committed by Saudi Arabia in the murdering of Khashoggi:

“Mr. Khashoggi’s killing occurred in the Consul General’s office with the involvement of at least some people who had diplomatic immunity. This State act constituted a gross and egregious violation of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations (VCCR) and stymied efforts on the part of Turkey to investigate the crime. Using a consulate to kill and hide the crime undoubtedly violated Turkey’s rights under the VCCR, but it also undermined core principles critical to the functioning of international relations.”

At the writing of this article, the Saudi royal family has not officially commented on the report.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.