اكتب للبحث

الشرق الأوسط

المملكة العربية السعودية تستضيف المنتدى الإعلامي بعد مرور عام على مقتل خاشقجي

يشارك نائب ولي العهد ، النائب الثاني لرئيس مجلس الوزراء ووزير الدفاع في المملكة العربية السعودية ، محمد بن سلمان بن عبد العزيز آل سعود ، في الجلسة العامة الوزارية المشتركة لمكافحة داعش ، في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية في واشنطن ، العاصمة يوليو 21 ، 2016. [صور وزارة الخارجية / المجال العام]
يشارك نائب ولي العهد ، النائب الثاني لرئيس مجلس الوزراء ووزير الدفاع في المملكة العربية السعودية ، محمد بن سلمان بن عبد العزيز آل سعود ، في الجلسة العامة الوزارية المشتركة لمكافحة داعش ، في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية في واشنطن ، العاصمة يوليو 21 ، 2016. [صور وزارة الخارجية / المجال العام]

"تسبب مقتل جمال خاشقجي في أضرار جسيمة لصورة المملكة العربية السعودية الدولية ، مما يمثل نقطة منخفضة حقيقية لبلد لديه واحد من أسوأ سجلات حرية الصحافة في العالم."

ستنظم المملكة العربية السعودية منتدى إعلاميًا يستمر يومين في نهاية شهر نوفمبر ، بالتزامن مع جوائز الإعلام السعودي ، حسبما أعلنت جمعية الصحافيين السعوديين.

سيناقش المنتدى الذي يحمل عنوان "صناعة الإعلام: الفرص والتحديات" التحديات التي تواجه صناعة الإعلام الحديثة والجوائز الحالية الشرق الأوسط العين ذكرت. سيدعو الحدث الصحفيين المحليين والعالميين والإعلاميين.

وقال خالد بن حامد المالك ، رئيس الجمعية ، إن المنتدى يهدف إلى تعزيز سمعة البلاد كعاصمة إعلامية عربية وصورتها في المجتمع الدولي.

"دور الإعلام أساسي ومؤثر. سيفتح هذا المنتدى الطريق لمزيد من المناقشات ، ويطرح آراء حول صناعة الإعلام بشكل عام ويخلق حوارًا مع الآخرين لفهم الممارسات العالمية والإقليمية بشكل أفضل ، " وقال المالكي لموقع عرب نيوز.

نقد منتدى الإعلام السعودي

ينظر البعض إلى المؤتمر بقسوة بسبب سمعة البلاد الغنية بالنفط في سمعة حرية الصحافة ومقتل الصحفي الصادق جمال خاشقجي في إسطنبول ، تركيا ، في أكتوبر الماضي. لا تزال المأساة محاطة بالغموض على الرغم من تقرير للأمم المتحدة يقول إن ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان (MBS) كان وراء القتل.

اغتيال خاشقجي كان مدرجا بين تقرير واحد لتحرير الصحافة الحرة من أكثر قضايا حرية الصحافة إلحاحًا في 2019. على الرغم من الإدانة الدولية لمقتل خاشقجي وتقرير من الأمم المتحدة ووكالة الاستخبارات المركزية يربطان MBS بالحادث ، لم يتم إجراء تحقيق مستقل. تجاهل البيت الأبيض الدعوة إلى نشر تقرير وكالة المخابرات المركزية ، وأصر الرئيس دونالد ترامب على أن MBS لم تكن متورطة في القتل.

المملكة العربية السعودية ليس لديها صحافة حرة مستقلة ، وقد احتجزت البلاد المدونين والصحفيين الذين ينتقدون العائلة المالكة. في أبريل الماضي فقط ، قامت مجموعة مراقبة حرية الصحافة ، مراسلون بلا حدود (RSF) ، وكشف أنه عقد اجتماعا سريا مع المسؤولين السعوديين للضغط من أجل إطلاق سراح الصحفيين المسجونين في 30. دعت المجموعة التي تتخذ من باريس مقرا لها إلى أن إطلاق سراح صحفيي 30 يمكن أن يساعد في تمهيد الطريق لرئاسة الرياض G-20 ، حيث ستستضيف الاجتماع السنوي في 2020.

"تسبب مقتل جمال خاشقجي في أضرار جسيمة لصورة المملكة العربية السعودية الدولية ، مما يمثل نقطة منخفضة حقيقية لبلد لديه واحد من أسوأ سجلات حرية الصحافة في العالم. هناك حاجة الآن لإشارة إرادة سياسية قوية من الحكومة السعودية حتى يبدأ إصلاح هذا الضرر ، ونعتقد أنه لا يمكن تحقيق ذلك إلا من خلال إجراءات جادة مثل إطلاق سراح جميع الصحفيين المسجونين في البلاد ". صرح الأمين العام لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود كريستوف ديلوار.

تقع المملكة العربية السعودية في أسفل مؤشر حرية الصحافة السنوي لمؤسسة مراسلون بلا حدود وتم تصنيفها في 172 من بين دول 180 في مؤشر 2019.

السعودية تشتري في المملكة المتحدة وسائل الإعلام

في العامين الأخيرين ، اشترى مستثمر سعودي بارز ، السلطان محمد أبو الجليل ، حصة 30 بالمائة في منفذين إعلاميين بريطانيين ، الـ معيار مساء و The Independent. دفع البيع وزير الثقافة البريطاني جيريمي رايت إلى الدعوة لإجراء تحقيق في الصفقة.

باع رجل الأعمال الروسي إيفجيني ليبيديف ، الذي يسيطر على كلتا الشركتين الإعلاميتين ، حصة 30 في المئة لشركة خارجية في جزر كايمان مملوكة لأبو الجليل في 2017 و 2018.

ادعى محامي من حكومة المملكة المتحدة أن السيطرة السعودية على كلتا المؤسستين الإعلاميتين يمكن أن تؤثر على حياد المنافذ ، مضيفًا أن الاندماج له "اعتبارات المصلحة العامة". وذكرت وزارة الثقافة والإعلام والرياضة في المملكة المتحدة أن المعاملات "ضرورية التحقيق ".

"ما يثير قلق حكومة صاحبة الجلالة هو أن دولة أجنبية يمكن أن تستحوذ على حصة كبيرة في ليبيديف القابضة [صاحب The Evening Standard] و The Independent في وقت واحد" ، قال ديفيد شانيل ، محامي الحكومة البريطانية ، لمحكمة بريطانية ، كما الحارس وذكرت.

إن سيطرة المملكة العربية السعودية على كلتا المؤسستين الإعلاميتين تثير قلق المملكة المتحدة بشكل خاص بالنظر إلى السجل السيء للبلاد في مجال حقوق الصحافة.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ياسمين رشيدي

ياسمين كاتبة وخريجة العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الوطنية بجاكرتا. وهي تغطي مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع لحقيقة المواطن ، بما في ذلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والصراعات الدولية وقضايا حرية الصحافة. عملت ياسمين في وكالة شينخوا الإندونيسية و GeoStrategist سابقًا. تكتب من جاكرتا ، اندونيسيا.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

2 تعليقات

  1. لاري ستاوت أغسطس 3، 2019

    MBS لا علاقة لها ، والأرض ليست ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري ، والدببة البرية لا القرف في الغابة.

    "ادعى أحد محامي حكومة المملكة المتحدة أن السيطرة السعودية على كلتا المؤسستين الإعلاميتين يمكن أن تؤثر على حياد المنافذ ، مضيفًا أن الاندماج له" اعتبارات المصلحة العامة ". وقد أبلغت وزارة الثقافة والإعلام والرياضة في المملكة المتحدة عن المعاملات" اللازمة ل يتم التحقيق ".

    نعم ، وماذا عن "حياد" وسائل الإعلام مثل بي بي سي ورويترز؟ صاحبة الجلالة؟

    همم؟

    رد
  2. لاري ستاوت أغسطس 5، 2019

    "وزارة الثقافة والإعلام والرياضة". همم. ثقافة الرقابة على وسائل الإعلام الانتقائية ليست رياضية للغاية ، إيه؟

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Saudi Arabia to Host Media Forum One Year After Khashoggi Murder

Deputy Crown Prince, Second Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defense of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Mohammad Bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud participates in the Counter-ISIL Ministerial Joint Ministerial Plenary Session, at the U.S. Department of State in Washington, D.C. on July 21, 2016. [State Department Photo/Public Domain]
Deputy Crown Prince, Second Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defense of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Mohammad Bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud participates in the Counter-ISIL Ministerial Joint Ministerial Plenary Session, at the U.S. Department of State in Washington, D.C. on July 21, 2016. [State Department Photo/Public Domain]

“The murder of Jamal Khashoggi caused extensive damage to Saudi Arabia’s international image, marking a real low point for a country that has one of the world’s worst press freedom records.”

Saudi Arabia will stage a two-day media forum at the end of November, in conjunction with the Saudi Media Awards, the Saudi Journalists’Association (SJA) announced.

The forum titled “Media Industry: Opportunities and Challenges” will discuss the challenges faced with the modern media industry and present awards, as Middle East Eye reported. The event will invite local and international journalists and media professionals.

SJA Chief Khalid bin Hamed Al-Malik said the forum aims to boost the country’s reputation as the Arabs’ media capital and its image in the international community.

“The media’s role is essential and influential. This forum will open the way for further discussions, put forward views about the media industry in general and create a dialogue with others to better understand global and regional practices,” Al-Malik told ArabNews.

Criticism of Saudi Media Forum

Some view the conference harshly because of the oil-rich nation’s poor press freedom reputation and the killing of the outspoken journalist Jamal Khashoggi in Istanbul, Turkey, last October. The tragedy remains shrouded in mystery despite a United Nations (U.N.) report that said Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince Mohamed bin Salman (MBS) was behind the murder.

Khashoggi’s murder was listed among the One Free Press Coalition’s report of the most urgent press freedom cases of 2019. Despite the international condemnation of Khashoggi’s murder and both a U.N. and CIA report linking MBS to the incident, no independent investigation has been carried out. The White House ignored the call for the release of the CIA report, and President Donald Trump has insisted that MBS was not involved in the murder.

Saudi Arabia does not have an independent free press, and the country has detained bloggers and journalists critical of the royal family. Just last April, the press freedom watchdog group, Reporters Without Borders (RSF), disclosed it held a secret meeting with Saudi officials to push for the release of 30 jailed journalists. The Paris-based group advocated that the release of the 30 journalists could help pave the way for a Riyadh G-20 presidency, as it will host the annual meeting in 2020.

“The murder of Jamal Khashoggi caused extensive damage to Saudi Arabia’s international image, marking a real low point for a country that has one of the world’s worst press freedom records. A signal of strong political will from the Saudi government is now needed for this damage to begin to be repaired, and we believe that can only be accomplished by serious measures such as the release of all jailed journalists in the country,”  RSF Secretary-General Christophe Deloire stated.

Saudi Arabia is at the bottom of the RSF’s annual Press Freedom Index and was ranked at 172 out of 180 countries in the 2019 index.

Saudi Arabia Buys into UK Media

In the last two years a prominent Saudi investor, Sultan Muhammad Abuljayadel, bought a 30 percent stake in two British media outlets, The Evening Standard and The Independent. The sale prompted British culture minister Jeremy Wright to call for an investigation into the transaction.

Russian businessman Evgeny Lebedev, who controls both media companies, sold the 30 percent share to an offshore company in the Cayman Islands owned by Abuljayadel in 2017 and 2018.

A U.K. government attorney claimed that Saudi control over both media corporations could affect the neutrality of the outlets, adding that the merger has “public interest considerations.” The U.K.’s Department of Culture, Media and Sports (DCMS) reported the transactions “needed to be investigated.”

“What is of concern to Her Majesty’s government is that a foreign state could be acquiring a substantial stake in Lebedev Holdings [owner of The Evening Standard] and The Independent simultaneously,” David Scannell, the U.K. government’s attorney, told a U.K. court, as The Guardian reported.

Saudi Arabia’s control over both media organizations is especially worrying to the U.K. given the country’s poor track record in press rights.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry Stout August 3, 2019

    MBS had nothing to do with it, the earth is not warming, and wild bears do not shit in the woods.

    ‘A U.K. government attorney claimed that Saudi control over both media corporations could affect the neutrality of the outlets, adding that the merger has “public interest considerations.” The U.K.’s Department of Culture, Media and Sports (DCMS) reported the transactions “needed to be investigated.”’

    Yes, and how about the “neutrality” of such media as the BBC and Reuters? Hm?

    Hmmmm?

    Reply
  2. Larry Stout August 5, 2019

    “Department of Culture, Media, and Sports”. Hmmmm. A culture of selective media censorship is not very sporting, eh?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.