输入搜索

亚太 健康/ SCI / TECH

谷歌与中国的真实关系是什么?

谷歌中国的办公楼。
谷歌中国的办公楼。 (照片:bfishadow)

关于在中国使用数据分析的问题。

由Google和IBM高管领导的OpenPower基金会的目标是“推动创新。”它在新泽西州注册为社区改进基金会。 IBM的米歇尔兰金是该基金会现任总裁,而谷歌的克里斯约翰逊担任董事。 其中一家合作伙伴是美国芯片制造商Xilinx,一家名为Semptian的中国公司加入了2015。

他们在做什么? 该团队正在创建先进的微处理器,使计算机能够更有效地分析极大量的数据。 根据The Intercept的最新报告, 据称,Semptian使用这些设备对其公民进行审查和互联网监控。 然后将监测数据提供给以侵犯人权而闻名的中国安全机构。

Semptian匿名消息人士称,中国政府正在利用该技术监控互联网活动 超过200百万人 在中国。

据称,美国科技公司是否正在帮助中国监视其公民? OpenPower通过声明它没有参与其成员的业务战略来扼杀批评,其中包括 许多美国大学。 虽然IBM发言人表示该公司从未与Semptian合作过,但其他消息人士表示,IBM在中国设有研究部门,并与Semptian合作过多次合作。

什么是Semptian?

在公开场合,Semptian是一家“大数据”分析公司,但该公司还有另一家名为iNext的公司,该公司向全球各国政府出售互联网监控和审查工具。 调查记者表明,iNext开发了Aegis,这是一种可以存储和分析无限量数据的大规模监控系统。 声称该系统每分钟可以处理3.75百万小时的高清视频。

简而言之,这意味着政府可以看到个人与每个人的联系。 在中国,Aegis无处不在,与国家的电话和互联网网络相结合,秘密收集电子邮件,短信,电话,地点和网页浏览历史。 当通信通过电话和互联网时,Aegis会输入单词和某些人来过滤掉信息。

上周有关这些关系的消息爆发时,参议院情报委员会的成员发出了警报。 国际特赦组织也在质疑基金会对国际人权标准的遵守情况。

特朗普想要调查谷歌

7月16总统特朗普表示,美国政府将调查谷歌与中国关系的国家安全问题,Facebook董事会成员和PayPal联合创始人彼得泰尔提出的担忧,他声称谷歌正在努力工作,而不是与美国军方合作。与中国。

作为最着名的保守派,泰尔在硅谷脱颖而出,并表示中国情报人员最有可能渗透谷歌,但他没有提供证据。

谷歌强烈否认与中国军方合作,但也拒绝评论它是否与中国政府合作。 谷歌继续表示,它承诺与美国军方合作,尽管因为公司员工不喜欢它而撤下五角大楼的合同。 但谷歌正受到越来越多的国会议员的批评和批评,他们认为谷歌正在与美国的利益背道而驰,因为它正在加强在中国的业务。

特朗普鼓励司法部长威廉巴尔深入研究此事,并在谷歌,脸书,亚马逊和苹果等科技巨头在国会山作证之前数小时发表评论。

谷歌近十年前从中国撤出了搜索引擎,称该国的审查制度是一个原因,但一直在中国保持业务。 与Facebook和其他科技巨头一样,谷歌希望有一天能从中国的大规模市场中获利,如果它开放的话。 最近,谷歌在中国开设了一个人工智能(AI)实验室 吸引年轻的中国科技人才尽管它已经强调说它永远不会允许在军事武器中使用任何AI。

谷歌表示,该公司在10月2018计划再次建立一个中国搜索引擎,而谷歌表示尚未承诺,该公司对其中国商业企业非常谨慎。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
杰奎琳哈维卡

杰奎琳是一名火箭科学家。 她为公民真理报道了健康,科学和科技新闻。 在她的第一职业生涯中,她管理了空间站和航天飞机的实验和数据。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC HEALTH/SCI/TECH

What Is Google’s Real Relationship With China?

Google China's office building.
Google China's office building. (Photo: bfishadow)

Questions arise about the use of data analysis in China.

The OpenPower Foundation, led by Google and IBM executives, has the aim of “driving innovation.” It is registered in New Jersey as a community improvement foundation. IBM’s Michelle Rankin is the foundation’s current president, while Google’s Chris Johnson serves as director. One partner is a U.S. chip manufacturer, Xilinx, and a Chinese company called Semptian joined in 2015.

What are they working on? The team is creating advanced microprocessors that allow computers to more efficiently analyze extremely large amounts of data. According to a new report from The Intercept, Semptian allegedly uses these devices for censorship and internet surveillance of its citizens. The surveillance data is then given to security agencies in China, known for human rights abuses.

Semptian anonymous sources say the Chinese government is using the technology to monitor internet activities of more than 200 million people in China.

Are U.S. tech companies helping China spy on its citizens as claimed? OpenPower has brushed off the criticism by stating that it does not get involved in the business strategies of its members, which include many American universities. While an IBM spokesperson said the company never worked with Semptian, other sources say IBM has a research unit in China and has worked with Semptian on several collaborations.

What Is Semptian?

Publicly, Semptian is a “big data” analysis company, but the firm also has another company called iNext, which sells internet surveillance and censorship tools to governments around the world. Investigative reporters have shown that iNext has developed Aegis, a mass surveillance system that can store and analyze unlimited amounts of data. Claims are that the system can handle 3.75 million hours of high-definition video every minute.

In short, this means a government can see an individual’s connections to everyone. In China, Aegis is everywhere, integrated with the country’s phone and internet networks to secretly collect emails, text messages, phone calls, locations and web browsing histories. As communications pass across phone and internet networks, Aegis keys in on words and certain people to filter out information.

When news about these relationships broke last week, members of the Senate Intelligence Committee stated its alarm. Amnesty International is also weighing in by questioning the foundation’s adherence to international human rights standards.

Trump Wants To Investigate Google

On July 16 President Trump said the U.S. government would look into national-security concerns regarding Google’s ties to China, concerns raised by Facebook board member and PayPal co-founder Peter Thiel, who claimed that instead of working with the U.S. military, Google is working with China.

Thiel stands out in Silicon Valley as its most prominent conservative and has suggested that Chinese intelligence agents have most likely infiltrated Google, but he did not offer evidence.

Google has emphatically denied working with the Chinese military but has also declined to comment on whether it works with the Chinese government. Google continues to say it is committed to working with the U.S. military, despite pulling a Pentagon contract because company employees did not like it. But Google is under increasing scrutiny and criticism by congressmen who say Google is working counter to American interests because it is ramping up business in China.

Trump encouraged Attorney General William Barr to delve into the matter, making the comments hours before tech giants like Google, Facebook, Amazon and Apple were to testify on Capitol Hill.

Google pulled its search engine from China nearly a decade ago, citing the country’s censorship practices as a reason but has always maintained a business presence in China. Like Facebook and other tech giants, Google hopes to one day profit from the massive market in China if it ever becomes open. More recently, Google opened an artificial intelligence (AI) lab in China to attract young Chinese tech talent, even though it has emphatically stated it will never allow use of any of its AI in military weapons.

Google maintains it has been very cautious about its business enterprises in China after the company took heat in October 2018 over plans to once again build a Chinese search engine, which Google says it has not committed to.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Jacqueline Havelka

Jacqueline is a rocket scientist turned writer. She covers health, science and tech news for Citizen Truth. In her first career, she managed experiments & data on the Space Station & Shuttle.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.