输入搜索

亚太

蒙面袭击者袭击平民作为破纪录的示威活动继续在香港

香港抗议活动,7月21,2019。 (图片:YouTube)
香港抗议活动,7月21,2019。 (图片:YouTube)

“他们不分青红皂白地打人,微笑,因为他们打败了他们。”

“香港警方星期天发射催泪瓦斯和橡皮子弹以驱散抗议者,其中一些人破坏了中国政府在该市的联络办公室,这是在当天早些时候和平抗议后对北京当局的直接挑战,”新的纽约时报(NYT) 报道 星期天,数十万人在香港继续大规模抗议中国在行政区内的影响力。 民间起义有 超过了这个幅度 来自2014的伞形运动。

那些犯下破坏行为的人比和平抗议者的数量要少得多。 然而,他们引起当地香港和中国大陆媒体的极大关注,“在另一场冲突中,当地电视台的镜头显示,蒙面男子穿着白色和挥舞着棍棒,星期天晚上在火车站袭击了反政府抗议者晚上在香港西北部,“纽约时报的作品仍在继续。

本周末在香港周围发生冲突

帮助组织香港抗议活动的民权人权阵线表示,他们能够组织大约430,000个人参加周日的官方活动。 警方发言人表示,大约138,000当天参加了正式批准的抗议活动。 值得注意的是,参加官方游行的人不会因任何恶作剧或暴力事件而受到指责。

星期天看到一小部分恶作剧的抗议者破坏了中国政府的联络办公室,当时他们在向官员投掷弹丸后被警察用催泪弹击中。 当晚晚些时候,戴着白色面具的男子在元朗火车站用木棍和金属棒击败抗议者和平民(包括儿童)。

“这就像一场踩踏事件,”曾在车站工作的16岁学生和急救志愿者Jerming Zhang说。 “他们不分青红皂白地打击了人们,在他们殴打他们时微笑。”那些领导袭击的人还没有得到当局的认可,但可能代表一个反对香港民众起义的新暴徒。 多个网点认为袭击者与三合会有关 - 这是香港各种有组织犯罪集团的一个词。 假定的帮派成员估计有四十五人受伤,其中一人处于危急状态,其中许多是民主抗议者。

香港民主党社会自由主义党的立法委员林卓婷在袭击中受伤。 香港电台报道了他的情况 注释 袭击后的媒体:

林先生说,当他听到袭击事件时,他立即致电元朗警区,并要求将人员紧急送往现场。 但他说,在与他们联系后,警方没有采取任何行动超过一个小时。 立法者说,当他到达火车站时,一群当地和南亚人袭击了他。 他说攻击者的年龄介于20和60之间。 林说,他对缺乏警方行动感到非常愤怒,并质疑警察为何未能保护公众,并允许他所描述的黑社会成员猖獗。

林还表示,他相信他的攻击者是三合会的成员,并被自我认定为亲北京。 林受伤了他的腹部,手,脚和嘴。

中国国家媒体反对抗议活动

“中国主要官方新闻机构指责”极端主义分子“利用香港的”混乱“和暴力行为扰乱该国在星期六晚些时候发表的评论中的发展,这是在周日下午针对现已暂停的引渡法案的最新集会之前, “南华早报(南华早报) 周日发表。 南华早报还将详细介绍中国共产党的报纸“人民日报”仅关注香港抗议者所谓的“暴力”。

如上所述,香港绝大多数抗议者都是和平的。 人民日报没有具体详细说明现在撤回引渡法案的愤怒,对林嘉欣政府在香港的不信任,以及香港公民不受北京影响的愿望。

然而,根据组织者和警方的说法,“人民日报”专注于周六举行的亲北京集会,吸引了估计的316,000人和103,000。

不出所料,“人民日报”表示支持林政府在香港的行政管理 抗议者相信 是北京的傀儡。

接下来会发生什么

民主抗议活动尚未失去动力,新的起义不太可能在短期内结束。 然而,由于平民和抗议者现在面临被蒙面人员袭击的风险,抗议活动的危险篇章可能会展开。

中国大陆的媒体和香港的亲北京网络不太可能引起人们对抗议者的暴行攻击的关注,但将继续强调那些诉诸破坏行为的民主抗议者的一小部分。

新闻界的国际成员将需要继续强调来自香港的客观信息,以确保宣传不会开始掩盖当地的情况。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 23, 2019

    世界真的认为中国会永远给予香港自由吗? 我想你在北京的口号是“知识!”

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Masked Attackers Assault Civilians As Record Breaking Demonstrations Continue In Hong Kong

Hong Kong protests, July 21, 2019. (Photo: YouTube)
Hong Kong protests, July 21, 2019. (Photo: YouTube)

“They hit people indiscriminately, smiling as they beat them up.”

“The Hong Kong police fired rounds of tear gas and rubber bullets on Sunday to disperse protesters after some of them vandalized the Chinese government’s liaison office in the city, a direct challenge to Beijing’s authority after a peaceful protest earlier in the day,” the New York Times (NYT) reported Sunday after hundreds of thousands in Hong Kong continued the massive protests against China’s influence within the administrative district. The civil uprising has surpassed the magnitude of the Umbrella Movement from 2014.

Those committing vandalism are a far smaller contingent than the peaceful protestors by magnitudes of hundreds. Yet they grab a great deal of attention from local Hong Kong and mainland Chinese media, “In a separate clash, footage from a local television station showed, masked men, dressed in white and wielding sticks, assaulted antigovernment protesters in a train station late Sunday night in northwestern Hong Kong,” the NYT piece continued.

Clashes Around Hong Kong This Weekend

The Civil Human Rights Front, who has helped organize the protests in Hong Kong, stated they were able to organize approximately 430,000 individuals for the official events on Sunday. Police spokespeople said approximately 138,000 participated in the officially sanctioned protest on that day. Of note, those participating in the official march are not being blamed for any mischief or violence.

Sunday saw small segments of mischievious protestors vandalize the Chinese government liaison office, who were then hit with tear gas by police after allegedly throwing projectiles at officers. Later that night, men in white masks beat protestors and civilians (including children) with wooden sticks and metal rods at Yuen Long train station.

“It was like a stampede,” said Jerming Zhang, a 16-year-old student and first-aid volunteer who was at the station. “They hit people indiscriminately, smiling as they beat them up.” Those who led the attack have yet to be identified by authorities but could represent a new mob who is against the popular uprising in Hong Kong. Multiple outlets believe the assailants are affiliated with the triad – a term for various sects of organized crime groups in Hong Kong. The supposed gang members injured an estimated forty-five individuals, including leaving one in critical condition, many of which were pro-democracy protestors.

Lawmaker Lam Cheuk-ting of the Social Liberalism based Democratic Party of Hong Kong was injured in the attack. RTHK reported on his comments to the media after the assault:

Lam said when he heard of the attack, he had immediately called Yuen Long Police District and asked for officers to be sent to the scene urgently. But he said there was no action from the police for more than an hour after he contacted them. The lawmaker said when he reached the train station, a group of local and South Asian people attacked him. He said the attackers were aged between 20 and 60. Lam said he was extremely angry about the lack of police action and questioned why the officers had failed to protect the general public, and allowed what he described as triad gang members to run rampant.

Lam also stated he believed his attackers were members of the triad and were self-identified as being pro-Beijing. Lam received injuries to his abdomen, hands, feet, and mouth.

Chinese State Media Spinning The Protests

“China’s main official news outlets have accused “extremists” of using the “chaos” and violence in Hong Kong to disrupt the country’s development in commentaries published late on Saturday, ahead of the latest rally against the now-suspended extradition bill on Sunday afternoon,” South China Morning Post (SCMP) published on Sunday. SCMP would also detail the Communist Party of China’s newspaper People’s Daily sole focus on supposed “violence” from protestors in Hong Kong.

As noted above, the vast majority of protestors in Hong Kong have been peaceful. The People’s Daily did not specifically go into detail concerning the anger surrounding the now withdrawn extradition bill, mistrust of Carrie Lam’s government in Hong Kong, and the desire of citizens of Hong Kong to be free of Beijing influence.

However, People’s Daily did focus on the pro-Beijing rally which took place on Saturday drawing an estimated 316,000 individuals and 103,000 at its peak, according to organizers and police.

Unsurprisingly the People’s Daily showed support for Chief Executive Lam’s administration in Hong Kong, which protestors believe is acting as a puppet of Beijing.

What Happens Next

The pro-democracy protests have yet to lose momentum, making it unlikely the new uprising will come to a close shortly. However, with civilians and protestors now at risk of being assaulted by masked individuals, a dangerous chapter of the protests could unfold.

Media in mainland China and pro-Beijing networks within Hong Kong are unlikely to draw attention to the thuggish attacks on protestors, yet will continue to highlight the small segments of pro-democracy protestors who resort to vandalism.

International members of the press will need to continue highlighting objective information coming out of Hong Kong to ensure propaganda doesn’t begin to overshadow what is happening on the ground.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 23, 2019

    Did the world really think that China would give Hong Kong free rein forever? I think thy byword in Beijing is “Gotcha!”

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.