输入搜索

精选 在焦点 - 中东 中东

也门被遗忘的受害者 - 儿童作为战争商品出售

(照片由伊斯兰月刊提供)
(照片由伊斯兰月刊提供)

“如果你认为利比亚的奴隶市场不好,那么让我告诉你,我看到的情况更糟。 在海湾国家的军事护送下,儿童被运往也门海岸,没有人说一句话。“

“作为沙特阿拉伯战争策略的一部分,也门的孩子被贩运成奴隶制和卖淫活动!”一次又一次地,也门的权利界共同发出这样的呼声,无论是对一个冷漠的国际社会的禁令和警告。

“也门的孩子们正在我们的鼻子底下出售,似乎没有人介意......我们在利比亚,叙利亚,伊拉克和阿富汗目睹的同样犯罪行为的模式现在已经占据了也门。 这些罪行是在光天化日之下实施的,一切都不受惩罚,因为对他们说话意味着对沙特阿拉伯最黑暗的战争策略有所了解,“社会事务部前案例工作者Ahlam Mohammed Al Ansi在独家评论中对公民真理说。

萨那的孩子们

也门萨那的儿童。 (摄影:Rod Waddington)

也门战争:滥用权力的冷漠

由于也门人进一步反对沙特阿拉伯战争联盟重新夺回对其土地和未来的主权,人权活动家们已经发现了一种似乎是系统的,协调良好的愿望,对这些人施加最大的伤害。最容易遭受战争的蹂躏。

威廉·威尔伯福斯曾经说过:“你可以选择另一种方式,但你再也不能说你不知道了。”很少有文字能够更好地说明也门自3月下旬以来不得不忍受的事情 - 那是冷漠的对于以身份政治为名的人民的痛苦,以及对犬儒主义的迫切需求,我们并不感兴趣。

除了那些关于战争的统计数据和军事干预的地缘政治合理化之外,我们被告知存在于法律范围内 联合国决议2216我们再也无法对人权公约和国际法的许多严重侵犯行为进行静音,也门的冲突已经制造出来。

这将是背叛国际法的精神和联合国所规定的任务,只是原谅大罪行,以便各国的政治意愿得以体现 - 尽管如此,但不能证明手段是正当的。

如果国际社会看不到长期损害,这种宽恕最终会在地缘政治背景下发挥作用,无法无天和我们的法律和法规的系统性侵蚀将成为常态 - 从而侵蚀我们声称的那些民主原则的结构想要遵守和促进。

必须指责的是,所有政党都在为各方提供自私的政策和策略,以便他们能够在军事上占上风。 但是,如果所有各方都应该被考虑在内,那么客观性就要求我们考虑到人民在面对残酷的,通常是系统性的无差别的集体军事屠杀时自我辩护的权利。 在他们的背景下看时,并非所有罪行都是平等的。

也门的未来失败

就目前而言,也门不仅仅是一个受贫困,大流行腐败和伊斯兰激进化永远存在的威胁所困扰的失败国家。 在一场可能通过煽动民族和部落的古老骚动威胁人民民族身份的战争中,国家面临着对其主权的又一次威胁 - 一种如此阴险和邪恶,以至于它可以宣称也门的下一代。

由于匿名和有罪不罚的军事冲突经常带来他们煽动的混乱,人类贩运者在也门发现了一个避风港 - 事实上,这种贸易已成为名副其实的行业,遵循我们在利比亚,叙利亚和伊拉克骚乱紧紧抓住他们。

在最近关于也门人口贩运的报告中,联合国承认最近的飙升,引用了安全真空的暴力升级,以及贩运者招募儿童为军事野心服务的新愿望。

该报告引用美国国务院的一份报告, 内容如下: “自2015三月武装冲突升级以来,人权组织报告说,冲突各方继续非法招募和使用儿童兵。 由于能力有限和持续不断的冲突,也门政府尚未实施2014联合国行动计划,以终止招募和使用儿童兵,尽管政府确实表示有兴趣重振有关实施的讨论。

性贩运儿童

虽然现在参与也门冲突的武装部队和/或各种民兵的入伍率令人遗憾,但它并未完全涵盖也门贩运危机的程度,因为它使那些被剥夺了性剥削和奴役生活的儿童失踪。 。 在联合国提到这个问题的地方, 它没有说什么 危机的严重程度。

“也门儿童在该国和沙特阿拉伯境内遭受性贩运。 据报道,年仅15岁的女孩在萨那,亚丁和塔伊兹省的酒店和俱乐部遭到商业性性行为的剥削。 在冲突之前,也门的大多数儿童性爱游客来自沙特阿拉伯,其中较小的比例来自其他海湾国家,包括阿拉伯联合酋长国。 一些沙特男子使用合法签约的“临时婚姻” - 一些伊斯兰当局授权作为秘密婚姻 - 目的是对也门女孩进行性剥削,据报道,一些女孩年仅为10岁,其中一些人后来被遗弃在沙特街头。阿拉伯。”

在过去的25,000年中,有几个消息来源已经将被贩运儿童的数量远远高于2,这与估计数相比大幅增加 10,000儿童每年联合国。 承认。 这些数字并未说明数千名儿童被迫为沙特阿拉伯的军事干预而支持或反对武器。

人道主义援助工作人员说,他们目睹了“批发青年男孩和女孩”的民兵与在也门南部的沙特战争联盟一致,他们有几个据点 - 主要是亚丁和东南部的哈德拉马特省。

也门行政区划地图。

也门行政区划地图。 (图:TUBS)

“男孩和女孩被捡起来 - 有时是武力,有时是沙特人的几百美元......这种情况发生在难民营,村庄......到处都是,我们无法阻止他们,因为他们控制着南方的一切,“在严格匿名的亚丁市长办公室的前官员说。

他补充说:“如果你认为利比亚的奴隶市场不好,那么让我告诉你,我看到的情况更糟。 在海湾国家的军事护送下,儿童被运往也门海岸,没有人说一句话。 也门受到严格的封锁,但出于某种原因,在人口贩运问题上,每个人都在寻找另一种方式。“

放弃了沙特阿拉伯王国的需要,我们知道这个国家对那些被视为敌人的人来说是残酷和无情的 - 贾马尔·卡尔佐吉的谋杀案令人痛苦地提醒 - 也门正在与一场军事攻击作斗争; 它正在与社会的解体作斗争。

如果人口贩运已经成为困扰大中东地区的一个令人讨厌的现实,那么通过犯罪团伙和沙特阿拉伯军队的自满而系统地“收购”也门的孩子就会发生一场解散并使也门的社会结构更好地发挥痛苦的运动。

这样的人口统计重新映射不能说不出来!

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
凯瑟琳沙克丹

凯瑟琳是中东地缘政治分析家和评论员,特别关注也门和海湾国家。 她曾出版过几个着名媒体,包括:赫芬顿邮报,人造卫星,公民真相,新闻电视,新东方展望,转发,MintPress,阿亚图拉哈梅尼的网站,开放民主,外交政策期刊,杜兰,美国先驱报Tribune,Katehon等等。 在英国和法国受过教育,自从2011以来,Catherine对也门的专业知识和研究已多次被联合国安理会引用。

    1

你可能还喜欢

3评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 25, 2019

    “自由企业”怎么样? 毫无疑问,美国企业研究所批准的“学者”和“研究员”。

    回复
  2. Salaim Barchine July 26, 2019

    只要需要,时间将在未来和正义中暂时谈论.YEA沙特你的时间将会顺利进行。

    回复
  3. 彼得·扬科夫斯基 八月3,2019

    链接在这里:“报告中写道:”并不指示我们“联合国报告” - 但美国国家Dpt。 报告。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

FEATURED In Focus-Middle East MIDDLE EAST

Yemen’s Forgotten Victims – Children Sold as A Commodity Of War

(Photo Courtesy of the Islamic Monthly)
(Photo Courtesy of the Islamic Monthly)

“If you think Libya’s slave market was bad then let me tell you, I have seen worse. Children are being shipped off the coast of Yemen under military escort for the Gulf countries, and no one is saying a word.”

“Yemen’s children are being trafficked into slavery and prostitution as part of a Saudi Arabian war tactic!” Again and again, such cries have been shared across Yemen’s rights community, both as injunctions and warnings to an apathetic international community.

“Yemen’s children are being sold right under our nose and no one seems to mind … the same patterns of wanton criminality we witnessed in Libya, Syria, Iraq and Afghanistan have now gripped Yemen. Those crimes are being perpetrated in broad daylight, in all impunity because speaking against them would mean shining a light on Saudi Arabia’s darkest war tactics,” Ahlam Mohammed Al Ansi, a former caseworker at the ministry of social affairs told Citizen Truth in exclusive comments.

Children in Sana'a

Children in Sana’a, Yemen. (Photo: Rod Waddington)

Yemen War: Apathy as Abuses Abound

As Yemenis dig their heels further in against Saudi Arabia’s war coalition to reclaim sovereignty over both their land and their future, human rights activists have come forth with a discovery of what appears to be a systematic and well-coordinated desire to inflict maximum harm onto those made most vulnerable to the ravages of war.

It was William Wilberforce who once said: “You may choose to look the other way but you can never say again that you did not know.” Few words have better encapsulated what Yemen has had to endure since late March 2015 – that is engineered apathy and disinterest towards a people’s suffering in the name of identity politics, and the ever-pressing demands of cynicism.

Beyond those statistics of war and the geopolitical rationalization of a military intervention we were told exists within the legal confines of UN Resolution 2216, we can no longer play mute to the many and grave violations against human rights conventions and international law Yemen’s conflict has manufactured.

It would be to betray both the spirit of international law and the mandate set forth by the United Nations to simply forgive grand criminality so that countries’ political will could be manifested – the end as it were, cannot justify the means.

If the international community cannot see the long term damage such leniency ultimately carries when played out within the context of geopolitics, lawlessness and the systematic erosion of our laws and regulations will become the norm – thus eroding the very fabric of those democratic principles we claim to want to abide by and promote.

Blame it must be said, lies with all parties as all parties have given into self-serving policies and tactics, so that they could prevail militarily. But if all parties ought to be called into account, objectivity demands we consider the right of a people to self-defend when faced with a brutal, and oftentimes systematically indiscriminately en masse military slaughter. Not all crimes stand equal when looked at within their context.

Failing Yemen’s Future

As it stands today Yemen is not merely a failed state plagued by poverty, pandemic corruption, and the ever-present threat of Islamic radicalization. In the throes of a war which threatens to sink a people’s national identity by inflaming ancient upsets, both sectarian and tribal, the nation is facing yet another threat to its sovereignty – one so insidious and nefarious that it could claim Yemen’s future generation.

Empowered by the anonymity and impunity military conflicts often bring by the chaos they foment, human traffickers have found in Yemen, a haven – so much so in fact that the trade has become a veritable industry, following those patterns we observed in Libya, Syria and Iraq as unrest gripped them.

In its most recent report on human trafficking in Yemen, the United Nations admitted to a recent spike, quoting the escalation of violence for the security vacuum, as well as traffickers’ new desire to recruit children to serve their military ambitions.

The report, as quoted by a U.S. State Department report, reads: “Since the escalation of armed conflict in March 2015, human rights organizations reported all parties to the conflict continued their unlawful recruitment and use of child soldiers. As a result of its limited capacity and the ongoing conflict, the Yemeni government has not implemented a 2014 U.N. action plan to end the recruitment and use of child soldiers, although the government did express interest in revitalizing the discussion on implementation.”

Sex Trafficking Children

Although the enrollment of children into the armed forces and/or various militias now involved in Yemen’s conflict is deplorable, it does not quite cover the extent of Yemen’s trafficking crisis, as it leaves out those children sold out to a life of sexual exploitation and slavery. Where the United Nations alludes to the issue, it says nothing of the magnitude of the crisis.

“Yemeni children have been subjected to sex trafficking within the country and in Saudi Arabia. Girls as young as 15 years old have reportedly been exploited in commercial sex in hotels and clubs in the Governorates of Sana’a, Aden, and Taiz. Prior to the conflict, most child sex tourists in Yemen were from Saudi Arabia, with a smaller percentage originating from other Gulf nations, including the United Arab Emirates. Some Saudi men used legally contracted ‘temporary marriages’ – authorized by some Islamic authorities as misyar marriages – for the purpose of sexually exploiting Yemeni girls, some reportedly as young as 10 years old, and some of whom were later abandoned on the streets of Saudi Arabia.”

Several sources have already put the number of trafficked children to well above 25,000 in the past 2 years alone, a dramatic increase from the estimated 10,000 children per year the U.N. admits to. Those numbers do not account for the thousands of children forced to bear arms for or against Saudi Arabia’s military intervention.

Humanitarian aid workers say they have witnessed the “wholesale of young boys and girls” to militias aligned with the Saudi war coalition in South Yemen where they have several strongholds – mainly Aden and the south-eastern province of Hadramawt.

Map of administrative divisions of Yemen.

Map of administrative divisions of Yemen. (Graphic: TUBS)

“Boys and girls are being picked up – sometimes by force, sometimes for a few hundred dollars by Saudi men … this happens in refugee camps, villages … everywhere, and there is nothing we can do to stop them because they control everything in the south,” said a former official at the Mayor’s office in Aden under strict anonymity.

He added: “If you think Libya’s slave market was bad then let me tell you, I have seen worse. Children are being shipped off the coast of Yemen under military escort for the Gulf countries, and no one is saying a word. Yemen is under a strict blockade, but for some reason when it comes to human trafficking everyone is looking the other way.”

Abandoned to the wants of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, a country we know to be brutal and unforgiving to those it views as its enemies – Jamal Khashoggi’s murder stands a painful reminder – Yemen is battling against more than just a military assault; it is fighting against the disintegration of its society.

If human trafficking has become an unsavory reality plaguing the Greater Middle Eastern region, the systemic ‘acquisition’ of Yemen’s children by criminal rings and Saudi Arabia’s military forces’ complacency speak of a campaign to dissolve and spent Yemen’s social fabric to better inflict pain.

Such demographic remapping cannot go unspoken!

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Catherine Shakdam

Catherine is a geopolitical analyst and commentator for the Middle East with a special focus on Yemen and the Gulf countries. She has been published across several prominent media outlets including: The Huffington Post, Sputnik, Citizen Truth, Press TV, The New Eastern Outlook, RT, MintPress, Ayatollah Khameini’s website, Open Democracy, the Foreign Policy Journal, The Duran, The American Herald Tribune, Katehon, and many more. Educated in both the UK and France, Catherine’s expertise and research on Yemen have been quoted by the UN Security Council on several occasions since 2011.

    1

You Might also Like

3 Comments

  1. Larry Stout July 25, 2019

    How’s that for “free enterprise”? Approved by American Enterprise Institute “scholars” and “fellows”, no doubt.

    Reply
  2. Salaim Barchine July 26, 2019

    Time will crrtainly talk in the FUTURE AND JUSTICE WILL PREVAIL as long as it takes.YEA SAUDI YOUR TIME WILL SURELY COME AROUND.

    Reply
  3. Piotr Jankowski August 3, 2019

    The link here: “The report reads: ” does not direct us to “UN report” – but US State Dpt. report.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.