输入搜索

意见

一个移民案和为什么非法移民到欧洲不会很快停止

(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

过去五年来,非洲人非法移民到欧洲的比率一直在上升。 移民继续经历撒哈拉沙漠的危险旅程,并冒着淹没在地中海的危险,希望能够到达欧洲。 但为什么这些人冒着生命危险呢?

数以千计的非洲移民每个月都会到达欧洲海岸,除了希望在新的土地上拥有繁荣的未来之外,每个月都会被淘汰,脱水和饥饿。 这些代表了成功登陆欧洲的幸运者,而其他许多人最终淹死在地中海或更糟糕的地方 在利比亚一个完善的奴隶贸易市场上作为奴隶出售。

据报道 由国际移民组织(IOM)于7月27th星期五发布,超过55,000移民已经越过地中海到达欧洲迄今为止在2018。 虽然这可能分别来自111,000和250,000分别记录在2017和2016中,但数量仍然很高,并描绘了非洲移民想要到达欧洲的无情。 该报告进一步表明,在过去的五年中,超过1500移民每年在过境期间死亡,但这并没有削弱其他人的精神。

飞机在救生艇上的移民周围盘旋

大多数进入欧洲危险旅程的移民是年龄在35以下的年轻男女。 欧盟统计局报道 所有移民中有一半人口低于28年龄。 他们代表着一支强大,技术娴熟,受过相对教育的团队,有可能为任何国家创造强大的劳动力。 但由于治理不善,缺乏支持,冲突甚至气候变化导致他们国家的挫折感,他们别无选择,只能寻求其他生计来源。

移民到欧洲是一个诱人的选择,欧洲本身在促进移民方面发挥了关键作用。 欧洲的工作人口正在老龄化,主要由老年人组成,他们将在未来几十年内全部退休。 根据欧盟统计局的说法欧洲人口金字塔中间最宽,底部最窄,意味着“欧盟工作年龄人口比例正在缩小,而退休人口的相对数量正在扩大”。 这就产生了对医院和制造业等劳动力的需求 继续上升而且有了这样的要求,非洲人就被吸引到了欧洲。

非洲人口正在迅速扩大,只要有劳动力需求,到欧洲的移民将继续成群结队。 削减移民可能会很困难,或许应该达成有利的移民政策和协议,以便在两大洲之间实现互利。

在许多情况下,移民可以带给一个国家的好处往往意味着移民可以帮助一个国家。 例如,在2018 FIFA世界杯中赢得杯赛的法国国家足球队有更多的非洲裔球员而不是白人球员。 Kakuma,肯尼亚的难民营 通过其充满活力的经济,每年向肯尼亚经济注入100万新西兰元。

在2016, 美国进步中心报道 叙利亚移民的升学率是美国出生公民的两倍。 叙利亚移民的创业率也是美国本土人口的三倍以上。

一个2017 国家经济研究局研究了难民的代价和难民的积极经济影响。 研究人员确定了一组18至45岁的人,他们在过去的25年中在美国重新定居。

该研究的作者发现,“在美国难民的第一个15,000年度,美国在搬迁费用和92,000社会项目上的花费大约为20。 然而,他们估计,在同一时期内,难民支付的税收几乎达到了130,000 - 超过20,000超过他们获得的福利金额,“ 正如FiveThirtyEight报道的那样.

经济学家,联合国高级顾问兼哥伦比亚大学地球研究所所长杰弗里萨克斯在2016告诉PBS,整体难民的经济影响是积极的。

“对于全世界来说,这是积极的,因为人们正在离开绝望的局面,并在经济上变得更好。 对于美国而言,在网络上,这是积极的,因为当人们来到这里,增加劳动力市场,增加技能,并且一般来说,收入低于他们对整个社会的贡献。 所以有好处,但是分配后果可能非常复杂,“ 萨克斯说.

虽然移民总体上是积极的,但萨克斯承认经济影响可能会影响一个国家。 移民是谁,他们来自哪里,他们的年龄,他们的受教育程度以及他们有多少家属都会影响移民对一个国家的影响。

萨克斯还告诉PBS记者保罗索尔曼,美国在创造难民危机方面发挥了作用,因此有责任提供帮助。

“我们是如此相互关联,无论是埃博拉,无论是气候变化还是难民。 这是一个相互联系的社会。 但就难民而言,它甚至不止于此,因为它不仅仅是正在发生的事情,而是美国感受到的影响。 美国是中东战争的主要角色之一,“ 萨克斯说.

“所以我们的责任,我们在所有这些暴力中的作用更为直接。 人们越了解其中的细节,就越应该说:“当然,美国将发挥自己的作用,并有责任帮助人们逃离生命。”

新报告显示没有证据更严格的移民法阻碍移民

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

10评论

  1. 密尔沃基暴民 八月1,2018

    在此之前,欧盟的行为就像罗马人一样

    回复
  2. 绝对没有非法伊斯兰非法移民到民主,先进的犹太人的情况...... https://t.co/l5bOh9Rcwb

    回复
  3. 亨利 八月2,2018

    我认为他们冒着生命危险在他们的国家面临问题

    http://dialabusiness.net

    回复
  4. 丹尼斯杜根 八月6,2018

    如果你从世界的一个地方炸出粪便,人们将转移到世界的另一个地方。 并不是一个难以掌握的难题。

    回复
  5. Patrice D. Ayme 八月6,2018

    那些通过声称移民是高素质的非法移民到欧洲,并通过他们的工作产品帮助欧洲经济的人,与几个世纪过去的奴隶贩子完全相同。

    回复
  6. 帕特丽斯艾米 八月6,2018

    那些指称移民是高素质的非法移民欧洲人...... https://t.co/DnEH6gCk5M

    回复
  7. 冯德桑托 八月6,2018

    如果第三个世界上的第三个掠夺者在被剥削者的背上爬行,如果他在实物上爆炸,征服者就不会征服任何没有内行的东西?

    回复
  8. 安迪布兰齐 八月6,2018

    美国及其政治失败造成了这一整个问题。

    回复
    1. Patrice D. Ayme 八月6,2018

      是的,美国,特别是它的富豪们,创造了最贫穷的最贫穷国家的整个问题。 但要完全理解这一点,必须一直回到六月1,1914,当种族主义总统威尔逊的特使向凯撒提出“种族联盟”时......反对法兰西共和国。

  9. 琳达G巴里 八月6,2018

    他们注定要失败!

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of Citizen Truth. Citizen Truth encourages opinion pieces from a wide array of political spectrums in the hopes of fostering understanding.)

For the last five years, there has been an upsurge in the rate of illegal immigration into Europe by Africans. The immigrants have continued to endure the dangerous journey through the Sahara desert and risk drowning in the Mediterranean Sea all in the hope of reaching Europe. But why do these people risk their lives to this extent?

Worn out, dehydrated and hungry, hundreds of African immigrants reach European shores every month holding unto nothing else but hope for a prosperous future in the new land. These represent the lucky who have managed to successfully land in Europe compared to many others who end up drowning in the Mediterranean or worse get sold as slaves in a well-established slave trade market in Libya.

According to a report released by the International Organization for Migration (IOM) on Friday, July 27th, more than 55,000 immigrants have crossed the Mediterranean to reach Europe so far in 2018. Though this may be a drop from the 111,000 and 250,000 recorded in 2017 and 2016 respectively, the number is still high and portrays the relentlessness in which African immigrants want to reach Europe. The report further indicates that in the last five years, more than 1500 immigrants died per year during transit, but this does not dampen the spirits of others.

Aircraft hovering around immigrants on a lifeboat

The majority of the immigrants making the dangerous journey to Europe are young men and women below 35 years of age. Eurostat reported half of all immigrants were below the age of 28. They represent a strong, skilled and relatively educated group that has the potential of creating a formidable workforce for any country. But due to frustrations back in their countries caused by poor governance, lack of support, conflict and even climate change, they’re left with no choice but to seek for alternative sources of livelihood.

Immigration into Europe is an enticing alternative, and Europe itself has partly been playing a key role in fueling immigration. The working population in Europe is aging and largely made of older people who will have all retired in the next few decades. According to Eurostat, the population pyramid of Europe is widest at the middle and narrowest at the bottom meaning the “proportion of people of working age in the EU is shrinking while the relative number of those retired is expanding”. This has made the demand for labor such as in hospitals and manufacturing industries to continue rising, and with such a demand, Africans are drawn into Europe.

The population of Africa is rapidly expanding, and as long as there is a labor demand, immigration to Europe will continue in droves. Curtailing immigration may prove difficult, perhaps instead favorable immigration policies and agreements should be reached to allow for mutual benefits between the two continents.

In many cases, the kind of benefits that immigrants can bring to a country often means that immigration can help a country. The French national football team which won the cup in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, for instance, had more players of African origin than white players. Kakuma, a refugee camp in Kenya injects $56 million yearly into the Kenyan economy through its vibrant economy.

In 2016, the Center For American Progress reported that Syrian immigrants have advanced degrees at twice the rate of American born citizens. Syrian immigrants also start businesses at more than three times the rate of native Americans.

A 2017 paper from the National Bureau of Economic Research looked at both the costs of refugees and the positive economic impact of refugees. Researchers identified a group of 18-to-45-year-olds who resettled in the U.S. over the past 25 years to do so.

The study’s authors found the “U.S. spends roughly $15,000 in relocation costs and $92,000 in social programs over a refugee’s first 20 years in the country. However, they estimated that over the same time period, refugees pay nearly $130,000 in taxes — over $20,000 more than they receive in benefits,” as FiveThirtyEight reported.

Jeffrey Sachs, an economist, senior UN advisor and director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University, told PBS in 2016 that the economic impact of refugees overall was positive.

“For the world, it’s positive, because people are leaving desperate situations and getting to economically better situations. For the U.S., on net, it’s positive, because there are gains when people come, add to the labor market, add skills and generally, earn less than what they can contribute to the society as a whole. So there are benefits, but there are distributional consequences that can be quite complicated,” Sachs said.

While immigration overall is a positive Sachs conceded that the economic impact could be complicated in how it affected a country. Who the immigrants are, where they are coming from, their age, their education levels and how many dependents they have all affect how immigration impacts a country.

Sachs also told PBS correspondent Paul Solman that the U.S. had a role in creating the refugee crisis and thus had a responsibility to help.

“We are so interconnected, whether it’s Ebola, whether it’s climate change or whether it’s refugees. This is one interconnected society. But in the case of refugees, it’s even more than that, because it’s not just something that’s happening and then the United States feels the impact. The United States is one of the main protagonists of the wars in the Middle East,” said Sachs.

“And so our responsibility, our role in all of this violence is much more direct. The more one understands the details of that, the more one should say, “Of course, the United States will play its role and its responsibility in helping people flee for their lives.”

 

New Report Reveals No Evidence Tougher Immigration Laws Deters Migration

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.