输入搜索

亚太

中国发布关于西藏成功民主改革的“白皮书”,而达赖喇嘛仍然被放逐

14th Dalai喇嘛,Tenzin Gyatso在安特卫普,比利时2006
14th Dalai喇嘛,Tenzin Gyatso在比利时安特卫普2006(摄影:Yancho Sabev)

中国政府上周发布的一份白皮书描绘了政府对西藏人和达赖喇嘛的压迫性待遇。

中国政府发布了一份 白皮书 尽管国际社会谴责中国对西藏的压迫性待遇,但上周三赞扬了他们在西藏“民主改革”的进展。 题为“西藏民主改革 - 六十年”的论文发表于60三月中国政府破坏西藏独立起义的1959周年纪念日。 因此,迫使23岁的达赖喇嘛逃往印度。

“通过废除农奴制,一个严峻而落后的封建制度,西藏能够建立一个新的社会制度,解放人民,使他们成为国家和社会的主人,从而确保他们在所有事务中的权利,”该报说。

除了序言和结论外,“中国日报”报道的白皮书包括十个部分,“封建奴役:黑暗历史”,“不可抗拒的历史趋势”,“废除封建奴役”,“人民已成为自己的事务大师, “解放和发展生产力”,“促进一系列事业”,“加强生态进步”,“保护宗教信仰自由”,“加强民族平等和团结”,“新时期西藏的发展” “。

是什么导致了中西裂痕?

西藏自治区拉萨的布达拉宫(藏语:ཕོ་བྲང་པོ་ཏ་ལ་,Wylie:pho brang Potala)是达赖喇嘛的住所,直到14达赖喇嘛在1959中国期间逃往印度侵入。 它现在是一个博物馆和世界遗产。 (照片来自)

西藏自治区拉萨的布达拉宫(藏语:ཕོ་བྲང་པོ་ཏ་ལ་,Wylie:pho brang Potala)是达赖喇嘛的住所,直到14达赖喇嘛在1959中国期间逃往印度侵入。 它现在是一个博物馆和世界遗产。 (照片来自)

西藏是中国西部的一个主要佛教地区,被称为“世界屋脊”,因为它是地球上最高的地区。 佛教藏人的宗派历来将达赖喇嘛视为他们的主要精神领袖,是过去达赖喇嘛的转世灵童。 但在1950,中国军队入侵自治领土,声称拥有数百年的主权权利。

将达赖喇嘛视为合法领导人而非中国共产党独裁者毛泽东的藏人在新西兰人民解放运动中起义。 据估计,随后的中国镇压造成数万人死亡,迫使当时1959岁的23th Dalai喇嘛流亡印度。

数千 在此后的几十年里,他们被杀害,遭受酷刑和任意逮捕,该地区的大部分宗教修道院在1960和1970的中国文化大革命中被摧毁。 为了使西藏人口同质化,中国政府 鼓励 汉族以经济激励的方式迁入西藏。

达赖喇嘛在新德里的1956(摄影:金赛兄弟)

达赖喇嘛在新德里的1956(摄影:金赛兄弟)

中国加强对西藏文化的把握

达赖喇嘛支持中国主权下的西藏自治,自流亡以来,他一直与中国政府断断续续的沟通。 在新西兰人民解放运动期间,国际宣传活动有助于改善西藏的局势,但最近的报道显示中国加强了对该领土的专制控制。

在2018,联合国人权理事会(HRC)表示,西藏的情况“正在迅速恶化”,并被认为是世界上最具压迫性的地区之一。 自2009以来,国际西藏运动(ICT)就有了 记录 155自焚以抗议中国的压迫。 记者,外国外交官和藏人都面临着 加强了限制 在旅行中,使报告实际情况变得更加困难。

在压迫西藏文化方面,中国政府甚至对转世过程拥有管辖权。 班禅喇嘛是藏传佛教中第二位最重要的精神领袖,应该由一名藏族僧侣委员会在该职位的前任职位去世后选出。 在10死亡的1989th班禅喇嘛之后,达赖喇嘛宣布他选择了一个名叫Gedhun Choekyi Nyima的新生男孩作为合法的轮回和该职位的继承人。 但共产党害怕分离主义领导,将这名6岁男孩带到1995,并以他们自己的选择取而代之。 从未见过这个六岁男孩。

4月25,2018,班禅喇嘛的29th生日,美国国务院发言人Heather Nauert 发表了一份声明 致中国政府:

“在25四月,我们纪念了第十三世班禅喇嘛Gedhun Choekyi Nyima的生日,因为据报道他二十年前被中国政府六岁时绑架,因此没有公开露面。 美国仍然担心中国当局继续采取措施消除藏人的宗教,语言和文化特征,包括他们不断破坏崇拜社区,如Larung Gar和Yachen Gar修道院。 我们呼吁中国立即释放Gedhun Choekyi Nyima,并坚持其促进所有人的宗教自由的国际承诺。“

在3月18,2019,83岁的达赖喇嘛的采访中 他的继任者可能来自印度,中国指定的替代方案不会受到人民的尊重。 中国政府仍然禁止将他的照片公开展示,他们迅速回应说,中央政府有权选择他的继任者。

中国的威权武器传播

2011将于3月在联合国举行自由西藏抗议活动。 西藏班禅喇嘛Gedhun Choekyi Nyima出生于1989-4-24,是世界上最年轻的政治犯。 (照片:自由西藏的学生)

3月2011在联合国自由抗议西藏。 西藏班禅喇嘛Gedhun Choekyi Nyima出生于1989-4-24,是世界上最年轻的政治犯。 (照片:自由西藏的学生)

中国经济影响力日益增强 黯淡的激进主义 对于西藏近年来,如果他们反对西藏人民的压迫,许多国家担心在北京遭到报复。 去年,印度禁止一年一度的西藏集会改善与中国的关系,据称伦敦西区剧院在英国议会的要求下暂停了一场关于西藏的戏剧。 演员 理查·基尔一位直言不讳的西藏活动家和达赖喇嘛的朋友说,由于他的激进主义,他一直被禁止参与制作:“我最近有一集有人说他们不能资助一部电影,因为这会让中国人不高兴“。

专家们认为,中国最近正在消除新疆西部维吾尔族穆斯林的文化认同 种族清洗。 据估计,维吾尔人被拘留的人数为 超过一百万,穆斯林群体受到军事监视,再教育和酷刑。 根据 人权观察:

“被拘留的人被剥夺了正当程序权利,遭受了酷刑和其他虐待......今天新疆的侵犯人权行为是自1966-76文化大革命以来中国未见的范围和规模。”

西方的回应

贸易战的紧张局势帮助美国国会在12月通过了“西藏互惠法案”,拒绝向被认为有责任限制前往西藏旅行的中国官员进入美国。 随着国际上对中国拘留营的认识和对维吾尔族穆斯林的监视日益增长,西方民主国家必须统一向中国施加压力,要求中国放弃其人道主义侵权行为。

中国的 带和道路倡议 并可能 谷歌辅助搜索引擎 除非国际社会认识到让世界最大经济体受铁拳统治的后果,否则将使该国日益增长的极权主义合法化。

然而,尽管形势严峻,达赖喇嘛 最近发言 他对未来的希望:

“中国 - 伟大的民族,古老的民族 - 但其政治制度是极权主义制度,没有自由。 因此,我宁愿留在这个国家。 我们的力量,我们的力量是基于事实。 中国力量基于枪支。 因此,从短期来看,枪支更具决定性,但长期的事实更为强大。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 库尔特 1-2019-XNUMX

    中国不再是民主而非美国。 他们都是极权寡头。
    中国以与美国对待委内瑞拉相同的野蛮方式对待西藏。
    只要金钱和贪婪存在,我们就会有这些悲剧。
    中国曾经把自己称为共产主义,但那是谎言。 因为在一个真正的共产主义国家,人民拥有一切
    政府和人民互相支持。 不需要钱。
    毕竟钱是压迫的武器。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

China Issues ‘White Paper’ on Successful Democratic Reform in Tibet, While Dalai Lama Still Exiled

The 14th Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso in Antwerpen, Belgium 2006
The 14th Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso in Antwerpen, Belgium 2006 (Photo by Yancho Sabev)

A White Paper released last week by the Chinese government painted a rosy picture on the government’s oppressive treatment of Tibetans and the Dalai Lama.

The Chinese government released a White Paper last Wednesday praising their progress of “democratic reform” in Tibet, despite international condemnation of China’s oppressive treatment of Tibet. The paper titled “Democratic Reform in Tibet — Sixty Years On” comes on the 60th anniversary of the Chinese government’s crushing of an independence uprising in Tibet in March of 1959; thus, forcing the 23-year-old Dalai Lama to escape to India.

“By abolishing serfdom, a grim and backward feudal system, Tibet was able to establish a new social system that liberated the people and made them the masters of the nation and society, thus ensuring their rights in all matters,” the paper said.

Besides a preamble and a conclusion, China Daily reported the white paper consisted of ten sections, “Feudal Serfdom: A Dark History,” “Irresistible Historical Trend,” “Abolishing Feudal Serfdom,” “The People Have Become Masters of Their Own Affairs,” “Liberating and Developing the Productive Forces,” “Promoting a Range of Undertakings,” “Enhancing Ecological Progress,” “Protecting the Freedom of Religious Belief,” “Strengthening Ethnic Equality and Unity,” and “Development of Tibet in the New Era.”

What Caused the Tibet-China Rift?

The Potala Palace (Tibetan: ཕོ་བྲང་པོ་ཏ་ལ་, Wylie: pho brang Potala) in Lhasa, Tibet Autonomous Region, China was the residence of the Dalai Lama until the 14th Dalai Lama fled to India during the 1959 Chinese invasion. It is now a museum and World Heritage Site. (Photo by Pixabay)

The Potala Palace (Tibetan: ཕོ་བྲང་པོ་ཏ་ལ་, Wylie: pho brang Potala) in Lhasa, Tibet Autonomous Region, China was the residence of the Dalai Lama until the 14th Dalai Lama fled to India during the 1959 Chinese invasion. It is now a museum and World Heritage Site. (Photo by Pixabay)

Tibet is a predominantly Buddhist region in Western China and known as “the roof of the world,” as it is the highest region on Earth. The sect of Buddhism Tibetans follow has historically viewed the Dalai Lama as their chief spiritual leader, a reincarnation of past Dalai Lamas. But in 1950, the Chinese military invaded the autonomous territory, claiming to hold a centuries-old right to sovereignty over the region.

Tibetans, who viewed the Dalai Lama as their rightful leader, rather than China’s Communist dictator Mao Zedong, revolted in 1959. The ensuing Chinese crackdown is estimated to have caused tens of thousands of deaths, forcing the then 23-year-old 14th Dalai Lama to exile in India.

Thousands have been killed, tortured and arbitrarily arrested in the decades since, and most of the region’s religious monasteries were destroyed in the Chinese Cultural Revolution of the 1960s and 1970s. To homogenize the Tibetan population, the Chinese government encouraged the Han ethnic group to migrate into Tibet with financial incentives.

Dalai Lama in 1956 in New Delhi (Photo by Kinsey Brothers)

Dalai Lama in 1956 in New Delhi (Photo by Kinsey Brothers)

China Tightens Grip on Tibetan Culture

The Dalai Lama is a proponent of Tibetan autonomy under Chinese sovereignty, and he has held intermittent communications with the Chinese government since his exile. International awareness campaigns helped to improve Tibet’s situation somewhat during the 1980s, but recent reports indicate China has tightened its authoritarian grip on the territory.

In 2018, the United Nations Human Rights Council (HRC) said conditions were “fast deteriorating” in Tibet, and considered it one of the most oppressive regions in the world. Since 2009, the International Campaign for Tibet (ICT) has recorded 155 self-immolations in protest of Chinese oppression. Journalists, foreign diplomats and Tibetans are facing heightened restrictions on travel, making it more difficult to report on the actual situation.

In oppressing Tibetan culture, the Chinese government has even gone so far as to claim jurisdiction on the process of reincarnation. The Panchen Lama, the second most important spiritual leader in Tibetan Buddhism, is supposed to be chosen by a committee of Tibetan monks after the previous holder of the position dies. After the death of the 10th Panchen Lama in 1989, the Dalai Lama announced his selection of a newborn boy named Gedhun Choekyi Nyima as the rightful reincarnation and heir to the position. But the Communist party, fearful of separatist leadership, took the six-year-old boy away in 1995 and replaced him with their own choice. The six-year-old boy has never been seen again.

On April 25, 2018, the Panchen Lama’s 29th birthday, U.S. State Department Spokesperson Heather Nauert delivered a statement to the Chinese government:

“On April 25, we marked the birthday of the 11th Panchen Lama, Gedhun Choekyi Nyima, who has not appeared in public since he was reportedly abducted two decades ago by the Chinese government at age six. The United States remains concerned that Chinese authorities continue to take steps to eliminate the religious, linguistic, and cultural identity of Tibetans, including their ongoing destruction of communities of worship, such as the Larung Gar and Yachen Gar monasteries. We call on China to release Gedhun Choekyi Nyima immediately and to uphold its international commitments to promote religious freedom for all persons.”

In an interview on March 18, 2019, the 83-year-old Dalai Lama stated his successor may come from India, and the Chinese-appointed alternative would not be respected by the people. The Chinese government, which still prohibits his picture from being displayed publicly, quickly responded by saying the central government has the right to choose his successor.

China’s Authoritarian Arm Spreads

Free Tibet protest at the UN in March, 2011. Born on 1989-4-24, Tibetan Panchen Lama Gedhun Choekyi Nyima is the youngest political prisoner in the world. (Photo: Students For a Free Tibet)

Free Tibet protest at the UN in March 2011. Born on 1989-4-24, Tibetan Panchen Lama Gedhun Choekyi Nyima is the youngest political prisoner in the world. (Photo: Students For a Free Tibet)

China’s growing economic influence has dimmed activism for Tibet in recent years, with numerous countries fearing reprisal in Beijing if they speak out against the oppression of the Tibetan people. Last year, India prohibited the annual Tibetan rally to improve relations with China, and a West End theater allegedly suspended a play about Tibet in London at the behest of the U.K. council. Actor Richard Gere, an outspoken activist for Tibet and a friend of the Dalai Lama, says he has been kept out of productions because of his activism: “I recently had an episode where someone said they could not finance a film with me because it would upset the Chinese.”

China is more recently erasing the cultural identity of the Uyghur Muslims in Western Xinjiang province, in what experts deem an ethnic cleansing. Estimates put the number of Uyghurs in detention at over a million, where the Muslim group is subject to militarized surveillance, reeducation and torture. According to Human Rights Watch:

“Those detained have been denied due process rights and suffered torture and other ill-treatment … The human rights violations in Xinjiang today are of a scope and scale not seen in China since the 1966-76 Cultural Revolution.”

Western Response

Tensions from the trade war helped the U.S. Congress pass the Tibet Reciprocal Act in December, denying entry into the U.S. to Chinese officials deemed responsible for restricting travel to Tibet. With international awareness of China’s detention camps and surveillance of the Uyghur Muslims growing, it is imperative for Western democracies to unify in pressuring China to abandon its humanitarian abuses.

China’s Belt and Road Initiative and potentially Google-aided search engine will legitimize the country’s increasing totalitarianism unless the international community recognizes the consequences of enabling the world’s biggest economy to be ruled by an iron fist.

Yet despite the grim circumstances, the Dalai Lama recently spoke of his hope for the future:

“China – great nation, ancient nation – but its political system is totalitarian system, no freedom. So, therefore, I prefer to remain here, in this country. Our strength, our power is based on truth. Chinese power based on gun. So for short term, gun is much more decisive, but long term truth is more powerful.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Kurt April 1, 2019

    China is no more a Democracy than is the USA. They are both Totalitarian Oligarchys.
    China treats Tibet in the same brutal manner as the USA treats Venezuela.
    As long as money and greed exists we will have these travesties.
    China used to call itself communist, but that was a lie. Because in a truly communist country, where the people own everything
    and the government and people support each other. No money is needed.
    After all money is a weapon of oppression.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.