输入搜索

国家

NC共和党人通过预算否决与惊喜投票,近半数成员缺席

北卡罗来纳州众议院民主党众议员德巴特勒在共和党人试图在民主党人缺席的情况下匆匆通过预算否决权。 (图片:YouTube)
北卡罗来纳州众议院民主党众议员德巴特勒在共和党人试图在民主党人缺席的情况下匆匆通过预算否决权。 (图片:YouTube)

“这里发生的事情并没有混淆。 这是一个谎言,我们知道为什么他们不在那里,因为他们被告知不会有选票。“

北卡罗来纳州本周恢复全国头条新闻,因为该州的共和党代表在周三超越预算否决权,而数十名民主党成员缺席。 一种 国家众议员Deb Butler谴责突然投票的视频 作为一个 ”滑稽戏“周三发生了变化,突显了美国政治的争议状态。

争议发生在一天之后 共和党候选人丹·毕晓普在一次特别选举中击败了民主党人丹·麦克里特 为2018中期众议院的最后一个开放席位。 特朗普总统在比赛前一天晚上在北卡罗来纳州费耶特维尔为主教举行集会,宣布北卡罗来纳州为“顶级优先级“为即将到来的选举。

“周二在北卡罗来纳州举行的国会两大胜利,丹·毕晓普和格雷格·墨菲,在世界各地引起了反响,” 特朗普推文 在周五。 “他们向很多人展示了共和党的强大程度,以及它的表现如何。 2020是一个非常重要的大选。 我们会赢!“

高度党派北卡罗来纳政治

北卡罗来纳州州长罗伊库珀已发誓否决任何未扩大医疗补助计划的预算,而共和党一直强烈反对其扩张。 库珀 拒绝了共和党的两年支出计划 由于排除了医疗补助计划的扩张,对教师的微薄加薪,以及他认为不必要的公司减税。

库珀说:“你看看那个房间里的人数,其中有多少人是共和党人,其中有多少人是民主党人。” “这里发生的事情并没有混淆。 这是一个谎言,我们知道为什么他们不在那里,因为他们被告知不会有选票。“

近年来,北卡罗来纳州的政治诡计成为头条新闻 共和党控制的立法机构剥夺权力的举动 从新任民主党总督罗伊库珀在2017到 上周,裁决要求在2020选举之前重新绘制格兰德地图。 州议员Deb Butler争辩说,这种策略破坏了对北卡罗来纳州民主程序的信任,并伤害了该州的教师,学生,环境和需要医疗援助的人。

“北卡罗来纳州曾经是一个受到公众教育尊敬的地方,”巴特勒说 采访MSNBC 在星期三。 “我们的教师在这个国家的最底层付钱,我们的水被污染,因为我们没有完全资助我们的环境质量部,我们的学校因为缺乏基础设施而崩溃,我们有工作的穷人,当然,由于我们未能扩大医疗补助,他们没有享受过医疗保健。“

民主党让北卡罗来纳州倒闭吗?

在此 新共和国的尼克马丁 NC民主党需要更加大胆地反对共和党。

马丁写道:“可能没有一种完美的方式来说服高级郊区选民 - 他们可能有社会自由倾向,但主要是关心降低税收 - 投票给民主党候选人。” “但北卡罗来纳州的人民和该国其他地区的公民一样,多次目睹民主党目前的做法是如何失败的。”

马丁在北卡罗来纳州长大并将其视为国家政治的一个缩影,他认为该州的民主党已经让共和党人施加了他们的意愿,从绘制超级格制的地图到赢得周二以前被认为无效的特别选举。篡改。 马丁 认为, McCready的“跨越过道”风格中心主义未能适用于该州的对抗性政治:

“提供选民候选人 公然蔑视进步人士 在他们自己的政党中,只有以被否决的否决权,变性的浴室账单,同性婚姻禁令,资金不足的学校以及决定留在家里或去购物中心而不是民意调查的选民结束。 马丁写道.

在周三出人意料的投票中拒绝屈服的国家众议员德巴特勒受到了积极分子的赞扬,已承诺继续打击该议院的欺骗手段:

“我不是英雄,我只是试图用麦克风停止欺骗,欺骗和腐败的货运列车,” 周五推特巴特勒。 “非常感谢你对我的支持。 #IWillNotYield面对潜力巨大的消费级XNUMXD打印机市场,太尔时代CEO郭戈表示,“太尔时代是全球领先的XNUMXD打印机制造商,满足市场上对消费级XNUMXD打印机日益增长的需求,是公司可持续增长的最大动力。根据市场的反馈,我们在一代产品的基础上,研发攻关、精心设计,推出了二代产品——UP mini XNUMX。我相信,凭借着UP品牌的良好口碑,UP mini XNUMX将成为家庭和学校教育、个人设计入门及‘个人制造’的最佳工具。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

NC Republicans Ram Through Budget Veto With Surprise Vote With Nearly Half Of Members Absent

Democrat Rep. Deb Butler on the North Carolina House floor as Republicans sought to rush through a budget veto while Democrats were absent. (Photo: YouTube)
Democrat Rep. Deb Butler on the North Carolina House floor as Republicans sought to rush through a budget veto while Democrats were absent. (Photo: YouTube)

“There’s no confusion about what happened here. This was a lie, and we know why they were not there because they were told that there were not going to be votes.”

North Carolina returned to national headlines this week after the state’s GOP representatives overrode a budget veto on Wednesday while dozens of Democratic members were absent. A video of state Rep. Deb Butler decrying the surprise vote as a “travesty” went viral on Wednesday, highlighting the contentious state of American politics.

The controversy occurred only a day after Republican candidate Dan Bishop defeated Democrat Dan McCready in a special election for the last open seat in the House of Representatives of the 2018 midterms. President Trump held a rally for Bishop in Fayetteville, NC, the night before the contest, having declared North Carolina a “top-tier priority” for the coming election.

“The two big Congressional wins in North Carolina on Tuesday, Dan Bishop and Greg Murphy, have reverberated all over the World,” tweeted Trump on Friday. “They showed a lot of people how strong the Republican Party is, and how well it is doing. 2020 is a big, and very important, Election. We will WIN!”

Highly Partisan North Carolina Politics

North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper has vowed to veto any budget that doesn’t expand Medicaid, while the GOP has been fiercely opposed to its expansion. Cooper rejected the GOP’s two-year spending plan over its exclusion of Medicaid expansion, its meager raises for teachers, and its corporate tax reductions he perceives as unnecessary.

“You look at the number of people who were in that chamber and how many of them were Republicans and how many of them were Democrats,” said Cooper. “There’s no confusion about what happened here. This was a lie, and we know why they were not there because they were told that there were not going to be votes.”

North Carolina’s political shenanigans have attracted headlines in recent years, from the GOP-controlled legislature’s move to strip power from incoming Democrat Governor Roy Cooper in 2017 to the ruling last week demanding gerrymandered maps be redrawn before the 2020 election. State Rep. Deb Butler argues that such tactics have undermined faith in North Carolina’s democratic procedures and hurt the state’s teachers, students, environment, and people in need of medical assistance.

“North Carolina is a place that used to be revered for public education,” Butler said in an interview with MSNBC on Wednesday. “Our teachers are paid at the very bottom of the barrel in this country, our water is contaminated because we have not fully funded our Department of Environmental Quality, our schools are crumbling because of a lack of infrastructure and we have the working poor, of course, who have not enjoyed health care because of our failure to expand Medicaid.”

Have Democrats Let North Carolina Down?

The New Republic’s Nick Martin argues N.C. Democrats need to grow more bold to counter the GOP.

“There might not be a perfect way to convince upscale suburban voters—who may have socially liberal inclinations but mainly care about lower taxes—to vote for Democratic candidates,” wrote Martin. “But the people of North Carolina, like citizens in the rest of the country, have witnessed repeatedly how Democrats’ current approach has failed.”

Martin, who grew up in North Carolina and views it as a microcosm of the nation’s politics, argues the state’s Democratic party has enabled Republicans to impose their will, from drawing hyper-gerrymandered maps to winning Tuesday’s special election that was previously deemed invalid for ballot tampering. Martin argues that McCready’s “reach across the aisle” style-centrism failed to apply to the state’s adversarial politics:

“Offering voters candidates who openly disdain progressives in their own party only ends in overridden vetoes, transphobic bathroom bills, gay marriage bans, underfunded schools, and voters deciding to stay home or go to the mall rather than to the polls,” wrote Martin.

State Rep. Deb Butler, whose refusal to yield during Wednesday’s surprise vote has been praised by activists, has pledged to continue fighting the chamber’s deceptive tactics:

“I’m not a hero, I just tried to stop a freight train of deceit, trickery and corruption with a microphone,” tweeted Butler on Friday. “Your support of me is so greatly appreciated. #IWillNotYield

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.