输入搜索

公司文化 意见 TRENDING文化 TRENDING - 观点

伊丽莎白沃伦做了一个艰难的电话,但最终,它是正确的

美国参议员伊丽莎白沃伦在内华达州拉斯维加斯的博南扎高中的市政厅与支持者交谈。
美国参议员伊丽莎白沃伦在内华达州拉斯维加斯的博南扎高中的市政厅与支持者交谈。 四月27,2019。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

福克斯新闻“旨在让我们互相反对,冒着生死攸关的后果,为腐败腐败政府和掏空中产阶级的腐败提供掩护。”

(由Jen Senko提供)由福克斯电视台提供福克斯市政厅,伊丽莎白沃伦做出了艰难的决定,不接受上周二的这一事。 伊丽莎白沃伦需要得到承认和鼓励,以便采取立场,并就唐纳德特朗普时代美国政治话语引发福克斯新闻所引发的问题发表讲话。

令我感到振奋的是,一位主要候选人终于在谈论福克斯已经成为什么样的人:一个右翼宣传机器,为其崇拜的追随者提供谎言,歪曲和阴谋理论,最终只会扩大我们国家已经存在的危险分歧。 沃伦选择直接进入福克斯国家的心脏地带,而不是出现在福克斯安排的论坛上,通过在17红州的市政厅亲自到达福克斯观众。 那是勇敢的 - 就像走进狮子窝一样。 它也同样有效。

我和其他数百万人一样,把我的父亲遗失给了拉什林堡,福克斯新闻以及右翼智库所设想的所有右翼宣传,这些宣传往往由自由主义的亿万富翁资助,他们的目标 - 过去四十年左右 - 是为了自己和公司支持者的利益而制定一方政策。

我的父亲是一个心胸开阔,不是很有政治色彩的民主党人,但在延长通勤时间后,他发现了谈话电台 - 这是一种门户毒品。 不久之后,他发现了福克斯新闻。 退休后,他花了几天时间听Rush Limbaugh和看Fox - 经常同时。 我的家人惊恐地看着他变成了一个非常愤怒,恐惧,激进的极右派共和党人,他们在发烧梦中发出右翼谈话要点和宣传。 我们整个家庭都被颠倒了,爸爸传福音他的新政治信仰。 曾经是民主党人,他们现在是被憎恨的邪恶敌人 - 所有世界弊病的原因。

我不得不更多地探索这个。 在完成了两部以前获奖的纪录片之后,我确定我必须做一件事:所以我制作了一部名为“我父亲的洗脑”的纪录片。我很快发现失去了亲人的媒体 - 特别是福克斯 - 是一种普遍现象。

一旦我完成了电影的预告片并将其放在Kickstarter上以便开始筹集资金,我开始收到数百封来自人们的电子邮件,告诉我他们自己的悲伤和有时悲惨的故事,讲述他们的亲人是如何被同样和可怕的正确转变的 - 媒体 他们包括感到孤立和伤心的配偶; 孩子们感叹福克斯来到他们和他们的父母之间 - 就像一种邪教。

虽然这部电影是在2016中出现的,但我仍然会让人们向我推荐一个或多个 - 有时是整个家庭 - 亲人的个性发生了巨大变化,并且在变化后经常疏远。 (一位朋友的父母在访问期间回家,因为她的电视上没有Fox。) 人格变化的描述都有一个共同点 - 那就是愤怒。 这就像那部关于豆荚人的电影。 这些人看起来像他们的父母或他们的兄弟姐妹或朋友,但他们的性格完全改变了?

现在是所有候选人面对现实的时候了,福克斯“新闻”和右翼谈话节目如拉什林堡和亚历克斯琼斯几乎占据了该国的40%。 我们不能让新闻机构让福克斯对其内容负责。 他们不能。 只有我们的政治家才有能力教育选民福克斯对我们社会的腐蚀性影响。 由于40%的选民不断收集错误信息,因此无法进行合理的公开讨论。

几十年来,其他媒体和政客一直受到欺凌,并且害怕反对右翼媒体。 我们需要认识到,右翼媒体的崛起不仅使家庭分裂,而且使我们的民主处于危险之中。 它最终还创造了弗兰肯斯坦 - 特朗普。 除非像伊丽莎白沃伦这样勇敢的政治家有勇气将福克斯称之为现状,否则这种分歧只会持续下去。 正如她雄辩地指出的那样,福克斯“旨在让我们互相反对,冒着生死攸关的后果,为腐败腐败政府和掏空中产阶级的腐败提供掩护。”

沃伦知道她冒着报复的风险,但她加强了。 而且,她是对的,广告商开始离开福克斯,不仅有数百万人在家中观看,而且还在食客,医院,政府办公室,机场和医生办公室。 它对我们国家所做的一切都不过是一种流行病。 我们必须面对它。 伊丽莎白沃伦给了我们一个良好的开端。


Jen Senko是一位最近编写,制作和导演的电影制片人 我父亲的洗脑一部纪录片讲述了右翼媒体的稳定饮食如何将她的父亲从一个非政治的民主党人转变为一个肆虐的右翼共和党人。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 蛇用品 July 19, 2019

    我去告诉我的小弟弟,他也应该去看看
    这个博客定期从最热门的报告中获取更新。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE OPINION TRENDING-CULTURE TRENDING-OPINION

Elizabeth Warren Made a Tough Call But Ultimately, It Was The Right One

U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren speaking with supporters at a town hall at Bonanza High School in Las Vegas, Nevada.
U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren speaking with supporters at a town hall at Bonanza High School in Las Vegas, Nevada. April 27, 2019. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Fox News is “designed to turn us against each other, risking life and death consequences, to provide cover for the corruption that’s rotting our government and hollowing out our middle class.”

(By Jen Senko) Offered by Fox TV to do a Fox town hall, Elizabeth Warren made the tough decision not to accept this past Tuesday. Elizabeth Warren needs to be recognized and encouraged for taking a stand and speaking out about the problems Fox News is causing with American political discourse in the age of Donald Trump.

I am heartened that a major candidate is finally speaking out about what Fox has become: a right-wing propaganda machine that feeds its cult followers lies, distortions and conspiracy theories which ends up just widening our nation’s already dangerous divide. Instead of appearing on Fox’s arranged forum where they have control, Warren has opted to go right into the heart of Fox country and reach that Fox audience in person by doing town halls in 17 red states. That’s brave – like walking into a lion’s den. It’s also just as effective.

I, like millions of others, lost my father to Rush Limbaugh, Fox News and all of the right-wing propaganda dreamed up by right-wing think tanks, too often funded by libertarian billionaires whose goal – for the last forty or so years – is to have one party rule for the benefit of themselves and their corporate backers.

My father had been an open-minded, not very political Democrat, but on a lengthened commute to work he discovered talk radio – which was the gateway drug. Sometime after, he discovered Fox News. After he retired he spent his days listening to Rush Limbaugh and watching Fox – often simultaneously. My family watched in alarm as he changed into a very angry, fearful, radicalized far-right Republican who spouted right-wing talking points and propaganda as if in a fever dream. Our entire family was turned upside down with Dad evangelizing his new political beliefs. Once a Democrat himself, they were now the hated evil enemy – the cause of all world ills.

I had to explore this more. Having done two previous award-winning documentaries, I determined that I had to do one about this: so I made a documentary called, “The Brainwashing of My Dad.” I soon found out losing loved ones to right-wing media – especially Fox – was a common phenomenon.

Once I finished a trailer for the film and put it on Kickstarter in order to start raising funds, I started getting hundreds of emails from people telling me their own sad and sometimes tragic stories of how their loved ones had been similarly and horrifyingly transformed by right-wing media. They included spouses who felt isolated and heartbroken; children who lamented that Fox has come between them and their parents – like a kind of cult.

Though the film came out in 2016 I still get people reaching out to me about one or more – sometimes an entire family – of loved ones whose personalities changed dramatically and who are often estranged after the change. (One friend’s parents went back home during a visit because she didn’t have Fox available on her TV). The descriptions of the personality change all have one thing in common – and that’s the anger. It was like that movie about the pod people. Who were these people that looked like their parents or their brother or sister or friend but whose personalities had entirely changed?

It is time for all of the candidates to confront the reality that Fox “News” and right-wing talk shows like Rush Limbaugh and Alex Jones have taken hold of almost 40% of the country. We cannot leave it up to the news outlets to hold Fox accountable for their content. They cannot. Only our politicians have the ability to educate the electorate about Fox’s corrosive impact on our society. With 40% of the electorate taking in a constant stream of mis-information it becomes impossible to have reasonable public discourse.

For decades other media and politicians have been bullied by and afraid to speak against right-wing media. We need to realize that the rise of right-wing media has not only divided families but put our democracy in jeopardy. It also ultimately created a Frankenstein – Trump. The divide will only continue unless more courageous politicians like Elizabeth Warren have the courage to call Fox out for what it is. As she so eloquently puts it, Fox is “designed to turn us against each other, risking life and death consequences, to provide cover for the corruption that’s rotting our government and hollowing out our middle class.”

Warren knows she runs the risk of retaliation, yet she stepped up. And, she’s right, advertisers are beginning to leave Fox which reaches not only the millions who watch it in their homes but in diners, hospitals, government offices, airports and doctors’ offices. What it has done to our nation amounts to nothing less than an epidemic. We must confront it. Elizabeth Warren gave us a good start.


Jen Senko is a filmmaker who most recently wrote, produced and directed The Brainwashing of My Dad, a documentary about how a steady diet of right-wing media turned her father from a non-political Democrat to a raging right-wing Republican.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. snake supplies July 19, 2019

    I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also visit
    this weblog on regular basis to obtain updated from hottest reports.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.