输入搜索

美洲 环境 TRENDING美洲地区 TRENDING环境

特朗普放弃41环境法建立100英里亚利桑那州边界墙

美国 - 墨西哥边界墙延伸到太平洋,南部是墨西哥的Playa Tijuana,北部是加利福尼亚的San Ysidro。 现有的墙是在克林顿政府时期建造的。 (照片:Lauren von Bernuth)
美国 - 墨西哥边界墙延伸到太平洋,南部是墨西哥的Playa Tijuana,北部是加利福尼亚的San Ysidro。 现有的墙是在克林顿政府时期建造的。 (照片:Lauren von Bernuth)

“特朗普政府只是忽略了基岩的环境和公共卫生法律,通过受保护的壮观荒地犁过灾难性的边界墙。”

美国国土安全部(DHS)周三宣布,它正放弃41法律,保护清洁空气,清洁水,公共土地和濒临灭绝的野生动植物,以加速在亚利桑那州联邦保护的土地上建造100英里的新边界墙。和加州。

新墙是一个“系柱式”墙,国土安全部表示将取代破旧和过时的设计。 该建筑还将包括道路建设和改善以及照明装置。

根据生物多样性中心(CBD),将建造墙壁 器官管仙人掌国家历史文物, Cabeza Prieta国家野生动物保护区, 圣贝纳迪诺国家野生动物保护区, 科罗纳多国家纪念馆 和众多指定的荒野地区。

关注边境墙会对环境,动物造成严重破坏

西南边境行人围栏选定设计。 右上角的防护示例是正在构建的系柱式防护。 此图片摘自2月16,2017发布的美国GAO报告:www.gao.gov/products/GAO-17-331

(图片:西南边境的行人围栏选定设计。右上方的围栏示例是正在建造的系柱式围栏。此图片摘自2月16,2017:www.gao发布的美国GAO报告。 GOV /产品/ GAO-17-331)

CBD和环保主义者担心,系柱屏障将阻止野生动植物迁移,破坏生态系统并危害边境社区。

“特朗普政府只是忽略了基岩环境和公共卫生法律,通过受保护的壮观荒地犁过灾难性的边界墙,”生物多样性中心边境地区活动家Laiken Jordahl表示。 在一份新闻稿中。 “这片毫无意义的墙壁会撕裂索诺兰沙漠中心的疤痕,杀死濒临灭绝的野生动植物并造成不可逆转的破坏。 我们将竭尽所能阻止这种破坏。“

2018于7月份,来自世界各地的2500科学家 赞同一篇文章 在学术期刊BioScience中,警告物理屏障可能会产生毁灭性的生态影响,同时阻碍双重保护工作。

美国和墨西哥之间的边境地区是北美一些最大的生物多样性和丰富的地形的所在地,包括森林,草原和盐沼。 根据该论文,这片土地不仅仅是1,500原生动植物物种的家园。

该报警告说,如果特朗普总统在美国和墨西哥之间建立他提出的边界墙,那么有些物种可能会在美国灭绝。

作者强调,当美国国会通过Real ID法案时,拟议隔离墙的潜在危险首先在2005中得到强调。 “真实身份法”赋予美国国土安全部(DHS)有权绕过任何法律,包括濒危物种法和国家环境政策法,这将减缓边界墙的建设。

人造建筑物如墙壁破坏了动植物的生存空间,也可能导致周围的土壤长期不育,从而破坏生态系统。 墙壁阻止动物寻找食物,水,配偶并破坏年度和季节性迁徙模式。 施工还会侵蚀土壤并破坏自然水流。

“任何实质性建筑通常都会通过彻底破坏其栖息地或通过减少人口规模或限制进入季节性所需的关键区域来迫使人口直接灭绝。 每当你看到正在建造一个带状商场,机场或住房开发时,你就可以确定生物多样性正在遭受痛苦。 数百英里的边界墙和随附的建筑和维护基础设施将成为对生物多样性的犯罪,“ 研究作者Paul Ehrlich对斯坦福报告说.

该论文提出了多种解决方案,包括设计最大野生动植物渗透性的障碍,以及修复因障碍物构造而受损的野生动物栖息地。 该文件还建议国土安全部需要确定有障碍物构建风险的栖息地和动物。

“除了对水流和其他自然服务的影响外,隔离墙还可以剥夺我们的标志性生物,如濒临灭绝的半岛大角羊和索诺兰叉角羚羊,”埃利希警告说。 “还有一个经济损失需要考虑 - 美国鱼类和野生动物管理局估计,狩猎,捕鱼和野生动植物观察对26的边境州经济贡献了近10亿美元。”

国土安全部声称它将最大限度地减少环境影响

针对新的边界墙建设引起的环境问题, 国土安全部在一份新闻稿中说,“国土安全部仍然致力于环境管理。 国土安全部已经开始与其他联邦和州资源机构进行磋商,以确保尽可能地分析和减少对环境,野生动植物,文化和历史文物的影响。“

国土安全部认为图森和埃尔森特罗区域是“高度非法进入”的区域,“正在经历大量个人和麻醉品被非法偷运到该国”。

因此,据国土安全部称,“在这些项目区内建设边境基础设施将支持国土安全部阻止和否认非法过境以及跨国犯罪组织的毒品和人口走私活动的能力。”

国土安全部结束了其新闻稿,暗示将在美国南部边境建造更多系柱式边境围栏:

“国土安全部继续实施特朗普总统的行政命令13767--也称为边境安全和移民执法改进 - 并继续采取措施,立即规划,设计和建造南部边界的实体墙,使用适当的材料和技术最有效地实现完全控制南部边境。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 比利考德尔 July 27, 2019

    我想提高麻来治愈癌症是否有正确的方法来做到这一点,以获得正确的cbd油类型。 大麻的每英亩成本是多少?

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS ENVIRONMENT TRENDING-AMERICAS TRENDING-ENVIRONMENT

Trump Waives 41 Environmental Laws to Build 100 Mile Arizona Border Wall

The U.S.-Mexico border wall extends into the Pacific Ocean with Playa Tijuana, Mexico to the south and San Ysidro, California to the north. The existing wall was built during the Clinton Administration. (Photo: Lauren von Bernuth)
The U.S.-Mexico border wall extends into the Pacific Ocean with Playa Tijuana, Mexico to the south and San Ysidro, California to the north. The existing wall was built during the Clinton Administration. (Photo: Lauren von Bernuth)

“The Trump administration just ignored bedrock environmental and public health laws to plow a disastrous border wall through protected, spectacular wildlands.”

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced on Wednesday that it is waiving 41 laws that protect clean air, clean water, public lands and endangered wildlife in order to speed through the construction of 100 miles of new border wall in federally protected land in Arizona and California.

The new wall is a “bollard-style” wall which DHS says will replace dilapidated and outdated designs. The construction will also include road construction and improvement and lighting installation.

According to the Center for Biological Diversity (CBD), the walls will be built through Organ Pipe Cactus National MonumentCabeza Prieta National Wildlife RefugeSan Bernardino National Wildlife RefugeCoronado National Memorial and numerous designated wilderness areas.

Concern Border Wall Will Wreak Havoc on Environment, Animals

Selected Designs of Pedestrian Fencing on the Southwest Border. The fencing example in the top-right is the bollard-style fencing being built. This image is excerpted from a U.S. GAO report released on Feb 16, 2017: www.gao.gov/products/GAO-17-331

(Photo: Selected Designs of Pedestrian Fencing on the Southwest Border. The fencing example in the top-right is the bollard-style fencing being built. This image is excerpted from a U.S. GAO report released on Feb 16, 2017: www.gao.gov/products/GAO-17-331)

The CBD and environmentalists worry the bollard barriers will block wildlife migration, damage ecosystems and harm border communities.

“The Trump administration just ignored bedrock environmental and public health laws to plow a disastrous border wall through protected, spectacular wildlands,” said Laiken Jordahl, borderlands campaigner at the Center for Biological Diversity, in a press release. “This senseless wall would rip a scar through the heart of the Sonoran Desert, kill endangered wildlife and cause irreversible damage. We’ll do everything in our power to stop this destruction.”

In July of 2018, over 2500 scientists from around the world endorsed an article in the academic journal BioScience that warned a physical barrier could produce devastating ecological effects while hampering binational conservation efforts.

The border area between the U.S. and Mexico is home to some of North America’s greatest biodiversity and rich terrain which includes forests, grasslands and salt marshes. The land is home to more than 1,500 native animal and plant species according to the paper.

The paper warned that some of the species would potentially become extinct in the U.S. if President Trump builds his proposed border wall between the U.S. and Mexico.

The authors highlight that the potential hazards of the proposed wall were first highlighted in 2005 when the U.S Congress passed the Real ID Act. The Real ID Act gave the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) the authority to bypass any laws including the Endangered Species Act and the National Environmental Policy Act that would slow the construction of the border wall.

Man-made structures such as walls destroy the living spaces of animals and plants and can also cause the soil surrounding to become infertile for long periods which disrupts ecosystems. Walls prevent animals from finding food, water, mates and disrupt annual and seasonal migration patterns. Construction can also erode soil and disrupt natural water flows.

“Any substantial construction ordinarily forces populations to extinction directly by outright destruction of their habitat or by reducing population size or restricting access to critical areas required seasonally. Every time you see a strip mall, airport or housing development being constructed, you can be sure biodiversity is suffering. Many hundreds of miles of border wall and the accompanying construction and maintenance infrastructure would be a crime against biodiversity,” study author Paul Ehrlich said to the Stanford Report.

The paper proposed a multitude of solutions including designing barriers for maximum wildlife permeability and restoring wildlife habitats that have been damaged by barrier construction. The paper also recommended the DHS be required to identify habitats and animals at risk from barrier construction.

“Aside from effects on water flows and other natural services, the wall could rob us of iconic creatures such as the endangered Peninsular Bighorn sheep and the Sonoran pronghorn antelope,” Ehrlich warned. “There’s also an economic loss to consider—the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service estimated that hunting, fishing and wildlife-watching contributed nearly $26 billion to border state economies in 2011.”

DHS Claims it Will Minimize Environmental Impact

In response to the environmental concerns raised by new border wall construction, DHS said in a press release, “DHS remains committed to environmental stewardship. DHS has initiated consultation with other federal and state resource agencies to ensure that impacts to the environment, wildlife, and cultural and historic artifacts are analyzed and minimized, to the greatest extent possible.”

DHS considers the Tucson and El Centro sectors to be areas of “high illegal entry” that “are experiencing large numbers of individuals and narcotics being smuggled into the country illegally.”

Thus, according to DHS, “The construction of border infrastructure within these project areas will support DHS’s ability to impede and deny illegal border crossings and the drug and human smuggling activities of transnational criminal organizations.”

DHS ended its press release with a suggestion that more bollard-style border fencing will be built along the Southern U.S. border:

“DHS continues to implement President Trump’s Executive Order 13767 – also known as Border Security and Immigration Enforcement Improvements – and continues to take steps to immediately plan, design and construct a physical wall along the southern border, using appropriate materials and technology to most effectively achieve complete operational control of the southern border.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Billy Caudell July 27, 2019

    I want to raise hemp to cure cancer is there a proper way to do this to get the right type of cbd oil. and what is the cost per acre for the hemp

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.