اكتب للبحث

AMERICAS البيئة تتجه-AMERICAS تتجه للبيئة

ترامب يتنازل عن قوانين 41 البيئية لبناء جدار حدود 100 Mile Arizona

يمتد الجدار الحدودي بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك إلى المحيط الهادي مع بلايا تيخوانا والمكسيك من الجنوب وسان يسيدرو بكاليفورنيا من الشمال. تم بناء الجدار الحالي خلال إدارة كلينتون. (الصورة: لورين فون بيرنوث)
يمتد الجدار الحدودي بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك إلى المحيط الهادي مع بلايا تيخوانا والمكسيك من الجنوب وسان يسيدرو بكاليفورنيا من الشمال. تم بناء الجدار الحالي خلال إدارة كلينتون. (الصورة: لورين فون بيرنوث)

"لقد تجاهلت إدارة ترامب فقط القوانين البيئية والصحية العامة الأساسية لحرث الجدار الحدودي الكارثي من خلال أراضي برية محمية ومثيرة".

أعلنت وزارة الأمن الداخلي (DHS) يوم الأربعاء أنها تتنازل عن قوانين 41 التي تحمي الهواء النقي والمياه النظيفة والأراضي العامة والحياة البرية المهددة بالانقراض من أجل الإسراع من خلال بناء 100 أميال من الجدار الحدودي الجديد في أراض محمية فيدراليا في أريزونا وكاليفورنيا.

الجدار الجديد عبارة عن حائط "على شكل مربط" يقول DHS إنه سيحل محل التصميمات المتهالكة والمتقادمة. وسوف تشمل البناء أيضا بناء الطرق وتحسين وتركيب الإضاءة.

وفقا لمركز التنوع البيولوجي (CBD) ، سيتم بناء الجدران من خلال الجهاز الأنابيب الصبار النصب التذكاري الوطني, Cabeza Prieta محمية الحياة البرية الوطنية, محمية سان برناردينو الوطنية للحياة البرية, كورونادو التذكاري الوطني والعديد من المناطق البرية المعينة.

قلق الجدار الجدار سوف يعيث فسادا على البيئة ، والحيوانات

تصاميم مختارة لسياج المشاة على الحدود الجنوبية الغربية. مثال المبارزة في الجزء العلوي الأيمن هو المبارزة على غرار بولارد يجري بناؤها. هذه الصورة مأخوذة من تقرير مكتب محاسبة الحكومة الأمريكي الصادر في فبراير 16 ، 2017: www.gao.gov/products/GAO-17-331

(الصورة: تصاميم مختارة لسور المشاة على الحدود الجنوبية الغربية. مثال السور في الجزء العلوي الأيمن هو المبارزة على غرار مربط الحبال الجاري بناؤه. هذه الصورة مقتطفة من تقرير مكتب محاسبة الحكومة الأمريكي صدر في فبراير 16 ، 2017: www.gao. GOV / المنتجات / GAO-17-331)

وتخشى اتفاقية التنوع البيولوجي والبيئة من أن حواجز المربعات ستحظر هجرة الحياة البرية وتضر بالنظم الإيكولوجية وتضر بالمجتمعات الحدودية.

"لقد تجاهلت إدارة ترامب فقط قوانين البيئة والصحة العامة الصارمة لحرث الجدار الحدودي الكارثي عبر أراضي برية محمية ومثيرة" ، قال لايكين جوردل ، ناشط المناطق الحدودية بمركز التنوع البيولوجي ، في بيان صحفي. "هذا الجدار الذي لا معنى له من شأنه أن يمزق ندبة في قلب صحراء سونوران ، ويقتل الحياة البرية المهددة بالانقراض ويتسبب في أضرار لا رجعة فيها. سنفعل كل ما في وسعنا لوقف هذا الدمار ".

في يوليو من 2018 ، أكثر من علماء 2500 من جميع أنحاء العالم أيد مقال في المجلة الأكاديمية BioScience التي حذرت من أن الحاجز المادي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى آثار بيئية مدمرة مع إعاقة جهود الحفظ الثنائية.

المنطقة الحدودية بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك هي موطن لبعض من أعظم التنوع البيولوجي في أمريكا الشمالية والتضاريس الغنية التي تشمل الغابات والأراضي العشبية والمستنقعات المالحة. الأرض هي موطن لأكثر من 1,500 الأنواع الحيوانية والنباتية الأصلية وفقا للصحيفة.

وحذرت الصحيفة من أن بعض الأنواع قد تنقرض في الولايات المتحدة إذا بنى الرئيس ترامب جداره الحدودي المقترح بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك.

يسلط المؤلفون الضوء على أن المخاطر المحتملة للجدار المقترح تم تسليط الضوء عليها أولاً في 2005 عندما أقر الكونغرس الأمريكي قانون Real ID. أعطى قانون الهوية الحقيقية وزارة الأمن الداخلي (DHS) السلطة لتجاوز أي قوانين بما في ذلك قانون الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض وقانون السياسة البيئية الوطنية التي من شأنها أن تبطئ من بناء الجدار الحدودي.

الهياكل التي من صنع الإنسان مثل الجدران تدمر مساحات المعيشة للحيوانات والنباتات ويمكن أن تتسبب أيضًا في أن تصبح التربة المحيطة بالعقم لفترات طويلة تؤدي إلى تعطيل النظم الإيكولوجية. تمنع الجدران الحيوانات من العثور على الطعام والماء والزملاء وتعطيل أنماط الهجرة السنوية والموسمية. يمكن أن يؤدي البناء أيضًا إلى تآكل التربة وتعطيل تدفق المياه الطبيعية.

"عادةً ما يجبر أي بناء كبير السكان على الانقراض مباشرة عن طريق التدمير المباشر لموائلهم أو عن طريق تقليل حجم السكان أو تقييد الوصول إلى المناطق الحيوية المطلوبة موسمياً. في كل مرة ترى فيها مركزًا تجاريًا أو مطارًا أو مشروعًا سكنيًا قيد الإنشاء ، يمكنك التأكد من أن التنوع البيولوجي يعاني. مئات الآلاف من الأميال من الجدار الحدودي والبنية التحتية المصاحبة للبناء والصيانة ستكون جريمة ضد التنوع البيولوجي ". وقال مؤلف الدراسة بول إيرليك في تقرير ستانفورد.

اقترحت الورقة العديد من الحلول بما في ذلك تصميم الحواجز لأقصى نفاذية الحياة البرية واستعادة موائل الحياة البرية التي تضررت بسبب بناء الجدار. وأوصت الورقة أيضًا بأن يُطلب من وزارة الأمن الوطني تحديد الموائل والحيوانات المعرضة لخطر بناء الجدار.

وحذر إيرليخ قائلاً: "إلى جانب الآثار على تدفقات المياه والخدمات الطبيعية الأخرى ، يمكن أن يسلبنا الجدار من مخلوقات أيقونية مثل غنم شبه الجزيرة ذي الغدد المهددة بالانقراض وظباء سونوران شوكة القرن". "هناك أيضًا خسارة اقتصادية يجب مراعاتها - فقد قدرت مصلحة الأسماك والحياة البرية في الولايات المتحدة أن الصيد وصيد الأسماك ومراقبة الحياة البرية ساهمت بحوالي 26 مليار دولار في اقتصادات الدولة الحدودية في 2011."

DHS يدعي أنه سوف يقلل من الآثار البيئية

استجابة للمخاوف البيئية التي أثارها بناء الجدار الحدودي الجديد ، وقال DHS في بيان صحفي، “DHS لا تزال ملتزمة الإشراف البيئي. بدأت وزارة الأمن الوطني التشاور مع وكالات الموارد الفيدرالية والولائية الأخرى لضمان تحليل الآثار على البيئة والحياة البرية والتحف الثقافية والتاريخية وتقليلها إلى أقصى حد ممكن. "

تعتبر وزارة الأمن الوطني أن قطاعي توكسون وإل سنترو هما مناطق "دخول غير شرعي عالي" والتي "تشهد أعدادًا كبيرة من الأفراد والمخدرات يتم تهريبهم إلى البلاد بشكل غير قانوني".

وبالتالي ، وفقًا لوزارة الأمن القومي ، "سوف يدعم بناء البنية التحتية الحدودية داخل مناطق المشروع هذه قدرة وزارة الأمن الوطني على عرقلة ومنع المعابر الحدودية غير القانونية وأنشطة تهريب المخدرات والبشر التي تقوم بها المنظمات الإجرامية عبر الوطنية".

أنهت وزارة الأمن الداخلي بيانها الصحفي باقتراح أن يتم بناء المزيد من السياج الحدودي على طول الحدود الجنوبية للولايات المتحدة:

"تستمر وزارة الأمن القومي في تنفيذ الأمر التنفيذي للرئيس ترامب 13767 - المعروف أيضًا باسم تحسينات الحدود الأمنية وتعزيز الهجرة - وتواصل اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لتخطيط وتصميم وبناء الجدار المادي على طول الحدود الجنوبية على الفور ، وذلك باستخدام المواد والتكنولوجيا المناسبة لتحقيق الأكثر فعالية السيطرة التشغيلية الكاملة على الحدود الجنوبية. "

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
لورين فون بيرنوث

لورين هو أحد مؤسسي منظمة Citizen Truth. تخرجت بشهادة في الاقتصاد السياسي من جامعة تولين. أمضت السنوات التالية في ظهور حقائب الظهر حول العالم وبدء نشاط تجاري أخضر في مجال الصحة والعافية. وجدت طريقها إلى السياسة واكتشفت شغفها بالصحافة المكرسة لإيجاد الحقيقة.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. بيلي كوديل يوليو 27، 2019

    أريد رفع القنب لعلاج السرطان هل هناك طريقة مناسبة للقيام بذلك للحصول على النوع الصحيح من زيت cbd. وما هي تكلفة لكل فدان للقنب

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AMERICAS ENVIRONMENT TRENDING-AMERICAS TRENDING-ENVIRONMENT

Trump Waives 41 Environmental Laws to Build 100 Mile Arizona Border Wall

The U.S.-Mexico border wall extends into the Pacific Ocean with Playa Tijuana, Mexico to the south and San Ysidro, California to the north. The existing wall was built during the Clinton Administration. (Photo: Lauren von Bernuth)
The U.S.-Mexico border wall extends into the Pacific Ocean with Playa Tijuana, Mexico to the south and San Ysidro, California to the north. The existing wall was built during the Clinton Administration. (Photo: Lauren von Bernuth)

“The Trump administration just ignored bedrock environmental and public health laws to plow a disastrous border wall through protected, spectacular wildlands.”

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced on Wednesday that it is waiving 41 laws that protect clean air, clean water, public lands and endangered wildlife in order to speed through the construction of 100 miles of new border wall in federally protected land in Arizona and California.

The new wall is a “bollard-style” wall which DHS says will replace dilapidated and outdated designs. The construction will also include road construction and improvement and lighting installation.

According to the Center for Biological Diversity (CBD), the walls will be built through Organ Pipe Cactus National MonumentCabeza Prieta National Wildlife RefugeSan Bernardino National Wildlife RefugeCoronado National Memorial and numerous designated wilderness areas.

Concern Border Wall Will Wreak Havoc on Environment, Animals

Selected Designs of Pedestrian Fencing on the Southwest Border. The fencing example in the top-right is the bollard-style fencing being built. This image is excerpted from a U.S. GAO report released on Feb 16, 2017: www.gao.gov/products/GAO-17-331

(Photo: Selected Designs of Pedestrian Fencing on the Southwest Border. The fencing example in the top-right is the bollard-style fencing being built. This image is excerpted from a U.S. GAO report released on Feb 16, 2017: www.gao.gov/products/GAO-17-331)

The CBD and environmentalists worry the bollard barriers will block wildlife migration, damage ecosystems and harm border communities.

“The Trump administration just ignored bedrock environmental and public health laws to plow a disastrous border wall through protected, spectacular wildlands,” said Laiken Jordahl, borderlands campaigner at the Center for Biological Diversity, in a press release. “This senseless wall would rip a scar through the heart of the Sonoran Desert, kill endangered wildlife and cause irreversible damage. We’ll do everything in our power to stop this destruction.”

In July of 2018, over 2500 scientists from around the world endorsed an article in the academic journal BioScience that warned a physical barrier could produce devastating ecological effects while hampering binational conservation efforts.

The border area between the U.S. and Mexico is home to some of North America’s greatest biodiversity and rich terrain which includes forests, grasslands and salt marshes. The land is home to more than 1,500 native animal and plant species according to the paper.

The paper warned that some of the species would potentially become extinct in the U.S. if President Trump builds his proposed border wall between the U.S. and Mexico.

The authors highlight that the potential hazards of the proposed wall were first highlighted in 2005 when the U.S Congress passed the Real ID Act. The Real ID Act gave the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) the authority to bypass any laws including the Endangered Species Act and the National Environmental Policy Act that would slow the construction of the border wall.

Man-made structures such as walls destroy the living spaces of animals and plants and can also cause the soil surrounding to become infertile for long periods which disrupts ecosystems. Walls prevent animals from finding food, water, mates and disrupt annual and seasonal migration patterns. Construction can also erode soil and disrupt natural water flows.

“Any substantial construction ordinarily forces populations to extinction directly by outright destruction of their habitat or by reducing population size or restricting access to critical areas required seasonally. Every time you see a strip mall, airport or housing development being constructed, you can be sure biodiversity is suffering. Many hundreds of miles of border wall and the accompanying construction and maintenance infrastructure would be a crime against biodiversity,” study author Paul Ehrlich said to the Stanford Report.

The paper proposed a multitude of solutions including designing barriers for maximum wildlife permeability and restoring wildlife habitats that have been damaged by barrier construction. The paper also recommended the DHS be required to identify habitats and animals at risk from barrier construction.

“Aside from effects on water flows and other natural services, the wall could rob us of iconic creatures such as the endangered Peninsular Bighorn sheep and the Sonoran pronghorn antelope,” Ehrlich warned. “There’s also an economic loss to consider—the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service estimated that hunting, fishing and wildlife-watching contributed nearly $26 billion to border state economies in 2011.”

DHS Claims it Will Minimize Environmental Impact

In response to the environmental concerns raised by new border wall construction, DHS said in a press release, “DHS remains committed to environmental stewardship. DHS has initiated consultation with other federal and state resource agencies to ensure that impacts to the environment, wildlife, and cultural and historic artifacts are analyzed and minimized, to the greatest extent possible.”

DHS considers the Tucson and El Centro sectors to be areas of “high illegal entry” that “are experiencing large numbers of individuals and narcotics being smuggled into the country illegally.”

Thus, according to DHS, “The construction of border infrastructure within these project areas will support DHS’s ability to impede and deny illegal border crossings and the drug and human smuggling activities of transnational criminal organizations.”

DHS ended its press release with a suggestion that more bollard-style border fencing will be built along the Southern U.S. border:

“DHS continues to implement President Trump’s Executive Order 13767 – also known as Border Security and Immigration Enforcement Improvements – and continues to take steps to immediately plan, design and construct a physical wall along the southern border, using appropriate materials and technology to most effectively achieve complete operational control of the southern border.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Billy Caudell July 27, 2019

    I want to raise hemp to cure cancer is there a proper way to do this to get the right type of cbd oil. and what is the cost per acre for the hemp

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.