输入搜索

国家

2020候选人终于解决了一个可以挽救民主的问题

2020民主党候选人聚集在德克萨斯州休斯顿,参加9月12举行的最新民主党辩论。 (照片:YouTube)
2020民主党候选人聚集在德克萨斯州休斯顿,参加9月12举行的最新民主党辩论。 (照片:YouTube)

“我或多或少地提到,好消息是,有许多总统候选人发布了非常强大的民主改革平台。”

《公民真相》与《平等公民》的亚当·艾钦(Adam Eichen)谈了有关我们时代最紧迫的问题,以及可能解决我们破碎的政治制度,民主改革的问题。

在我们的采访中,艾兴(Eichen)解释了民主改革的含义,为什么它对固定我们的政治如此重要以及2020候选人对民主改革的立场。 全国各地正在通过多种令人振奋的民主改革措施。 对于腐败的政治,选民被剥夺选举权,管理权和大笔资金接管我们的民主有解决方案。 找出组织和美国人每天在做什么,以站起来并恢复他们的民主。

享受下面的访谈摘录,并观看我们的完整访谈 YouTube频道.

劳伦:
今天,我们正在与平等公民组织的Adam Eichen交谈。 如果您不熟悉平等的公民,那么他们是一个奇妙的组织,因为他们正在努力实际修复我们破碎的政治体系,修复我们的民主并将其根深蒂固。 最重要的是,我们将与亚当谈谈平等公民如何实现民主,民主改革,尤其是民主改革如何在2020选举中发挥作用,也许最重要的是,候选人实际上已经宣布支持新的重要民主改革措施。 所以,谢谢亚当与我们交谈并回来再与我们交谈。

男人:
当然。 这是我的荣幸。 感谢您让我继续。

劳伦:
让我们从第一个问题开始。 最基本的说法是,您能否解释一下民主改革的含义以及为什么平等公民认为这是一个至关重要的问题?

男人:
当然可以。 我的意思是,毫无疑问,美国民主,美国已经瓦解,呃,政治上的大笔钱在谁可以竞选公职,制定了哪些政策方面占了上风。 呃,你知道,有一种流行病。 您知道,选民的压制在全国范围内普遍存在,只是最近才变得更糟,人们被剥夺了投票权。 Gerrymandering比以往任何时候都要糟糕。 政治家正在划清界限,以使我们在大多数情况下不再能进行竞争性选举。 而且您知道,我们仍然拥有选举学院,该学院完全没有代表权,并且嘲笑一个人一票。 因此,当所有这些不同……在我们民主的所有这些不同方面中,我们可以看到我们不是平等的公民,某些人在政治进程中的影响力要大于其他人。

这是不可接受的。 当然,正如您和我以及我所知道的那样,我敢肯定,许多听众都知道,在解决民主之前,我们无法在我们关心的任何问题上取得进展。 持续阻碍实现大多数美国人想要的有意义的改革的第一件事是没有代表性的制度。 它并不代表大多数美国人。 因此,大多数美国人是否想要对枪支进行合理的背景检查或对……采取行动以防止最严重的气候变化之类的事情都没有关系。 在我们成立代议制政府之前,这些事情将永远无法通过,因为我们的系统并非旨在根据多数意见实际模仿和制定政策。

因此,在平等公民组织中,我们要做的是找到创新的运动和诉讼,力求促进更加平等的公民身份……努力使我们的民主制度为所有人服务,尽管他们有多少钱,肤色,年龄等等等。 因此,我们正在努力解决诸如减少大笔资金对政治的影响之类的问题。 有选举的公共资助之类的东西。 我们正在努力倡导自动选民登记,通过邮寄当天的选民登记投票,消除对我们重罪剥夺公民权的污点,吉姆乌鸦的污点,以打击选民压制。 这个国家很少有人知道,如果您在某些州被判犯有重罪,您可能会永远失去投票权。 就像我说的那样,这就是吉姆·克劳的直接遗产。 因此,这是民主的关键部分。 您不能将投票权投给其他人。 当然,我们正在开展诉讼和政策方面的活动,以改革选举团。 因此,实际上在所有这些方面,它看起来都非常广泛,我同意。 但是问题是广泛的。 我们确实处于危机之中,没有灵丹妙药。 因此,我们在改革运动的各个方面都有所用,因为我们需要大修,并且正在与他们合作。

劳伦:
因此,只是为了重新思考,当我查看您的网站时,似乎有四个主要问题是关键……你们正在集中精力解决我们破碎的政治体系。 一个正在减少大笔钱在政治上的影响,另一个正在结束大礼堂,另一个正在使投票更容易,更具有代表性和更安全。 最后,在总统选举中使每一票均等。 是你们关注的四个广泛的一般领域中的那种吗?

男人:
是啊。 每个桶中都有许多不同的创新政策。 但是,是的,通常是四个。 这就是我们将修复系统所必须解决的四个关键领域概念化的方式。

劳伦:
好的。 因此,我想谈一谈2020选举,因为那是个大新闻,而且我们不知道您认识多少位竞选总统的候选人。 因此,就2020选举而言,民主改革将如何进行? 真的被认真对待了吗? 是否有候选人采取了重大的民主改革措施? 辩论中是否在谈论它?

男人:
所以我有好消息也有坏消息。 我将从坏消息开始,因为我喜欢以好消息结束。

劳伦:
(笑)谢谢。

男人:
因此,坏消息不是,主持人或辩论者没有看到或认为这个问题足够重要,无法就此问题提出问题。 因此,没有一个单一的问题。 迄今为止,在总统辩论中毫无疑问是关于民主改革的。 没有任何关于如何减少大笔钱在政治中的作用的保证,也没有关于确保所有人享有投票权的保证。 没有。

现在,一些候选人毫不犹豫地独立提出了这一点,这很棒。 在第一次辩论中,这更像是事情,在纽约,你有像纽约州参议员吉斯布兰德(Kirsten Gillibrand)这样的人,他确实提出了令人信服的论点,即在任何方面,民主改革都不重要,因为其他所有问题都取决于第一步。 她说,在我们首先确定民主之前,平等公民创始人劳伦斯·莱西格(Lawrence Lessig)确实可以说的话,我们不会在任何问题上取得进展。

劳伦:
她说在辩论中呢?

男人:
她在辩论中说了这一点,并且,您知道,她着重介绍了一个真正创新的公共融资计划,每个选民将获得最多600美元的民主代金券,您只能将其赠予合格的联邦候选人。 这将是竞选融资的根本转变,将真正提高美国人在竞选融资体系中的声音。 它将使政治力量民主化。 您知道,其他候选人,例如皮特·布蒂吉格(Pete Buttigieg)也说过类似的话–当被问及担任总统的优先次序时,他说民主改革。 因此,在某些情况下,候选人本人正在辩论阶段谈论民主改革,但主持人忽略这一问题的确是失败的。

我的意思是,辩论在许多不同层面上都是荒谬的。 但从我的角度来看,确实如此,没有一个关于民主改革的问题特别令人震惊。 尤其是考虑到当天早上第一轮辩论的第二天晚上,最高法院发布了关于加里曼德法令的可怕裁决,从本质上说,联邦法院不能就加里德利法令问题进行裁决。 他们对此无能为力。 他们还根据人口普查问题做出裁决,特朗普政府正试图通过增加一个公民身份问题来解决人口普查问题,这将导致人数不足,并允许各州潜在地使用公民投票年龄的人口。

我离题了,但关键是那天有两个关于我们民主的里程碑式的裁决。 对于主持人来说,这是问候选人应如何做的一个完美的新闻钩。 然而他们什么也没做。

在第二轮辩论中,地点在密歇根州,密歇根州拥有该国最繁华的地区。 在2018中,有一项运动旨在结束人们对选民的压倒性投票,最终共和党和民主党人有权划定界线,将选区划出政客的手中,然后交给一个独立的委员会。 这将是问候选人的最佳机会,他们将如何帮助公民支持其恢复民主的努力。 但是,当然,他们没有。

现在,这都是坏消息。 但是,正如我或多或少提到的,好消息是,有许多总统候选人发布了非常强大的民主改革平台……在这些候选人对这个问题的思考方式上有一定的成熟度。 他们认识到我们的民主制度已经破裂,成功担任总统的关键在于修正该制度,因为他们会这样做,他们看到,当特殊利益试图阻止这一改革时,任何形式的改革都将变得不可能。步步。

劳伦:
有趣的是,因为对我来说,这是民主改革的重要问题,因为我认为像你们和很多人一样,我们感到这个体系已经崩溃。 因此,我感到希望这些候选人正在讨论措施和改革并解决这一问题。 即使正如您所说,主持人实际上并没有以很多方式来关注它,甚至在媒体中也忽略了它等等。 但是似乎有迹象表明,它比过去受到了更多的重视,并且正在逐步建立,这就是为什么我对此感到有些兴奋的原因。

男人:
对。 是啊。 我认为您完全正确,您知道,我们甚至还有很长的路要走,甚至可以进一步推动候选人。 我认为尽管他们的许多平台都不错,但我认为没有足够的候选人真正在其演讲中做这部分。 但是你是对的。 只是事实是,其中许多曾经被视为是真实的,而不是像激进的,而是从根本上进行改革的激进的事实,这些事实在他们的计划中,他们正在谈论完全是,这是显着进步的标志。 我的意思是,确实如此。

您知道,我们现在显然希望进行改革,但是您必须花一点时间来了解这项改革运动在过去四年甚至三年中取得了多大的进步。 我们确实将讨论要点插入了主流。 我的意思是说,总统候选人甚至在辩论阶段都到那儿去,并说,我们首先解决民主之前,我们无法解决国家的危机。 我的意思是,对于那些参加这项改革运动已有一段时间的人来说,这是一个巨大的胜利。

劳伦:
你们的网站上有一个很棒的页面,您在此页面上对2020候选人进行排名,并表示他们对民主改革的立场。 您能给出吗-我认为大约有25个候选人,所以您不必全神贯注地做所有事情-但您能否概述一下哪些候选人是最重要的?他们支持的主要平台?

男人:
当然。 因此,我认为了解我们的网站(我们称为POTUS-1)的关键是HR1的作用,这是综合民主改革法案,民主党将其优先考虑作为第一个引入的法案新国会今年初接手时。 他们之所以将它称为HR1,是因为它是一个标志,表明这是最重要的问题,它包含了我们为之奋斗的所有改革措施。 我的意思是,这真是一个惊人的改革方案,它将彻底改变我们的民主制的包容性。

因此,我们称其为POTUS-1。 因为我们正在寻找,所以我们汇编此列表的原因是我们想知道候选人对改革的看法,以及希望优先考虑的候选人,已经同意将民主改革作为其第一要务。 因此,我们将该页面分为两部分。 我们给他们一个评分,说明他们的平台的强大程度,但同时也保留了那些致力于首先修复系统的人的评分。 如果候选人同时符合这两个条件,我们称他们为POTUS-1认证的候选人。

因此,我们有几个经过认证的候选人。 我的意思是,您知道我之前提到的Kirsten Gillibrand确实具有出色的平台。 我们给她加分。 她还获得了POTUS One认证。 杨扬(Andrew Yang)拥有另一个非常强大的平台,并且还同意首先修复民主。

今年,我们在新罕布什尔州举行了所谓的民主市政厅会议,并邀请了总统候选人。 我们与吉利布兰德参议员和杨先生举行了一次会议。 在这两个事件中,他们都同意将民主改革作为头等大事。 您知道,安德鲁·杨实际上是在我们市政厅期间修改了他的声明。 他说,我的头等大事一直是给每个人一千美元的普遍基本收入,但我要修正这一声明,说:首先,确定民主,然后我将给所有人钱。 因为他认识到民主改革必须先行。

您知道,伯尼·桑德斯(Bernie Sanders)有一个非常强大的平台,尤其是在投票权方面。 贝托·奥罗克(Beto O'Rourke)同样拥有A和皮特·布蒂吉格(Pete Buttigieg),迈克尔·本内特(Michael Bennett)是另外两个候选人,玛丽安·威廉姆森(Marianne Williamson)具有强大的实力。 从那儿开始,名单下降了一点,我们希望看到更多,像伊丽莎白·沃伦(Elizabeth Warren)这样的人拥有非常强大的民主改革平台。 但是她没有提到选举的公共融资。 而且我们认为,没有公共资金的任何民主平台都是不充分的,因为这是真正民主化竞选资金的唯一途径。 在我们这样做之前,所有政策重点都将被歪曲。 列表从那里继续。

那真的是最重要的。 阻止某些候选人获得更高排名的现实是-您知道,我们使用此列表的标准实质上是,如果它不在您的平台上,除非它真的很容易找到,否则我们不会赞扬您。 因为那是基线。 如果放置在您的网站上不够重要,那么对于我们来说,给您带来信誉还不够重要。 因此,压制其中一些民主党候选人的真正原因是他们的网站没有提及民主改革。

我们希望随着主要季节的进行,这种情况会改变。 我拥有这些市政厅的另一个原因是,我们正在主持播客,Lessig会采访这些候选人,因为我们确实希望给他们提供提升他们成绩的空间。 我们不希望打败任何候选人。 这不是重点。 我们希望每一个……我们希望每位竞选总统的候选人都获得A-plus并获得POTUS认证。 那就是我们想要的。 我们希望每个候选人都有一个基准民主平台,我们相信该平台将真正修复我们的系统。

全面面试:

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 23-2019-XNUMX

    当两个(只有两个!)政党只提出经过控制政党的特殊利益而经过选举的候选人(很早就听到了他们的名字)时,就没有民主,也就没有“共和国”。

    无论如何,当“草根”人们在世界地图上找不到乌克兰并在沃尔玛旅行中trip着柯尔特.45时,这是多么令人鼓舞?

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

2020 Candidates Are Finally Taking Up the One Issue That Could Save our Democracy

The 2020 Democratic candidates gathered in Houston, Texas, for the latest Democratic debate on September 12. (Photo: YouTube)
The 2020 Democratic candidates gathered in Houston, Texas, for the latest Democratic debate on September 12. (Photo: YouTube)

“The good news, as I more or less alluded to, is that there are a number of presidential candidates that have released very strong democracy reform platforms.”

Citizen Truth spoke with Adam Eichen of Equal Citizens about perhaps the most pressing issue of our time and the one issue that could fix our broken political system, democracy reform.

In our interview, Eichen explains what democracy reform means, why it is so vital to fixing our politics and where the 2020 candidates stand on democracy reform. Multiple exciting democracy reform measures are being passed and fought for around our country. There are solutions to corrupt politics, voter disenfranchisement, gerrymandering and big money’s takeover of our democracy. Find out what organizations and everyday Americans are doing to stand up and take back their democracy.

Enjoy an excerpt of the interview below and watch the full interview on our YouTube channel.

Lauren:
Today we are speaking with Adam Eichen from the organization Equal Citizens. If you aren’t familiar with equal citizens, they are a fantastic organization because they are working on actually fixing our broken political system and fixing our democracy and fixing it at the root. Most importantly, we’re going to talk with Adam about how Equal Citizens is going about achieving democracy, democracy reform, and in particular how democracy reform is playing into the 2020 election and perhaps most importantly, which candidates have actually announced support for new significant democracy reform measures. So thank you, Adam for talking with us and coming back and talking to us again.

Adam:
Of course. It’s my pleasure. Thanks for having me back on.

Lauren:
Let’s just start with the first question. Most basic, can you explain what you mean by democracy reform and why Equal Citizens believes it’s such an essential issue?

Adam: 
Sure, absolutely. I mean, there’s no question that the U.S. Democracy, the United States is broken, uh, big money in politics hold sway over who can run for office, what policies are enacted. Uh, you know, there is an epidemic. You know, there is voter suppression, it’s rampant across the country and has only gotten worse recently, people are being denied the right to vote. Gerrymandering is worse than its ever been. Politicians are drawing the lines such that we no longer have competitive elections in most circumstances. And you know, we still have the electoral college, which is utterly broken unrepresentative and makes a mockery of one person, one vote. So when all of these different… in all of these different aspects of our democracy, we can see that we are not equal citizens, that some have more influence in the political process than others.

And that is unacceptable. And of course, as you and I know and I, I’m sure many of the listeners know that we cannot make progress on any of the issues that we care about until we fix our democracy. The first thing that continuously gets in the way of achieving the meaningful reform that most Americans want, is a system that is unrepresentative. It does not represent the majority of Americans. So it doesn’t matter whether or not the majority of Americans want something like reasonable background checks on guns or action on … to prevent the worst of climate change. Until we make a representative government, those things will never get passed because our system is not designed to actually mimic and produce policy based on the majority opinion.

And so at Equal Citizens what we do is we find innovative campaigns and lawsuits that seek to promote more equal citizenship… to try to make our democracy work for all individuals despite how much money they have, the color of their skin, their age, et cetera, et cetera. And so we’re fighting on issues like to reduce the influence of big money in politics. There are things like public financing of elections. We’re working to combat voter suppression by advocating for automatic voter registration, same-day voter registration vote by mail, ending the stain, the Jim crow stain on our nation of felon disenfranchisement. Few people in this country know that if you’re convicted of a felony in some states, you may lose the right to vote forever. And that is, as I said, a direct legacy of Jim Crow. And so that is a key part about a democracy. You can’t take the right to vote away from folks. And of course we’re working on campaigns, both litigation and policies, to reform the electoral college. So really on all these aspects, it seems very broad and I agree. But the problem is broad. We truly are in a crisis and there’s no silver bullet. And so we have our fingers in all aspects of this reform movement because we need an overhaul and we’re working with them.

Lauren:
So just to kind of rehash, when I looked at your website, it looked like there were four main issues that were kind of the key… that you guys were focusing on for fixing our broken political system. One being reducing the influence of big money in politics, another one being end gerrymandering, another one being making voting easier and more representative and more secure. And lastly, making every vote equal in the presidential election. Are those kind of the four broad general areas you guys are focused on?

Adam:
Yeah. And there are many different innovative policies that go into each of those buckets. But yeah, in general, those are the four. That’s how we conceptualize the four real key areas that we have to fix our system in which way to fix our system.

Lauren:
Okay. So I want to talk right about the 2020 elections since that’s kind of big news and we have, I don’t know how many different candidates you know, running for the presidency. So in terms of the 2020 election, how is democracy reform coming up? Is it actually being taken seriously? Are there candidates that have adopted significant democracy reform measures? And is it being talked about during the debates?

Adam:
So I have good news and bad news. I will start with the bad news because I like to end with the good news.

Lauren:
(Laughing) Thank you.

Adam: 
So the bad news is no, the moderators or the debates have not seen or viewed this issue as important enough to ask a question about it. So there has been not a single question. There’s been no question thus far in the debates for president about democracy reform. Nothing about how to reduce the role of big money in politics, nothing to ensure, about ensuring the right to vote for all individuals. Nothing.

Now, some candidates have brought this up independently unprompted, and that’s great. This was more of thing in the first debate where you have someone like Senator Kirsten Gillibrand of New York who really made a compelling case that no issue is more important in some respect as democracy reform because all the other issues rely upon that first step. She said that we will not make progress on any issue, in a line that really could have been said by Equal Citizens founder Lawrence Lessig, until we fix our democracy first.

Lauren:
And she said that in the debate itself?

Adam: 
She said it in the debate and, you know, she highlighted a really innovative public financing program where every voter would get up to $600 in democracy vouchers that you could give only to eligible federal candidates. That would be a radical shift in campaign financing that would really elevate the voices of all Americans in our campaign finance system. It would democratize political power. Other candidates like Pete Buttigieg, you know, said something very similar – when he was asked what is his priority as president, he said democracy reform. So there are these instances in which the candidates themselves are talking about democracy reform on the debate stage, but it’s been a real failure of the moderators to ignore this issue.

I mean, the debates are farcical on many different levels. But really and truly from my perspective, not a single question on democracy reform was particularly egregious. Especially considering on the second night of the first round of debates that morning the Supreme Court issued a terrible ruling on gerrymandering, essentially saying the federal courts can’t adjudicate on the issue of gerrymandering. They can’t do anything about it. And they also ruled on the census question that the Trump administration was trying to screw around with the census by adding a citizenship question, which would’ve led to an undercount as well as allowing states to potentially use citizen voting age population.

I digress, but the point is there were two landmark rulings about our democracy on that day. It would’ve been the perfect news hook for moderators to ask a question about what the candidates would do in response. And yet they did nothing.

And in the second round of debates, it was in Michigan, and Michigan has some of the most gerrymandered districts in the country. And in 2018 there was a movement to end gerrymandering that citizens voted on an initiative there overwhelmingly – so Republicans and Democrats take the power to draw the lines, the district lines out of the hands of the politicians and give it to an independent commission. It would been the perfect opportunity to ask the candidates what they would do to help support citizens in their effort to reclaim their democracy. But of course, they didn’t.

Now that is all bad news. But the good news, as I more or less alluded to, is that there are a number of presidential candidates that have released very strong democracy reform platforms… That there is a level of sophistication in terms of how these candidates are thinking about the issue. They are recognizing that our democracy is broken and that the key to having a successful presidency is predicated on fixing that system because they will, they see that any sort of reform is just going to be made impossible when special interests are gonna try and block it at every step.

Lauren:
It’s interesting, because to me this is an important issue of democracy reform, because I think like you and a lot of people, we feel like the system is broken. So I have felt hopeful that these candidates are talking about measures and reform and addressing the issue. Even though, as you said, it’s still in a lot of ways not really being looked at by moderators and maybe being ignored in the media and so on. But it seems like there might be a hint of it being taken more seriously than it has in the past, and that something is building, which is why I’m a little bit excited about that.

Adam: 
Right. Yeah. I think you’re exactly right there that, you know, we have a long way to go to even get to push the candidates even further. I think that while a lot of their platforms are good, I don’t think enough candidates are really making this part of their stump speeches. But you’re right. Just the fact that a lot of these once seen as, as kind of, you know, real, not like radical, but radical in the sense of getting to the root reforms, the fact that these are in their plan and they’re talking about it at all is, is a sign of remarkable progress. I mean, it truly is.

You know, we want reform now obviously, but you have to take a moment to recognize just how far this movement for reform has come over the last four, even three years. We really inserted our talking points into the mainstream. I mean the fact that presidential candidates are even going up there on the debate stage and saying, we can’t, you know, solve the crises in our country until we fix our democracy first. I mean, that’s a huge victory for those of us who have been in this reform movement for a little while.

Lauren:
On your website, you guys have a great page where you ranked the 2020 candidates and where they stand on democracy reform. Can you just give – I think there’s about 25 candidates, so you don’t have to do all of them off the top of your head – but can you just give an overview of what  candidates are at the top of the list and some of the key platforms that they support?

Adam:
Sure. So I think the key thing to understand about our website, which we call POTUS-1, is it’s a little bit of a play on H.R.1 which was, that was the omnibus democracy reform bill that the Democrats prioritized as the very first bill introduced in the new Congress when they took it over earlier this year. They called it the H.R.1 because it was a sign, a signal that this was the most important issue and it contained just a multitude of all the reforms that we fight for. I mean really what it is, is this amazing reform package that would revolutionize just how inclusive our democracy is.

And so we call it POTUS-1. Because what we’re looking, the reason that we compile this list is we wanted to know what the candidates are saying about reform, but also which candidates are prioritizing, have agreed to prioritize democracy reform as their number one priority. So we divide this page into two. We give them a grade for how strong their platform is, but we’re also keeping a tally of those who are committing to fix the system first. And if candidates meet both of those criteria, we call them POTUS-1 certified candidates.

So we have a couple of those certified candidates. I mean, you know Kirsten Gillibrand who I mentioned earlier, really has an outstanding, outstanding platform. We give her an A Plus. She’s also POTUS One certified. Andrew Yang has another extraordinarily, extraordinarily strong platform and has also agreed to fix democracy first.

We’re holding what we’re calling democracy town halls across New Hampshire this year and we’re inviting presidential candidates. We have held one with Senator Gillibrand and Mr. Yang. At both of those events, they both agreed that democracy reform as a top priority. Andrew Yang actually, you know, revised his statement in the course of our town hall. He said, my number one priority has long been giving every individual one thousand dollars in universal basic income, but I would amend that statement to say, first off, fix democracy and then I will get everyone the money; because he recognized that the democracy reform has to come first.

You know, Bernie Sanders has an extraordinarily strong platform, especially on voting rights. Beto O’Rourke likewise has an A and Pete Buttigieg, Michael Bennett are another two candidates along with Marianne Williamson who has a strong platform. And from there the list goes down a bit and we’re looking to see a bit more, someone like Elizabeth Warren has a very strong democracy reform platform. But she doesn’t mention public financing of elections. And in our view, any democracy platform without public financing is inadequate, because that is the only way to really democratize the way campaigns are funded. And until we do that, all policy priorities are going to be skewed. And the list goes on from there.

That’s really the top of the pack. The real thing that’s keeping some candidates from getting higher rankings – you know, the criteria we use for this list is essentially, if it’s not on your platform, we’re not going to give you credit for it unless it’s really easily found. Because that’s a baseline. If it’s not important enough to put on your website, then it’s not important enough for us to give you credit for it. So the real thing that’s keeping some of these Democratic candidates down is that their websites don’t mention democracy reform.

We hope that will change as the primary season goes on. I’s another reason why we are having these town halls and we are hosting a podcast where a Lessig interviews these candidates, because we do want to give them the space to raise their grade. We’re not looking to hit any candidate over another. That’s not the point here. We want every… we want every candidate running for president to get an A-plus and to be POTUS certified. That’s what we want. We want every candidate to have a baseline democracy platform that we believe would truly fix our system.

Full Interview:

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout September 23, 2019

    When the two (and two only!) political parties put forward only candidates that have been vetted — long before you hear their names — by the special interests that control the parties, there is no democracy, nor is it a “republic”.

    Anyway, how encouraging is it when the “grass roots” folks can’t find Ukraine on a world map and tote a Colt .45 on their Walmart trip?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.