输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

美国农业部开始让屠宰场自我调节,冒着食品安全风险

10,六月,在得克萨斯州科珀斯克里斯蒂市的Sam Kane牛肉屠宰场,2008进行解剖,分类和分离牛肉部分。 美国农业部(USDA)食品安全与检验服务(FSIS)检验人员在现场,以确保牛肉按照USDA FSIS规定进行加工。
10,六月,在得克萨斯州科珀斯克里斯蒂市的Sam Kane牛肉屠宰场,2008进行解剖,分类和分离牛肉部分。 美国农业部(USDA)食品安全与检验服务(FSIS)检验人员在现场,以确保牛肉按照USDA FSIS规定进行加工。 (照片:美国农业部爱丽丝·韦尔奇)

尽管美国农业部的检查员仍将在每家工厂工作,但该机构估计某些设施的检查员将减少多达40%。

美国农业部(USDA)周二修改了对猪肉屠宰场检查的规则,削减了对食品检查的要求以及对猪肉生产线速度的限制。 批评人士认为,这一变化将使食品安全检测不足,使工人的工作更加危险,并增加发生食源性疾病的可能性。

农业部长桑尼·珀杜(Sonny Perdue)在周二发布的一项新法规声明中说:“这一法规变化使我们能够在确保食品安全的同时,消除过时的法规,并允许企业进行创新。”

该规则将允许工厂工人而不是USDA检验员执行检验职责,例如去除潜在的危险肉。

先前的主管部门已推迟对规则进行更改,最近20年以来一直在考虑该规则。 但是特朗普政府加快了实施速度,促使美国农业部监察长办公室 打开一个探针 该机构是否隐藏信息并使用不正确的工人安全数据来评估新的生猪检查系统。

“今天的美国农业部规则清楚地表明,美国政府重视公司利润的重要性超过了美国食品和工人的安全,” 联合食品和商业工人组织,代表全国30,000猪肉工厂工人。 “提高猪肉生产线的速度是鲁corporate的企业赠品,因为成千上万的工人被迫满足无法满足的要求,因此会受到伤害。”

尽管美国农业部的检查员仍将在每家工厂工作,但该机构估计某些设施的检查员将减少多达40%。 帕蒂·洛夫拉(Patty Lovera)非营利组织“食品与水观察”组织的食品行业评论家告诉记者 美国国家公共电台 这项变更“增加了最后一位美国农业部检查员成为最后一道防线的压力。”

Lovera表示:“我们称其为私有化检查” 美国国家公共电台。 Lovera指出,员工现在必须在没有接受适当培训的情况下承担独立检查员的职责,并且提高生产线速度可能会危害工人。

该机构正在考虑对牛肉检验进行类似的更改,但已收到对该规则更改的退回。

“公众反对这一点并不奇怪,”写道 托马斯·格雷米利恩(Thomas Gremillion)和黛博拉·伯考维茨(Deborah Berkowitz)。 “不仅公众向美国农业部发送了近80,000条反对该规则的评论,而且 一项调查 发现在全国各地和跨党派的绝大多数美国人都反对这一有争议的规则。”

“该规则的实施将导致狐狸守护鸡舍,”食品与水观察组织执行董事Wenonah Hauter 发表声明。 “由于政府对生猪屠宰检查的监督较少,大型肉类公司将可以自由检查自己,并朝着提高生产线速度的目标迈进。 毫无疑问:更快的生产线速度+更少的检查=更多的食品污染。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

5评论

  1. 肉类包装工厂在肉类检查员进入工厂之前是可怕的。 当人们开始死亡时,与这些变革有关的所有人都应被追究责任,并有可能入狱并被罚款,金钱不可能成为政府改变的唯一动力。

    回复
  2. MICHAEL ONEAL 22-2019-XNUMX

    我一直在玩素食主义。 感谢您的帮助。
    对于那些认为食肉动物导致气候变化的人来说,这应该有所帮助。
    我希望生病者的新闻报道比特斯拉着火的新闻更普遍。

    回复
    1. 拉里斯托特 22-2019-XNUMX

      人类天生是杂食动物。 最佳饮食包括肉。 但是我们已经偏离了我们进化的真正自我。

      世界上最不可持续的事情是人类人口过剩,它有无数的后果-都是不好的。 。

      我已经过了一辈子了,我很高兴看到它包括一些美味的汉堡包(我曾经从堪萨斯州的一个卡车停靠站到所有地点的马拉喀什的一家酒店烧烤店吃过的甜品)。 但是,对于年轻的一代来说,这将是艰难的时刻。

  3. 拉里斯托特 22-2019-XNUMX

    公司法制(强权主义的强大变体)现在已经接近完成。

    一位精通历史的学生指出,伟大的国家往往不是因为征服其他国家,而是因为“内部腐烂”而陷入废墟。 腐烂集中于特殊利益对财富和权力的长期积累。

    快乐,罗尼?

    回复
  4. 拉里斯托特 24-2019-XNUMX

    我猜他们之所以这样做,是因为自我调节枪支拥有权如此之好。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

USDA Moves To Let Slaughterhouses Self-Regulate, Risking Food Safety

Workers at the Sam Kane beef slaughterhouse in Corpus Christi, Texas on June 10, 2008 dissect, sort and separate beef parts. U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) inspectors are on site to ensure the beef is processed in accordance with USDA FSIS regulations.
Workers at the Sam Kane beef slaughterhouse in Corpus Christi, Texas on June 10, 2008 dissect, sort and separate beef parts. U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) inspectors are on site to ensure the beef is processed in accordance with USDA FSIS regulations. (Photo: Alice Welch, USDA)

While USDA inspectors will still be present at every plant, the agency estimates that there will be as much as a 40% decrease in inspectors at some facilities.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) changed rules on pork slaughterhouses inspections Tuesday, cutting requirements for food inspections and caps on pork plant line speeds. Critics argue the change will make food safety testing inadequate, make work more dangerous for workers, and increase the likelihood of a foodborne illness outbreak.

“This regulatory change allows us to ensure food safety while eliminating outdated rules and allowing for companies to innovate,” Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue said in a statement Tuesday unveiling the new rule.

The rule will allow factory workers, rather than USDA inspectors, to perform inspection duties like removing potentially dangerous meat.

Previous administrations have delayed making the rule change, which has been under consideration for the last 20 years. But the Trump administration has accelerated its implementation, prompting the USDA’s Office of the Inspector General to open a probe into whether the agency hid information and used inaccurate data on worker safety to evaluate the new hog inspection system.

“Today’s USDA rule sends a clear message that this administration values corporate profits more than the safety of America’s food and workers,” said the United Food and Commercial Workers, a group that represents 30,000 pork plant workers nationwide. “Increasing pork plant line speeds is a reckless corporate giveaway that would put thousands of workers in harm’s way as they are forced to meet impossible demands.”

While USDA inspectors will still be present at every plant, the agency estimates that there will be as much as a 40% decrease in inspectors at some facilities. Patty Lovera, a food industry critic with the nonprofit group Food and Water Watch, told NPR that the change “ups the pressure on that last USDA inspector to be the last line of defense.”

“We call it privatizing inspections,” Lovera told NPR. Lovera notes that employees will now have to take on the duties of independent inspectors without proper training, and that increased line speed could imperil workers.

The agency, which is considering making similar changes to beef inspection, has received pushback to the rule change.

“It’s no surprise that the public is opposed to this,” wrote Thomas Gremillion and Deborah Berkowitz for the Hill. “Not only were there close to 80,000 comments from the public sent to USDA opposing this rule, but a survey found an overwhelming majority of Americans — in all parts of the country and across party lines — were opposed to this controversial rule.”

“The implementation of the rule will result in the fox guarding the henhouse,” Wenonah Hauter, executive director of Food and Water Watch, wrote in a statement. “With less government oversight over hog slaughter inspection, big meat companies will have the freedom to inspect themselves and push towards their goal of increasing line speeds. There’s no doubt about it: faster line speeds + less inspection = more food contamination.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

5 Comments

  1. Karen Ankeny September 21, 2019

    The meat packing plants were terrible prior to meat inspectors in the plants. MONEY can’t be the only motivator for changes that this administration makes, when people start to die all involved in these changes should be held accountable and possibly put in jail and fined.

    Reply
  2. MICHAEL ONEAL September 22, 2019

    I’ve been toying with vegetarianism for a while now. Thanks for the boost.
    For those that think that carnivores contribute to climate change, this should help.
    I hope news coverage of those that get sick is more prevalent than a Tesla catching on fire.

    Reply
    1. Larry Stout September 22, 2019

      Human beings are by nature omnivores. An optimal diet includes meat. But we have strayed far, far — much too far — from our evolutionary true selves.

      The most unsustainable thing in the world is human overpopulation, and it has countless ramifications — all bad.. Population is unregulated, and it is self-regulating only in the sense that all overpopulation by animal species is eventually “cured” by a population crash.

      I’ve had a life, and I’m glad that it included some delicious hamburgers (the bes twot I ever had were from a truck stop in Kansas and — of all places — a hotel grill in Marrakech). But, for younger generations it’s going to be lemming-time.

  3. Larry Stout September 22, 2019

    Corporatocracy (the virulent variant of plutocracy) is nearly complete now.

    An astute student of history noted that great nations more often than not fall into ruins, not by conquest of some other nation, but by a process of “internal rot”. The rot is centered upon chronic accretion of wealth and power by special interests.

    Happy, Ronnie?

    Reply
  4. Larry Stout September 24, 2019

    I guess they’re doing this because self-regulating gun ownership has worked so well.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.