اكتب للبحث

NATIONAL

كيف تضغط خطوط الرحلات البحرية على الكونغرس لمنع مشاريع قوانين تعويض الضحايا

وصول سفينة كرنفال كروز روعة إلى ميناء سان دييغو
وصول سفينة كرنفال كروز روعة إلى ميناء سان دييغو في 2010. (الصورة: ديل فروست)

كرنفال كورب ، أكبر شركة رحلات بحرية في العالم ، أنفقت 400,000 $ على الضغط هذا العام. رويال كاريبيان كروزيس تحتل المرتبة الثانية في 357,000 $.

(بقلم يو ستيلا يو ، مركز السياسة المستجيبةبالنسبة للعائلات التي يتعرض أحبائها لحادث على السفن التي تبحر في أعالي البحار ، فإنه ليس خيارًا لمقاضاة خطوط الرحلات البحرية بسبب الخسائر المادية أو العاطفية ، حتى عندما تكون الشركات على خطأ.

"قانون المطارق" ، برعاية السناتور ديب فيشر (R-Neb.) ، يهدف إلى تحدي الوضع الراهن. اسمه بعد ضحيتين الذين ضحوا بحياتهم في حريق في رحلة بحرية في نهر بيرو في 2016 ، فإن مشروع القانون يوسع التعويضات التي يمكن للأسر الحصول عليها من خطوط الرحلات البحرية في حالات الحوادث على متن الطائرة.

حصل مشروع القانون على دعم من الرابطة الأمريكية للعدالة، مجموعة تمثل محامي المحاكمة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. جماعات الضغط التي تدعمها خطوط الرحلات البحرية القوية ، ومع ذلك ، منعت جهود مماثلة لسنوات.

مشروع القانون سوف يعدل من القرن الماضي قانون الموت في أعالي البحار، والتي صممت لإعطاء أقارب البحارة المتوفين الحق في الانتصاف. بموجب القانون الحالي ، يجوز للعائلات فقط المطالبة بالتعويض عن الخسائر ذات القيمة النقدية الدقيقة إلا في حالات وقوع حادث طيران.

مشروع قانون فيشر يأتي من قسم في قانون حماية الركاب كروز برعاية المشرعين الآخرين على مر السنين ردا على الحوادث على متن الطائرة مثل السرقات والاغتصاب والقتل. يهدف مشروع القانون إلى تعزيز حماية السلامة وتوسيع حقوق الركاب ، لكن الجهود لم تؤت ثمارها.

السناتور السابق جاي روكفلر (DW.Va.) شاركت في رعاية مشروع القانون في 2013 ، بحجة أن صناعة خطوط الرحلات البحرية تعامل في بعض الأحيان المسافرين "مع قاسية مروعة وتجاهل. "بيان من رابطة الرحلات البحرية الدولية، مجموعة تجارية تمثل أكثر من خطوط رحلات أعضاء 50في جميع أنحاء العالم ، رفض فيما بعد مخاوفه المتعلقة بالسلامة على أنها تقدم "صورة مشوهة"الصناعة.

المجموعة التجارية تقول صناعة الرحلات البحرية منظم جدا و "السفر كروز هو بالتأكيد أكثر أمانا تقول إن عدد "الحوادث التشغيلية" انخفض بنسبة 37 من 2009 إلى 2018.

احصاءات الحكومة تحكي قصة مختلفة. من 2016 إلى 2018 ، تم الإبلاغ عنه الأنشطة الإجرامية على متن الطائرةارتفع من 92 إلى 120.

توفي مشروع قانون روكفلر في 2014 في لجنة التجارة بمجلس الشيوخ التي ترأسها. على حد سواء كرنفال كورب و الرحلات البحرية الملكية الكاريبية أنفقت مئات الآلاف على الضغط لأنها تركز على قضايا سلامة الركاب في ذلك العام ، تظهر التقارير الفصلية.

جهود مماثلة لدعم التشريع في السنوات التالية توقفت في كلا المجلسين ، كما تدفقت شركات خطوط الرحلات البحرية ملايين للضغط على هيل.

مجموعة التجارة صناعة الرحلات البحرية ، التي اجتذبت PAC تبرعات كبيرة من كبار موظفي خط الرحلات البحرية ، وقد نشط في الترتيب الإضافية يطير للاتصال المديرين التنفيذيين للشركة والسياسيين في المؤتمر السنوي للكونغرس كروز.

أنفقت المجموعة 1 مليون دولار في النصف الأول من هذا العام للتأثير على الكونغرس بشأن مسائل فاتورة وضرائب فيشر ، تظهر التقارير الفصلية. لم تستجب المنظمة لطلبات التعليق.

كرنفال كورب ، أكبر شركة رحلات بحرية في العالم ، أنفقت $400,000 على الضغط هذا العام. رويال كاريبيان كروزيس تحتل المرتبة الثانية في 357,000 $.

تدفقت الرابطة الأمريكية للعدالة ، وهي المنظمة الوحيدة التي تضغط لصالح "قانون المطارق" 1.35 مليون دولار في الربع الثاني للضغط على قضايا متعددة بما في ذلك مشروع قانون فيشر.

وقالت سو شتاينمان ، المتحدثة باسم المنظمة ، إن قانون الموت في أعالي البحار صُمم لتعويض الأسر التي تفقد مداخيلها ويحتاج إلى تحديث "لعكس السفر الحديث". وقد دعمت AAJ جهودًا مماثلة لتوسيع الحق في الانتصاف في الماضي ، كما قالت ، وقانون هامرس "مدعوم" لهذا الغرض.

ساهم PAC في جمعية محامي الدفاع بما مجموعه $13,000 لعدة أعضاء في لجنة التجارة في مجلس الشيوخ أثناء دورة 2020 حتى الآن.

في غضون ذلك ، قدمت خطوط الرحلات البحرية الرئيسية أموالاً للمشرعين الرئيسيين الذين يجلسون في اللجنة.

أحد رعاة مشروع 2013 لمشروع روكفلر ، سن. ريتشارد بلومنتال، (مد كون) $14,300 من American Cruise Lines منذ الدورة الانتخابية لـ 2015. أعطى كرنفال كروز خطوط $10,700إلى عضو اللجنة البارز ، السناتور ماريا كانتويل (D-Wash.) ، خلال نفس الفترة الزمنية ، وأعطت المجموعة التجارية لخط الرحلات البحرية $13,500 لعضو اللجنة سين جون ثون (RS.D.).

للدورة الحالية ، لجنة العمل السياسي للمجموعة التجارية ساهمت 2,000 $ لرئيس لجنة سين. روجر ويكر (R-Miss.) و 2,500 $ لعضو اللجنة سين. دان سوليفانقيادة (R-Alaska) PAC ، صحيح شمال باك. تلقى فيشر ، الذي يرعى قانون هامرس ، مبلغ 1,500 $ من ميكي اريسون، رئيس مجلس كرنفال كورب.

قدم المديرون التنفيذيون في شركة Carnival Corp و Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines و Norwegian Cruise Lines وأفراد أسرهم مبلغًا مشتركًا بقيمة 42,400 هذا العام إلى Fischer و Wicker و Sullivan و PAC التابعة له ، بالإضافة إلى Cantwell.

سوليفان ، الذي استشهد الأضرار المحتملة لاقتصاد السياحة في ألاسكا وساعد على قتل أ الزيادة الضريبية المقترحة على شركات الرحلات البحرية في 2017 ، تلقت أكبر قدر من المال بين أقرانه من صناعة السفن وخطوط الرحلات البحرية أثناء دورة الانتخابات 2020.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
زائر رد

تقوم Citizen Truth بإعادة نشر المقالات بإذن من مجموعة متنوعة من المواقع الإخبارية ومنظمات الدعوة ومجموعات المراقبة. نختار المقالات التي نعتقد أنها ستكون مفيدة ومفيدة لقرائنا. تحتوي المقالات المختارة أحيانًا على مزيج من الرأي والأخبار ، وأية آراء من هذا القبيل هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. إليوت بيرنشتاين سبتمبر 7، 2019

    الأم تفقد ابنتها على متن رحلة بحرية في منطقة الكارب الملكية ، ولا يوجد شيء على صاحبها دفع أتعاب المحاماة كعقوبة من قاض جوستيدس جوناثان جودمان من محكمة مياما. أتساءل كيف يمر كثير كروز يحصل على سنة من RCL؟ نرى http://www.CourtApprovedMurderOnTheSeas.com أو ابحث في Martins v Royal Caribbean

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

NATIONAL

How Cruise Lines Lobby Congress to Block Victim Compensation Bills

Carnival Cruise Ship Splendor Arrives at Port of San Diego
Carnival Cruise Ship Splendor Arrives at Port of San Diego in 2010. (Photo: Dale Frost)

Carnival Corp, the world’s largest cruise company, has spent $400,000 on lobbying this year. Royal Caribbean Cruises ranks second at $357,000.

(By Yue Stella Yu, Center for Responsive Politics) For families whose loved ones suffer an accident on ships sailing the high seas, it isn’t an option to sue cruise lines for physical or emotional losses, even when the companies are at fault.

The “Hammers’ Law,” sponsored by Sen. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), aims to challenge the status quo. Named after two victims who lost their lives to a fire on a Peruvian river cruise in 2016, the bill would expand the compensation families can pursue from cruise lines in cases of on-board accidents.

The bill gained support from the American Association for Justice, a group representing trial attorneys across the country. Lobbyists backed by powerful cruise lines, however, have blocked similar efforts for years.

The bill would amend the near-century-old Death on the High Seas Act, which was designed to give the relatives of deceased seamen the right to remedy. Under the current law, families may only claim compensation for losses that are of precise monetary value except in cases of an aviation accident.

Fischer’s bill comes from a section in the Cruise Passenger Protection Act sponsored by other lawmakers over the years in response to on-board incidents such as thefts, rapes and deaths. The bill aimed to enhance safety protection and expand passenger rights, but the efforts never came to fruition.

Former Sen. Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.) co-sponsored the bill in 2013, arguing that the cruise line industry sometimes treats travelers “with shocking callousness and disregard.” A statement from the Cruise Lines International Association, a trade group representing more than 50 member cruise linesworldwide, later dismissed his safety concerns as presenting a “distorted picture” of the industry.

The trade group says the cruise industry is highly regulated and “cruise travel is decidedly safer than most forms of transportation.” The number of “operational incidents,” it says, dropped by 37 percent from 2009 to 2018.

Government statistics tell a different story. From 2016 to 2018, reported on-board criminal activitiesrose from 92 to 120.

Rockefeller’s bill died in 2014 in the Senate Commerce Committee he chaired. Both Carnival Corp and Royal Caribbean Cruises spent hundreds of thousands on lobbying as they focused on passenger safety issues that year, quarterly reports show.

Similar efforts to champion the legislation in the following years stalled in both chambers, as cruise line companies poured in millions to lobby the Hill.

The cruise industry trade group, whose PAC attracted large donations from major cruise line employees, has been active in arranging fly-ins to connect company executives and politicians at its annual Congressional Cruise Caucus.

The group spent $1 million in the first half of this year to sway the Congress on Fischer’s bill and tax issues, quarterly reports show. The organization didn’t respond to requests for comment.

Carnival Corp, the world’s largest cruise company, has spent $400,000 on lobbying this year. Royal Caribbean Cruises ranks second at $357,000.

American Association for Justice, the only organization lobbying in favor of the “Hammers’ Law,” poured in $1.35 million in the second quarter to lobby on multiple issues including Fischer’s bill.

The Death on the High Seas Act was designed to compensate families losing a wage earner and needs to be updated to “reflect the modern travel,” said Sue Steinman, a spokeswoman on behalf of the organization. AAJ has backed similar efforts expanding the right to remedy in the past, she said, and Hammers’ Law is “supportable” for that purpose.

The trial attorney association’s PAC contributed a total of $13,000 to several members on the Senate Commerce Committee during the 2020 cycle thus far.

In the meantime, major cruise lines have also given money to key lawmakers sitting on the committee.

One of the co-sponsors of Rockefeller’s 2013 bill, Sen. Richard Blumenthal, (D-Conn.)  received $14,300 from American Cruise Lines since the 2015 election cycle. Carnival Cruise Lines gave $10,700to the committee’s ranking member, Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), during the same period of time, and the cruise line trade group gave $13,500 to committee member Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.).

For the current cycle, the trade group’s political action committee contributed $2,000 to committee chairman Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and $2,500 to committee member Sen. Dan Sullivan’s (R-Alaska) leadership PAC, True North PAC. Fischer, who’s sponsoring Hammers’ Law, received $1,500 from Micky Arison, chairman of the Carnival Corp board.

Executives of Carnival Corp, Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines and Norwegian Cruise Lines and their family members have given a combined $42,400 this year to Fischer, Wicker, Sullivan and his PAC, as well as Cantwell.

Sullivan, who cited possible damages to Alaska’s tourism economy and helped kill a proposed tax increase on cruise companies in 2017, has received the most money among his peers from the cruise ships and lines industry during the 2020 election cycle.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Eliot Bernstein September 7, 2019

    Mother loses daughter on royal carib cruise gets nothing has to pay their attorney fees as punishment by Judge of Justicide Jonathan Goodman of miama fed court. Wonder how many cruise passes he gets a year from rcl? See http://www.CourtApprovedMurderOnTheSeas.com or search Martins v Royal Caribbean

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.