输入搜索

国家

Cruise Lines如何为国会阻止受害者赔偿法案

嘉年华游轮辉煌抵达圣地亚哥港
嘉年华游轮辉煌在2010抵达圣地亚哥港。 (照片:Dale Frost)

世界上最大的邮轮公司嘉年华公司今年花了$ 400,000进行游说。 Royal Caribbean Cruises排名第二,价格为357,000。

(作者:Yue Stella Yu, 响应政治中心对于亲人在公海上航行的船舶遭遇事故的家庭而言,即使公司有过错,也不能起诉邮轮因身体或精神上的损失。

参议院赞助的“锤子法” Deb Fischer (R-Neb。)旨在挑战现状。 而得名 两个受害者 他们在2016的秘鲁河上游船中丧生,该法案将扩大家庭在船上事故中可以从邮轮公司追求的补偿。

该法案得到了该法案的支持 美国司法协会,一个代表全国各地审判律师的团体。 然而,由强大的邮轮公司支持的游说者多年来一直阻止类似的努力。

该法案将修改近百年历史 公海死亡法案,旨在为已故海员的亲属提供补救权。 根据现行法律,除航空事故外,家庭只能要求赔偿具有确切货币价值的损失。

菲舍尔的账单来自该部分 邮轮旅客保护法 多年来由其他立法者赞助,以回应船上事件,如 盗窃,强奸和死亡。 该法案旨在加强安全保护和扩大乘客权利,但这些努力从未实现。

前参议员 杰伊洛克菲勒 (DW.Va.)在2013共同发起该法案,认为邮轮行业有时会对待旅行者“令人震惊的冷酷无情来自美国的声明 邮轮国际协会,一个贸易集团代表 超过50会员邮轮公司在世界范围内,后来将他的安全问题视为“扭曲的画面“这个行业。

该贸易组织称邮轮业是 高度监管 和“邮轮旅行是 显然更安全 比起大多数运输方式。“据称,”运营事件的数量从37下降到2009的2018百分比。

政府统计数字讲述了另一个故事 据报道,从2016到2018 船上犯罪活动从92升至120。

洛克菲勒的法案在他主持的参议院商务委员会的2014中去世。 都 嘉年华公司 皇家加勒比游轮 季度报告显示,当年他们专注于乘客安全问题,花了数十万人进行游说。

随着邮轮公司的涌入,两个议院在接下来的几年里为支持立法做出了类似的努力 百万 游说山。

邮轮行业贸易集团,其PAC吸引了 大笔捐款 来自主要邮轮公司的员工,一直积极安排 飞入 在其年度国会巡游核心小组中联系公司高管和政客。

今年上半年,该集团花费了1百万美元来影响Fischer的账单和税务问题, 季度报告显示。 该组织没有回应评论请求。

世界上最大的邮轮公司Carnival Corp已经花了 $400,000 在今年游说。 Royal Caribbean Cruises排名第二,价格为357,000。

美国司法协会是唯一一个游说支持“锤子法”的组织 1.35 百万加元 在第二季度,在多个问题上游说,包括菲舍尔的法案。

该公司发言人Sue Steinman表示,“公海死亡法”旨在补偿失去工资收入的家庭,需要更新以“反映现代旅行”。 她说,AAJ过去曾支持扩大补救权的类似努力,并且“锤子法”对此有“支持”。

审判律师协会的PAC共提供了 $13,000 到目前为止,在2020周期期间参议院商务委员会的几位成员。

与此同时,主要邮轮公司也向参与委员会的主要立法者提供资金。

洛克菲勒的2013法案的共同提案国之一,参议员。 理查德Blumenthal,(D-Conn。)收到 $14,300 自2015选举周期以来,来自American Cruise Lines。 嘉年华游轮公司给了 $10,700到委员会的排名成员,参议员 Maria Cantwell (D-Wash。),在同一段时间内,和邮轮贸易集团给出了 $13,500 委员会成员参议员 约翰图恩 (RS.D.)。

对于当前的周期,贸易集团的政治行动委员会 贡献 $ 2,000委员会主席参议员 罗杰柳条 (R-Miss。)和$ 2,500委员会成员Sen. 丹·沙利文的(R-Alaska)领导PAC, 真北PAC。 赞助“锤子法”的菲舍尔从中收到了1,500 Micky Arison,嘉年华公司董事会主席。

嘉年华公司,皇家加勒比邮轮公司和挪威邮轮公司的管理人员及其家人今年已经向Fischer,Wicker,Sullivan和他的PAC以及Cantwell提供了42,400。

沙利文指出可能对阿拉斯加的旅游经济造成损害并帮助杀死阿拉斯加州 建议加税 在2017的邮轮公司,已收到 最赚钱的 在2020选举周期期间,来自游轮和航线业的同行中。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 艾略特伯恩斯坦 7-2019-XNUMX

    母亲在皇家加勒比邮轮上失去女儿没有必要支付他们的律师费作为由miama美联储法院的贾斯汀贾斯曼贾德曼法官的惩罚。 想知道他从rcl获得了多少次巡航通行证? 看到 http://www.CourtApprovedMurderOnTheSeas.com 或搜索Martins v Royal Caribbean

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

How Cruise Lines Lobby Congress to Block Victim Compensation Bills

Carnival Cruise Ship Splendor Arrives at Port of San Diego
Carnival Cruise Ship Splendor Arrives at Port of San Diego in 2010. (Photo: Dale Frost)

Carnival Corp, the world’s largest cruise company, has spent $400,000 on lobbying this year. Royal Caribbean Cruises ranks second at $357,000.

(By Yue Stella Yu, Center for Responsive Politics) For families whose loved ones suffer an accident on ships sailing the high seas, it isn’t an option to sue cruise lines for physical or emotional losses, even when the companies are at fault.

The “Hammers’ Law,” sponsored by Sen. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), aims to challenge the status quo. Named after two victims who lost their lives to a fire on a Peruvian river cruise in 2016, the bill would expand the compensation families can pursue from cruise lines in cases of on-board accidents.

The bill gained support from the American Association for Justice, a group representing trial attorneys across the country. Lobbyists backed by powerful cruise lines, however, have blocked similar efforts for years.

The bill would amend the near-century-old Death on the High Seas Act, which was designed to give the relatives of deceased seamen the right to remedy. Under the current law, families may only claim compensation for losses that are of precise monetary value except in cases of an aviation accident.

Fischer’s bill comes from a section in the Cruise Passenger Protection Act sponsored by other lawmakers over the years in response to on-board incidents such as thefts, rapes and deaths. The bill aimed to enhance safety protection and expand passenger rights, but the efforts never came to fruition.

Former Sen. Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.) co-sponsored the bill in 2013, arguing that the cruise line industry sometimes treats travelers “with shocking callousness and disregard.” A statement from the Cruise Lines International Association, a trade group representing more than 50 member cruise linesworldwide, later dismissed his safety concerns as presenting a “distorted picture” of the industry.

The trade group says the cruise industry is highly regulated and “cruise travel is decidedly safer than most forms of transportation.” The number of “operational incidents,” it says, dropped by 37 percent from 2009 to 2018.

Government statistics tell a different story. From 2016 to 2018, reported on-board criminal activitiesrose from 92 to 120.

Rockefeller’s bill died in 2014 in the Senate Commerce Committee he chaired. Both Carnival Corp and Royal Caribbean Cruises spent hundreds of thousands on lobbying as they focused on passenger safety issues that year, quarterly reports show.

Similar efforts to champion the legislation in the following years stalled in both chambers, as cruise line companies poured in millions to lobby the Hill.

The cruise industry trade group, whose PAC attracted large donations from major cruise line employees, has been active in arranging fly-ins to connect company executives and politicians at its annual Congressional Cruise Caucus.

The group spent $1 million in the first half of this year to sway the Congress on Fischer’s bill and tax issues, quarterly reports show. The organization didn’t respond to requests for comment.

Carnival Corp, the world’s largest cruise company, has spent $400,000 on lobbying this year. Royal Caribbean Cruises ranks second at $357,000.

American Association for Justice, the only organization lobbying in favor of the “Hammers’ Law,” poured in $1.35 million in the second quarter to lobby on multiple issues including Fischer’s bill.

The Death on the High Seas Act was designed to compensate families losing a wage earner and needs to be updated to “reflect the modern travel,” said Sue Steinman, a spokeswoman on behalf of the organization. AAJ has backed similar efforts expanding the right to remedy in the past, she said, and Hammers’ Law is “supportable” for that purpose.

The trial attorney association’s PAC contributed a total of $13,000 to several members on the Senate Commerce Committee during the 2020 cycle thus far.

In the meantime, major cruise lines have also given money to key lawmakers sitting on the committee.

One of the co-sponsors of Rockefeller’s 2013 bill, Sen. Richard Blumenthal, (D-Conn.)  received $14,300 from American Cruise Lines since the 2015 election cycle. Carnival Cruise Lines gave $10,700to the committee’s ranking member, Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), during the same period of time, and the cruise line trade group gave $13,500 to committee member Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.).

For the current cycle, the trade group’s political action committee contributed $2,000 to committee chairman Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and $2,500 to committee member Sen. Dan Sullivan’s (R-Alaska) leadership PAC, True North PAC. Fischer, who’s sponsoring Hammers’ Law, received $1,500 from Micky Arison, chairman of the Carnival Corp board.

Executives of Carnival Corp, Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines and Norwegian Cruise Lines and their family members have given a combined $42,400 this year to Fischer, Wicker, Sullivan and his PAC, as well as Cantwell.

Sullivan, who cited possible damages to Alaska’s tourism economy and helped kill a proposed tax increase on cruise companies in 2017, has received the most money among his peers from the cruise ships and lines industry during the 2020 election cycle.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Eliot Bernstein September 7, 2019

    Mother loses daughter on royal carib cruise gets nothing has to pay their attorney fees as punishment by Judge of Justicide Jonathan Goodman of miama fed court. Wonder how many cruise passes he gets a year from rcl? See http://www.CourtApprovedMurderOnTheSeas.com or search Martins v Royal Caribbean

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.