输入搜索

公司文化

Gina Rodriguez将利用艾美奖金将无证学生送到大学

吉娜·罗德里格斯
Filly Brown红地毯在Reagal电影院迈阿密海滩,4月9,2013

“Jane the Virgin”明星Gina Rodriguez正在放弃她的艾美奖颁奖典礼,以资助有抱负的大学生的教育。

为准备将于7月宣布的2018艾美奖提名,标准协议涉及主要电视网络和工作室在前几个月花费大量资金为其提交的演员,创作者和“提交你的代价”(FYC)活动提供资金。显示。

今年,罗德里格斯已经说服她的家庭电视台CW投资其他东西:为无证高中生提供大学奖学金。

罗德里格斯,也是该组织的成员 西班牙裔奖学金基金'董事会 自2015与大洛杉矶的Big Brothers Big Sisters合作,找到一名计划于秋季入读普林斯顿大学的拉丁裔高中生。 在罗德里格斯的支持下,该学生(将保持未命名)将能够完成四年制学位而无需经济负担。

目前尚不清楚罗德里格斯奖学金的大学获得者是否会成为儿童入境延迟行动(DACA)或发展,救济和外国未成年人教育法(DREAM)法案的受益人。

“FYC是一种奇异的舞蹈,”罗德里格兹说 告诉 好莱坞记者 一年一度的艾美奖活动。 “无论你做什么都需要疯狂的金钱。”

通常情况下,支出无济于事,因为奖项中每个类别的提名人数有限。 事实上,罗德里格斯从未获得过艾美奖提名,因为她在“简·维尔京”中饰演的角色在2014上首次亮相。

然而,她确实在2015赢得了金球奖,并且在同一类别的Globes中获得了两次提名。 “珍妮圣母”将在明年的第五季和最后一季回归。

罗德里格兹说:“我们的节目总是抓住任何机会帮助我为拉丁美洲社区做点什么。” “所以我问我的节目主持人Jennie [Snyder Urman],如果我们今年可以做些不同的钱。”

“珍妮圣母”也在其广受好评的奔跑中深入挖掘拉丁美洲身份和移民问题。 在一个故事情节中,简的祖母阿尔巴(Alba)在40年代没有证件的情况下寻求通往公民身份的道路。

新电影“班级等级”反映了当今青少年的行动精神

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Gina Rodriguez Will Use Emmy Money to Send Undocumented Student to College

Gina Rodriguez
Filly Brown red carpet at Reagal cinemas Miami Beach, April 9, 2013

“Jane the Virgin” star Gina Rodriguez is forgoing her Emmy Awards campaign to fund an aspiring college student’s education instead.

In preparation for the 2018 Emmy nominations that will be announced in July, standard protocol involves major TV networks and studios spending massive amounts of money in the preceding months to bankroll “For Your Consideration” (FYC) campaigns for their submitted actors, creators, and shows.

This year, Rodriguez has convinced her home station The CW to invest in something else: a college scholarship for an undocumented high school student.

Rodriguez, who’s also a member of the Hispanic Scholarship Fund’s board of directors since 2015, partnered with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Los Angeles to locate a Latinx high school student who plans to attend Princeton University in the fall. With Rodriguez’s support, the student (who’ll remain unnamed) will be able to complete a four-year degree without financial burden.

It’s unclear whether the college-bound recipient of Rodriguez’s scholarship will be a beneficiary of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) or Development, Relief, and Education for Alien Minors Act (DREAM) Act.

“FYC is a bizarre dance,” Rodriguez told The Hollywood Reporter of the yearly Emmy campaign. “Whatever you do requires an insane amount of money.”

Often, the spending is to no avail since there is only a limited number of nominees for each category at the awards. Indeed, Rodriguez has never received an Emmy nomination for her role on “Jane the Virgin,” which debuted in 2014 on The CW.

She did, however, win a Golden Globe in 2015, and has since been nominated twice more at the Globes in the same category. “Jane the Virgin” will return for its fifth and final season next year.

“Our show has always jumped at any opportunity to help me do something for the Latinx community,” said Rodriguez. “So I asked my showrunner, Jennie [Snyder Urman], if we could do something different with the money this year.”

“Jane the Virgin” has also dug deep into Latinx identity and immigration issues throughout its acclaimed run. In one storyline the series tackled, Jane’s grandmother, Alba, sought a path toward citizenship after being in the country undocumented for 40 years.

New Film ‘Class Rank’ Mirrors the Activism Spirit of Today’s Teens

 

 

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.