اكتب للبحث

الحرب ضد الشرق الأوسط اتجاه الشرق الأوسط

أصوات المنازل لوقف مبيعات الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية ، ترامب إلى الفيتو (مرة أخرى)

يعرض الرئيس دونالد ترامب ، الذي انضم إليه ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان ، مجالس إعلامية توضح حجم الأعمال التي تولدها المملكة العربية السعودية للاقتصاد الأمريكي بعد اجتماعها في البيت الأبيض في مارس ، 2018. (الصورة: الصورة الرسمية للبيت الأبيض ، شيلا كرايجيد)
يعرض الرئيس دونالد ترامب ، الذي انضم إليه ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان ، مجالس إعلامية توضح حجم الأعمال التي تولدها المملكة العربية السعودية للاقتصاد الأمريكي بعد اجتماعها في البيت الأبيض في مارس ، 2018. (الصورة: الصورة الرسمية للبيت الأبيض ، شيلا كرايجيد)

"هذه رسالة قوية ، كما أعتقد ، أن قيمنا يجب أن توجه سياستنا الخارجية."

يوم الأربعاء ، أصدر مجلس النواب الأمريكي ثلاثة قرارات لمنع خطة الرئيس دونالد ترامب لبيع الذخائر الموجهة بدقة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية والأردن والإمارات العربية المتحدة (الإمارات العربية المتحدة) دون مراجعة الكونغرس. يرسل التصويت مشاريع القوانين إلى البيت الأبيض ، حيث من المحتمل أن يستخدم ترامب حق النقض ضد القرارات.

"الأدلة واضحة: الحكومة السعودية تواصل تجاهل التمييز الحيوي بين المقاتلين والمدنيين الأبرياء في اليمن. وقال النائب أبيجيل سبانبرغر (مد - فرجينيا) إن الإدارة لا تحاول فقط أن تجعل السعوديين أكثر قوة في الأسلحة ، بل نعطيهم الفرصة لبناء أسلحة خاصة بهم. التل.

تم إقرار قرارين بعد الفوز بأصوات 238 ، بينما حصل القرار الثالث على أصوات 237. تم تمرير القرارات في المقام الأول من قبل الديمقراطيين مع كل واحد فقط الحصول على دعم من أربعة مشرعين جمهوريين.

جاء تصويت مجلس النواب بعد شهر من إقرار مجلس الشيوخ لقرارات 22 التي تعترض على خطة ترامب لبيع مليارات الدولارات من الأسلحة على الرغم من رفض الكونغرس. في حين وافق مجلس النواب على ثلاثة من قرارات 22 ، ما زال يتعين التصويت على القرارات الأخرى.

يمكن للقرارات الثلاثة إلغاء عقود مبيعات الأسلحة المتعلقة بخطة شركة Raytheon الأمريكية لتصنيع الأسلحة لبناء مصنع مشترك في المملكة العربية السعودية لتجميع القنابل الموجهة بدقة من شركة Paveway. في 2018 ، دمر استخدام تلك الذخيرة حافلة مدرسية في اليمن أسفرت عن مقتل أكثر من أطفال 40.

إن إقرار القرارات يظهر رفض الكونغرس للدعم العسكري الأمريكي للأمة الغنية بالنفط والإحباط الذي سعى ترامب لتجاوز موافقة الكونغرس على مبيعات الأسلحة. وافق مجلس النواب يوم الاثنين الماضي على خطوات تهدف إلى معاقبة المسؤولين السعوديين المتورطين في مقتل الكاتب جمال خاشقجي.

في أكتوبر / تشرين الأول ، قُتل خاشقجي ، وهو كاتب عمود في الواشنطن بوست وناقد صريح للعائلة المالكة السعودية ، وتم تشويهه داخل مبنى القنصلية السعودية في إسطنبول بتركيا. لم يتم العثور على جثته على الإطلاق ، لكن تقريرًا لوكالة المخابرات المركزية الأمريكية ادعى أن ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان كان وراء عملية القتل.

ورقة رابحة من المحتمل أن نقض التشريع

في يونيو الماضي ، صوت الكونغرس بتعليق مبيعات الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة عقب قرار ترامب بالالتفاف على الكونجرس بإعلان "حالة الطوارئ" لتبرير مبيعات الأسلحة التي تبلغ قيمتها 8.1 مليار دولار. استشهد ترامب بضرورة مواجهة التهديد الإيراني.

"ستدعم هذه المبيعات حلفائنا ، وتعزز الاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط ، وتساعد هذه الدول على ردع جمهورية إيران الإسلامية والدفاع عنها ،" وقال وزير الخارجية مايك بومبو لشبكة سي إن إن في ذلك الوقت.

لتجاوز حق النقض الرئاسي ، يلزم أغلبية الثلثين في مجلسي النواب والشيوخ. وفقا للممثل إليوت إنجل ، الرئيس الديمقراطي للجنة الشؤون الخارجية بمجلس النواب ، فإن هذه الخطوة ضرورية.

وقال إنجل: "هذه رسالة قوية ، أعتقد أن قيمنا يجب أن توجه سياستنا الخارجية" ، داعياً إلى مزيد من الدعم قبل التصويت على حق النقض (الفيتو) ضد ترامب.

موقع التحقيق بيلينغكات وجدت قامت كل من دول 11 الأمريكية وواشنطن العاصمة ، حتى الآن ، ببيع أسلحة تبلغ قيمتها أكثر من 100 مليون دولار للسعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة منذ بداية التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية في 2015.

"تحاول الإدارة إساءة استخدام القانون من أجل بيع الأسلحة لحليفها المفترض المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة. هذه بلدان تستخدم بالفعل أسلحة أمريكية الصنع في حملة في اليمن أسفرت عن استهداف وقتل مدنيين أبرياء ". وقال ديفيد سيسيلين ، عضو الكونغرس الديمقراطي في رود آيلاند لمجلة نيوزويك.

تعد مبيعات الأسلحة والعلاقة الإيجابية مع المملكة العربية السعودية عنصرا رئيسيا في إدارة ترامب لأن المملكة السعودية هي أحد شركاء واشنطن الرئيسيين في مواجهة التهديد الإيراني المزعوم في الشرق الأوسط. تدهورت العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران منذ تخلي ترامب عن خطة العمل المشتركة في العام الماضي ، واصفة إياها بالحرج.

يوم الثلاثاء ، من المتوقع أن تصوت لجنة العلاقات الخارجية بمجلس الشيوخ على مشروعين متصلين بالسعودية. أحدها مشروع قانون يدعم فرض عقوبات لدعم حل سلمي لحرب اليمن ، ومعالجة الأزمة الإنسانية في اليمن وتوجيه الاتهام إلى المسؤولين عن قتل خاشقجي.

وسيركز الآخر على مراجعة شاملة لسياسة واشنطن بشأن المملكة العربية السعودية وحظر سفر أفراد العائلة المالكة السعودية إلى الولايات المتحدة.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ياسمين رشيدي

ياسمين كاتبة وخريجة العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الوطنية بجاكرتا. وهي تغطي مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع لحقيقة المواطن ، بما في ذلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والصراعات الدولية وقضايا حرية الصحافة. عملت ياسمين في وكالة شينخوا الإندونيسية و GeoStrategist سابقًا. تكتب من جاكرتا ، اندونيسيا.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ستاوت أغسطس 2، 2019

    متشابهين….

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANTI WAR MIDDLE EAST TRENDING-MIDDLE EAST

House Votes To Halt Arms Sales To Saudi Arabia, Trump To Veto (Again)

President Donald J. Trump, joined by crown prince Mohammed bin Salman, shows informational boards showing how much business the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia generates for the U.S. economy after their meeting at the White House in March, 2018. (Photo: Official White House photo, Shealah Craighead)
President Donald J. Trump, joined by crown prince Mohammed bin Salman, shows informational boards showing how much business the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia generates for the U.S. economy after their meeting at the White House in March, 2018. (Photo: Official White House photo, Shealah Craighead)

“This is a strong message, I think, that our values must guide our foreign policy.”

On Wednesday, the U.S. House of Representative passed three resolutions to block President Donald Trump’s plan to sell precision-guided munitions to Saudi Arabia, Jordan, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) without congressional review. The vote sends the bills to the White House, where Trump is likely to veto the resolutions.

“The evidence is clear: the Saudi government continues to disregard the vital distinction between combatants and innocent civilians in Yemen. Not only is the administration trying to the Saudis more powerful weapons, but we are giving them the opportunity to build their own,” Rep. Abigail Spanberger (D-Va.) told The Hill.

Two resolutions were passed after winning 238 votes, while the third with 237 votes. The resolutions were passed primarily by Democrats with each only gaining support from four Republican lawmakers.

The House vote came a month after the Senate passed 22 resolutions objecting to Trump’s plan to sell billions of dollars of weapons despite Congressional disapproval. While the House passed three of the 22 resolutions, the others are still to be voted on.

The three resolutions could cancel arms sales contracts related to American arms manufacturer Raytheon’s plan to build a joint factory in Saudi Arabia to assemble Paveway precision-guided bombs. In 2018, the use of that munition destroyed a school bus in Yemen that killed more than 40 children.

The passing of the resolutions shows Congress’ disapproval of U.S. military support for the oil-rich nation and frustration that Trump has sought to bypass Congressional approval for weapons sales. Last Monday, the House approved steps aimed at punishing Saudi officials involved in the murder of columnist Jamal Khashoggi.

In October 2018, Khashoggi, a Washington Post columnist and an outspoken critic of Saudi’s royal family, was killed and mutilated inside the Saudi consulate building in Istanbul, Turkey. His body has never been found, but a CIA report claimed that Saudi’s crown prince Mohamed bin Salman was behind the killing.

Trump Likely to Veto the Legislation

Last June, Congress voted to suspend arms sales to Saudi Arabia and the UAE following Trump’s decision to circumvent Congress by declaring “a state of emergency” to justify the arms sales worth $ 8.1 billion. Trump cited the need to counter Iran’s threat.

“These sales will support our allies, enhance Middle East stability, and help these nations to deter and defend themselves from the Islamic Republic of Iran,” Secretary of State Mike Pompeo told CNN at the time.

To override the president’s veto, a two-thirds majority in the House and Senate is required. According to Representative Eliot Engel, the Democratic chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, such a move is necessary.

“This is a strong message, I think, that our values must guide our foreign policy,” Engel said, calling for more support ahead of the vote on Trump’s veto.

Investigative website Bellingcat found that 11 U.S states and Washington D.C have, so far, each sold arms worth more than $100 million to Saudi Arabia and the UAE since the beginning of the Saudi-led coalition in 2015.

“The administration is trying to abuse the law in order to sell weapons to supposed ally Saudi Arabia and the UAE. These are countries that are already using American-made weapons in a campaign in Yemen that resulted in innocent civilians being targeted and killed,” David Cicilline, a Rhode Island-based Democratic Congressman told Newsweek.

The weapons sales and a positive relationship with Saudi Arabia is a key component of the Trump administration as the Saudi kingdom is one of Washington’s leading partners in countering the alleged Iranian threat in the Middle East. U.S.-Iran ties have worsened since Trump abandoned the JCPOA last year, calling it an embarrassment.

On Tuesday, the Senate Foreign Relations Committee is expected to vote on two Saudi-related drafts. One is a bill supporting sanctions to back a peaceful resolution to the Yemen war, address Yemen’s humanitarian crisis and charge those responsible for killing Khashoggi.

The other would focus on a thorough review of Washington’s policy on Saudi Arabia and ban travel to the U.S. by the Saudi royal family’s members.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 2, 2019

    Birds of a feather….

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.