اكتب للبحث

الحرب ضد الشرق الأوسط

كيف يمكن للسويد أن تكون وسيط سلام للحرب في اليمن إذا كانت تبيع الأسلحة التي تجعلها ممكنة؟

أوقفوا تورط الولايات المتحدة في الحرب السعودية في اليمن في شيكاغو ، إلينوي. التاريخ: نوفمبر 30 ، 2018. كانت حقائب الظهر الزرقاء تقف أمام كل واحد من الأطفال الذين قتلوا في هجوم تفجيري سعودي على حافلة مدرسية في أواخر 2018. استخدموا قنبلة 500 جنيه المصنعة من قبل شركة لوكهيد مارتن. (الصورة: تشارلز إدوارد ميلر)
أوقفوا تورط الولايات المتحدة في الحرب السعودية في اليمن في شيكاغو ، إلينوي. التاريخ: نوفمبر 30 ، 2018. كانت حقائب الظهر الزرقاء تقف أمام كل واحد من الأطفال الذين قتلوا في هجوم تفجيري سعودي على حافلة مدرسية في أواخر 2018. استخدموا قنبلة 500 جنيه المصنعة من قبل شركة لوكهيد مارتن. (الصورة: تشارلز إدوارد ميلر)

لا يكفي أن نتحرك بالمأساة في اليمن. العمل ضروري.

في سبتمبر / أيلول 1 ، قصف المفجرون كلية ذمار المجتمعية في مدينة ذمار ، الواقعة جنوب غرب اليمن. لم تلتحق الكلية بالطلاب منذ سنوات عديدة ، وتم استخدام مبانيها بدلاً من ذلك كسجن. في يوم التفجير ، احتجزت المباني سجناء 185. احتجز السجن في الغالب الأشخاص الذين سيتم تبادلهم مع حكومة عبدربه منصور هادي. تقول الحركة الحوثية ، التي تسيطر على ذمار ، إنها أبلغت اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر بموقع السجن. من المحتمل أن يكون المفجرون من المملكة العربية السعودية ، التي تقصف اليمن منذ بدء حربها في 2015. ال مشروع اليمن البيانات وقد وجد أن ما لا يقل عن ثلث التفجيرات السعودية هي أهداف مدنية.

يقول يوسف الحضري ، الناطق باسم وزير الصحة في الحركة الحوثية ، إن هناك ما بين 60 و 100. واصلت الطائرة السعودية ضرب الموقع ، مما جعل عملية الإنقاذ صعبة والمجازر القصوى.

عندما وصلت أنباء القصف إلى ليز غراندي ، منسق الأمم المتحدة للشؤون الإنسانية في اليمن ، أجابت بأن هذا كان "حادثًا مذهلاً" و "مروعًا". قالت غراندي ، التي قضت عدة سنوات في: العراق حيث رأت حوادث مروعة ومذهلة أخرى. لكن اليمن قضية منفصلة. إنها ، كما تقول الأمم المتحدة ، أسوأ أزمة إنسانية. قبل أيام قليلة من هذا القصف ، قال غراندي إن الوضع في اليمن "هش للغاية". هناك نسبة لا تصدق من 80 من اليمنيين البالغ عددهم 28.25 - مليون 24.1 - في حاجة ماسة للمساعدة.

خلال السنوات الأربع الماضية ، قال مسؤولو الأمم المتحدة نفس الشيء. لقد ناشد أشخاص مثل غراندي - وكلهم صادقون للغاية - تقديم المساعدة لسكان يمسكون بالواقع بأظافره. وفي الوقت نفسه ، على الجانب السياسي ، يدعو المبعوثون الخاصون للأمين العام مثل مارتن غريفيث الأطراف إلى طاولة المفاوضات ويطلبون استئناف المفاوضات. بعد هذا القصف بالذات ، قال جريفيث ، "التكلفة البشرية لهذه الحرب لا تطاق. نحن بحاجة إلى أن تتوقف ".

اتفاقية ستوكهولم

في ديسمبر / كانون الأول ، صافح وزير خارجية حكومة هادي - خالد اليماني - والممثل الأعلى للحوثيين - محمد عبد السلام - ووقعوا اتفاقية ستوكهولم. إلى جانب هذين الرجلين ، كان وزير الخارجية السويدي مارغوت فالستروم والأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريس.

لقد كان هذا اتفاقًا رائعًا ، حيث شهد بعضًا من محادثات السلام التي توقفت منذ سنوات عديدة. يمكن فهم الاتفاقية على أنها في ثلاثة أجزاء - اتفاقية لإبقاء ميناء الحديدة المهم مفتوحًا وألا تكون نقطة تعارض ، اتفاقية حول إنشاء ممرات إنسانية للسماح للمساعدات بالانتقال من الحديدة إلى داخل اليمن ، واتفاق لتبادل الأسرى. كان السجناء في كلية ذمار المجتمعية جزءًا من مبادلة السجن.

الاتفاق ببساطة لم تعقد. منذ ديسمبر ، تم تهجير أكثر من 30,000 من الحديدة ، واشتد القتال في المدينة الساحلية. لم يتم الوفاء بوعد الممرات الإنسانية ، حيث لا يزال أكثر من 5 مليون يمني بعيدًا عن متناول وكالات الإغاثة. إن حسن النية بين الجانبين داخل اليمن محدود ، بينما يواصل التحالف السعودي الإماراتي قصف البلاد. بحلول مارس 2019 ، بدا الموقف خطيرًا للغاية حتى أن خمسة من السفراء إلى اليمن من خمسة أعضاء دائمين في مجلس الأمن الدولي قالوا إنهم قلقون للغاية بشأن هذا الوضع. لم تؤخذ على محمل الجد.

السياسة هنا مستعصية على الحل. تدعم المملكة العربية السعودية حكومة هادي ، التي لا تثق بها الإمارات العربية المتحدة - الحليف السعودي - لأن الإمارات ترى هادي كجزء من حركة الإخوان المسلمين (الإخوان محظورون في الإمارات العربية المتحدة). المملكة العربية السعودية ، في الوقت نفسه ، لن تعقد صفقة مع الحوثيين لأنها تعتبرهم وكيلاً لإيران. علاوة على ذلك ، راهنت المملكة العربية السعودية على مكانتها في هذه الحرب التي لا تنتهي. لا هادي ولا الحوثيون قادرون على تطوير وجهة نظر يمنية وطنية للوضع ومواجهة القصف. المناقشة في السويد ، إذن ، كان لها أساس حقيقي قليل. كان مصير الفشل.

بعد تفجير يوم الأحد ، قالت وزيرة الخارجية السويدية فالستروم إنها ستسافر إلى اليمن "وتتحدث مع أكبر عدد ممكن من الناس". هذا أمر شجاع. Wallström هي شخصية محترمة ، وقد تم تأكيد أوراق اعتمادها لكل من الجدية والتوازن في 2016 عندما انتقدت إسرائيل لسياستها في القتل خارج نطاق القضاء. لكن في هذه الحالة ، سيتعين على Wallström فعل أكثر من الذهاب إلى اليمن ومحاولة التحدث مع الجميع.

صناعة الأسلحة في السويد

في شهر مارس ، معهد ستوكهولم الدولي لأبحاث السلام أصدرت تقريرها السنوي عن مبيعات الأسلحة. وأظهرت أن السويد قد خفضت مبيعاتها من الأسلحة بنسبة 62 في المئة منذ 2009. لا تزال السويد هي أكبر مصدر للأسلحة في العالم من 15 ، لكن هذا بعيد عن المصدرين الرئيسيين (بقيادة الولايات المتحدة).

سفنسكا فريدز، الجماعة السويدية الموقرة المناهضة للحرب ، تقول إن المملكة العربية السعودية تشتري أسلحة سويدية منذ 1998. حدثت مبيعات الأسلحة الرئيسية في السويد إلى المملكة العربية السعودية على مدار العقد الماضي ، بينما كانت السويد تبيع الأسلحة أيضًا إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة. افتتحت شركة تصنيع الأسلحة السويدية "ساب" مكتبًا لها في أبو ظبي في 2017. لا توجد أي إشارة إلى حدوث تباطؤ في علاقة مبيعات الأسلحة هذه.

في أغسطس 13 ، TV4 في السويد وذكرت أن الأسلحة السويدية قد استخدمت في اليمن. في مارس ، علمنا بالفعل أن نظام إدارة الرادار والقتال في صعب Erieye ، وقوارب دوريات سويدي شيب مارين قد استخدمت في اليمن.

السويد ليست وحدها في هذا. تقوم المملكة المتحدة ودول أوروبية أخرى ، وكذلك الولايات المتحدة ، ببيع الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة. ولكن على عكس السويد ، قدم البرلمانيون في إيطاليا والمملكة المتحدة مشاريع قوانين في برلماناتهم بشأن هذه القضية الحساسة والمهمة. لا تحاول المملكة المتحدة أو إيطاليا أن تكون وسيطًا أمينًا في اليمن.

إذا كان يجب أن تؤخذ والستروم والسويد على محمل الجد في اليمن ، فيتعين عليها حظر بيع الأسلحة إلى كل من المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة ، ويتعين على السويد تولي القيادة في أوروبا لإنهاء مبيعات الأسلحة لهاتين القوتين المتحاربتين.

لا يكفي أن نتحرك بالمأساة في اليمن. العمل ضروري. إن رحلة Wallström إلى اليمن جديرة بالثناء ، لكنها ستكون أكثر مصداقية إذا حظرت السويد مبيعات الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة. إضافة إلى ذلك ، يعد هذا مشروعًا أوروبيًا آخر يذكرنا باتفاقيات أوسلو التي جعلت الأوروبيين يشعرون بالرضا في نفس الوقت الذي تعمق فيه مبيعات الأسلحة في أوروبا ظروف المأساة.


هذه المادة أنتجتها رحالة، مشروع معهد الإعلام المستقل.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
فيجاي براشاد

فيجاي براشاد مؤرخ ومحرر وصحفي هندي. وهو زميل الكتابة وكبير المراسلين في رحالةمشروع معهد الإعلام المستقل. هو رئيس تحرير كتب LeftWord ومدير Tricontinental: معهد البحوث الاجتماعية. وقد كتب أكثر من عشرين كتابا ، بما في ذلك الأمم المظلمة: تاريخ شعوب العالم الثالث (The New Press، 2007)، الدول الفقيرة: تاريخ محتمل للجنوب العالمي (فيرسو ، 2013) ، موت الأمة ومستقبل الثورة العربية (مطبعة جامعة كاليفورنيا ، 2016) و النجمة الحمراء على العالم الثالث (LeftWord ، 2017). يكتب بانتظام في Frontline و Hindu و Newsclick و AlterNet و BirGün.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANTI WAR MIDDLE EAST

How Can Sweden Be a Peace Broker for the War in Yemen If It’s Also Selling the Arms That Make It Possible?

End U.S. Involvement in the Saudi War in Yemen protest in Chicago, Illinois. Date: November 30, 2018. Blue backpacks stood for each one of the children killed in a Saudi bombing attack on a school bus in late 2018. They used a 500 pound bomb manufactured by Lockheed-Martin. (Photo: Charles Edward Miller)
End U.S. Involvement in the Saudi War in Yemen protest in Chicago, Illinois. Date: November 30, 2018. Blue backpacks stood for each one of the children killed in a Saudi bombing attack on a school bus in late 2018. They used a 500 pound bomb manufactured by Lockheed-Martin. (Photo: Charles Edward Miller)

It is not enough to be moved by the tragedy in Yemen. Action is necessary.

On September 1, bombers struck Dhamar Community College in Dhamar City, which is in Yemen’s southwest. The college has not enrolled students in many years, and its buildings have been used instead as a prison. On the day of the bombing, the buildings held 185 prisoners. The prison held mostly people who were to be exchanged with the government of Abdrabbuh Mansur Hadi. The Houthi movement, which controls Dhamar, say that they had informed the International Committee of the Red Cross of the prison’s location. The bombers are likely from Saudi Arabia, which has been bombing Yemen since the start of its war in 2015. The Yemen Data Project has found that at least a third of Saudi bombings are of civilian targets.

A spokesman for the Houthi movement’s minister of health, Yusuf al-Hadri, says that there are between 60 and 100 dead. The Saudi aircraft kept hitting the site, making both rescue difficult and the carnage extreme.

When news of the bombing reached Lise Grande, the UN Humanitarian Coordinator in Yemen, she responded that this was a “staggering” and “horrific incident.” “These are very dark times for Yemen,” said Grande, who had spent several years in Iraq where she saw other horrific and staggering incidents. But Yemen is a case apart. It is, as the UN says, the worst humanitarian crisis. A few days before this bombing, Grande had said that the situation in Yemen is “very fragile.” An unbelievable 80 percent of the 28.25 million Yemenis—24.1 million of them—are in dire need of assistance.

For the past four years, the UN officials have said the same things. People like Grande—all deeply sincere—have pleaded for aid for a population holding on to reality with its fingernails. Meanwhile, on the political side, special envoys of the secretary-general like Martin Griffiths call the parties to the table and ask for the resumption of negotiations. After this particular bombing, Griffiths said, “The human cost of this war is unbearable. We need it to stop.”

Stockholm Agreement

In December 2018, the foreign minister of the Hadi government—Khaled al-Yamani—and the Houthis’ senior representative—Mohammed Abdelsalam—shook hands and signed the Stockholm Agreement. Flanking these two men were Sweden’s Foreign Minister Margot Wallström and the UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres.

This was a breakthrough agreement, since it saw some movement on peace talks that had been stalled for many years. The agreement can be understood to be in three parts—an agreement that the crucial Hodeidah port be kept open and not be a point of conflict, an agreement on the creation of humanitarian corridors to allow aid to move from Hodeidah to the interior of Yemen, and an agreement to swap prisoners. The prisoners at Dhamar Community College were part of the prison swap.

The agreement simply had not held. Since December, over 30,000 people have been displaced from Hodeidah, and fighting in the port city has intensified. The promise of the humanitarian corridors has not been met, as more than 5 million Yemenis remain outside the reach of the aid agencies. Good faith between the two sides inside Yemen is limited, while the Saudi-UAE coalition continues to bomb the country. By March 2019, the situation seemed so dangerous that five of the ambassadors to Yemen from five permanent members of the UN Security Council said that they were extremely concerned about the situation. They were not taken seriously.

The politics here are intractable. Saudi Arabia backs the government of Hadi, who is not trusted by the United Arab Emirates—the Saudi ally—because the UAE sees Hadi as part of the Muslim Brotherhood movement (the Brotherhood is banned in the UAE). Saudi Arabia, meanwhile, will not do a deal with the Houthis because it sees them as an Iranian proxy. Furthermore, Saudi Arabia has staked its prestige on this endless war. Neither Hadi nor the Houthis are able to develop a patriotic Yemeni view of the situation and come together against the bombing. The discussion in Sweden, then, had little genuine basis. It was fated to fail.

After this Sunday’s bombing, Sweden’s Foreign Minister Wallström said that she will travel to Yemen and “speak with as many people as possible.” This is valiant. Wallström is an honorable person, whose credentials for both seriousness and balance were affirmed in 2016 when she criticized Israel for its policy of extrajudicial killings. But in this case, Wallström will have to do more than go to Yemen and try to talk to everyone.

Sweden’s Arms Industry

In March, the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute released its annual report on arms sales. It showed that Sweden has reduced its arms sales by 62 percent since 2009. Sweden remains the 15th largest arms exporter in the world, but this is far behind the major exporters (led by the United States).

Svenska Freds, Sweden’s venerable anti-war group, says that Saudi Arabia has been buying Swedish weapons since 1998. Sweden’s main arms sales to Saudi Arabia have occurred over the past decade, while Sweden has also been selling arms to the UAE. Sweden’s arms manufacturer—Saab—opened an office in Abu Dhabi in 2017. There is no sign of a slowdown in this arms sales relationship.

On August 13, TV4 in Sweden reported that Swedish weapons have been used in Yemen. In March, it was already learned that Saab’s radar and combat management system Erieye, and Swede Ship Marine’s patrol boats have been used in Yemen.

Sweden is not alone in this. The UK and other European countries, as well as the United States, have been selling arms to Saudi Arabia and the UAE. But, unlike Sweden, parliamentarians in both Italy and the United Kingdom have tabled bills in their respective parliaments on this sensitive and important issue. Neither the UK nor Italy is attempting to be an honest broker in Yemen.

If Wallström, and Sweden, are to be taken seriously in Yemen, they have to ban the sale of arms to both Saudi Arabia and the UAE, and Sweden has to take leadership in Europe to end arms sales to these two belligerent powers.

It is not enough to be moved by the tragedy in Yemen. Action is necessary. Wallström’s journey to Yemen is commendable, but it would be more credible if Sweden banned weapons sales to Saudi Arabia and the UAE. Short of that, this is another European project reminiscent of the Oslo Accords that made Europeans feel good at the same time as Europe’s weapons sales deepen the conditions of tragedy.


This article was produced by Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Vijay Prashad

Vijay Prashad is an Indian historian, editor and journalist. He is a writing fellow and chief correspondent at Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute. He is the chief editor of LeftWord Books and the director of Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research. He has written more than twenty books, including The Darker Nations: A People’s History of the Third World (The New Press, 2007), The Poorer Nations: A Possible History of the Global South (Verso, 2013), The Death of the Nation and the Future of the Arab Revolution (University of California Press, 2016) and Red Star Over the Third World (LeftWord, 2017). He writes regularly for Frontline, the Hindu, Newsclick, AlterNet and BirGün.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.