输入搜索

精选 国家

访谈:在美墨边境担任EMT

人们聚集在墨西哥和美国之间的边界围栏的美国一侧,在美国总统唐纳德特朗普的边界墙上,在墨西哥Ciudad Juarez,26,2019。 路透社/ Jose Luis Gonzalez  -  /文件照片
人们聚集在墨西哥和美国之间的边界围栏的美国一侧,在美国总统唐纳德特朗普的边界墙上,在墨西哥Ciudad Juarez,26,2019。 路透社/ Jose Luis Gonzalez - /文件照片

“我们在边境的政策和这种军事化,建立围栏,他们并没有从特朗普开始。 这是奥巴马政府早些时候继续推行的许多政策......布什和克林顿。“

Citizen Truth很高兴与Ieva Jusionyte交谈,他在亚利桑那州Nogales边境地区做了一年多的志愿服务。 Jusionyte还是哈佛大学人类学和社会研究的助理教授,也是哈佛大学的作者 门槛:美墨边境的紧急救援人员, 详细介绍了她作为边境护理人员的经历以及边境社区和边境生活的复杂性。

Ieva Jusionyte在她的边境救援项目的个人资料照片中担任主要调查员。 (图片:边境救援项目)

Ieva Jusionyte在她的边境救援项目的个人资料照片中担任主要调查员。 (图片:边境救援项目)

Jusionyte独特的学术专长和她作为EMT所花费的时间的组合 在一个不断升级的边界紧张局势的世界中,当我们看到越来越多的军事化和我们的南部边界被定罪时,这是一个引人注目的重要读物。

在下面享受我们的部分采访,您还可以观看我们的完整采访 YouTube频道.

今天我们和Ieva Jusionyte谈话,你是哈佛大学的人类学教授。 另外,你刚刚写了一本书 美墨边境的门槛紧急救援人员。 但我也发现你写了一本关于阿根廷边境的书,对吧? 你对边界特别感兴趣吗?

我认同。 我一直对美墨边境感兴趣。 当我做论文研究时,我无法前往美墨边境。 我刚刚研究了记者以及他们如何报道暴力事件,所以我正在寻找另一个领域来提出同样的问题。 但我认为来自立陶宛,这就是为什么我对两者之间的社会如此感兴趣的部分原因。 我们的立陶宛历史总是在东西方之间,它们是我们所属的不同国家。 因此,我对这种空间和政治共同体的分裂非常感兴趣。

你在那里感受到了什么? 它是否像一种充满敌意或接受的好斗区域? 显然,有很多不同的社区。

我认为你可以感受到该地区联邦安全执法的这种沉重存在以及建立检查站的人,这些都是边境巡逻人员,他们通常不会来自该地区。 他们从国家的其他地方轮流,他们住在社区,但时间很短。

当地人,无论是牧场主或紧急救援人员,还是当地企业主,他们对是否需要保护边境有不同的看法。 有人说是,有些人说不。

好吧,检查站周围发生了很多激进行动,很多抗议活动。 墨西哥国籍,血统或双重公民在通过检查站时会引起怀疑的人有很多情况。 你知道,即使是与我合作过的紧急救援人员,也经常受到质疑,因为边境巡逻人员在边境的第一个星期可能无法理解,这就是社区的组成。

除了边境巡逻人员,那里发生了什么,还有这些志愿民兵搬到了该地区......是的,他们将法律掌握在自己手中,他们的存在也非常复杂。 很多当地人不想要他们,但其他一些人对他们没有好感。

边境地区就像其他地方一样。 人们对它有不同的看法,但他们,他们真的每天都在生活。

我问你,你为什么要下楼? 你从人类学的角度看待什么?

所以,你知道,我们说边界需要得到保障,我们需要建造一堵墙,我们需要派出更多的边境巡逻人员到线,我们需要所有这些监视技术。 但对于居住在这些边境社区的人来说,他们感觉更安全吗? 所有这些安全构建发生时,他们是否感觉不太安全?

作为紧急救援人员并与紧急救援人员合作,我认为这是一个非常好的方法或理解问题的接入点,因为紧急救援人员在最糟糕的情况下 - 无论是心脏病发作还是脱水的移民穿过边界,无论是火灾还是洪水,他们都是在人们以最切实的方式不安全或不安全的情况下存在的。

同样因为紧急救援人员,他们就是这个非常矛盾的角色。 一方面,他们为政府工作。 他们为当地政府工作......自从9-11以来,许多急救部门,以及消防救援部门已经融入国际准备系统......任务已经转移了一点点,如果他们有潜在的恐怖袭击来到边境,并试图潜入化学武器或类似的东西。

但另一方面,他们也是医疗专业人士,因此他们的主要职责是帮助人们,无论他们的法律地位,国籍,犯罪背景如何。 所以,他们有这种人道主义的需要来帮助任何人和每个人。 与此同时,他们为执行这些法律的政府工作 - 这会伤害一些人。 因此,我认为这也有助于人类学家展示当前矛盾的国家进程。

那么你发现了什么? 您是否认为当地社区在拥有强大的边境存在或加强边境,建造更大的隔离墙,投入更多资金以进行更多监视等方面感觉更安全?

不,这并不奇怪。 安全,军事化显然对两个社区之间在紧急情况下相互依赖的社会关系产生了负面影响。

因此,有些情况下,来自墨西哥的紧急救援人员必须来美国帮助解决大火问题,反之亦然。 当这些加工厂或装配厂中存在大量危险材料事件时,美国工业生产大量部件,然后美国人提供培训,提供设备。

因此,这种合作受到了修辞的影响,而不是受到修辞的影响,而是受到对景观的非常重要的干预。 像边界围栏一样,第一响应者习惯于通过边界围栏传递firehoses,但随着围栏越来越大或墙壁越来越大,现在这个网格甚至不允许软管穿过边界围栏中的空隙,这变得更加困难。

紧急救援人员更难以获得签证进入美国,这是他们过去常做的事情。 为了帮助,为美国紧急救援人员提供人力资源。 此外,他们是墨西哥这些较大社区的成员,然后是美国,即使是修辞或话语,更大的政策,也被驱散。

当你谈到紧急救援人员时,对我而言,它描绘了这两个社区实际上是如此交织在一起并相互合作然后这个边界的图片,那么我们所做的军事化就一直在分裂它 - 这实际上创造了更多的问题,而不是原来的社区一起工作得很好。

是的,这是绝对正确的......所以这些社区是相互联系的...社区通过工作,学校,商业社会联系在一起。 在亚利桑那州南部的许多城镇,他们没有房产税,所以他们靠销售税生活,很多购物都是由墨西哥购物者完成的。 甚至,即使是在某种程度上需要纳税人钱的市政服务也依赖于这种跨境运动。

与此同时,它也是基础设施。 水,甚至污水,墨西哥的污水,这些隧道大部分进入美国的处理厂。 有谈判创造双向电网。 空气污染是另一个大问题。 卡车必须等待检查才能进入美国。 他们在那里闲置了几个小时,这使得空气污染比几年前更糟。

边境巡逻队在隧道内建造了这些障碍物。 由于景观,墨西哥是上坡,逆风和美国上游。 因此,当下雨时,例如,水涌向亚利桑那州,他们将这些障碍物安装在隧道中,水需要通过这些障碍物形成一个塞子,最终爆炸或导致墨西哥街道爆炸,淹没了该镇的一部分。

所以它非常......它是一个环境,而空气,水,火并不认为这些政治边界是相关的。 住在那里的人也依赖于这种共同的理解,即我们必须将这个空间视为一体,而且还有一些非常好的努力。 EPA环境保护局一直与墨西哥同行合作,并试图找到边境地区环境紧急情况的解决方案。 边界区被理解为边界南北数百公里。 因此,我们必须将其视为一个区域 - 双方培训和装备应急响应者,并找到跨越这些国家管辖区的空气污染,水污染的政策解决方案。

你是否认为有一个地方需要讨论如何解决移民问题和问题? ......而不仅仅是假装没有问题?

哇,这是一个你可以写几本书的问题。

就目前与寻求庇护者的情况而言,这实际上与边界墙无关,因为这些人来到并要求在入境口岸寻求庇护,或者他们在越过边境时立即出现,他们不是甚至试图逃避当局。

但是边界墙是,它在政治上的市场营销主要是为了阻止非法毒品进入该国并防止人们未经许可进入该国。 这对两者都适得其反。

对于毒品而言,大多数都是通过入境口岸进入,隐藏在车辆中,或者是通过非常偏远的地区或者使用弹射器或通过隧道为人民发射 - 它发生的情况类似。 过去未经批准的移民 - 不是现在的寻求庇护者,而是过去来这里工作的人,他们甚至没有试图寻求庇护 - 他们中的很多人不得不付出很多。 有组织犯罪集团收取大笔费用,他们将控制沙漠中偏远地区的这些偏远地区,这些地区有几天的旅行时间可以到达这些地区。 因此,它几乎帮助我们执行边境,帮助增加,巩固和资助墨西哥的有组织犯罪。 所以我认为这会适得其反。

所以他们建立了一个努力绕过边境的行业。 因此,当你看到这个时,你继续前进,你让边界更大,你只是在加强已经在那里努力绕过边境的行业?

究竟。 因为没有......激励,动机没有改变。 所以它只会使它更有利可图,而且成本更高,取决于你是谁。

......有些国家对如何接纳移民以及如何给予移民有不同的政策,无论是临时工作许可还是永久地位。 而这正是许多解决方案必须来自的地方。 当然,对于目前的寻求庇护者来说,有很多推动因素和中美洲国家让他们想要逃离。

但是我们的移民系统也存在一些非常复杂的问题,可以通过临时季节性工作许可或家庭等政策找到解决方案,不同的家庭团聚计划,或者有时也因为......好吧,我真的不想进入那个因为移民法不是我的专长。 但是有一些非常奇怪的规则让人们等待10年,例如,让你的配偶从墨西哥到美国 - 这可以变得更简单。 它还将激励更多的人成为季节性劳动者,就像过去一样,在各国之间来回走动。

现在很多人早些来到这里,他们被困住是因为他们知道如果他们需要来一个建筑工作,然后回到他们的祖国,再过一次是多么困难......现在他们知道了他们无法回到美国,所以他们中的更多人都有动力留在这里。 而且,这与增加边界墙的高度无关。

您是否看过媒体在美墨边境的角色?

我没有特别研究它,但是当我在边境时,我和记者一起做了很多工作,现在我的书出来了。 我非常感兴趣的是我们如何谈论它,哪些问题得到了预见,我们如何将边界描绘成这个危机和不安全的地方。

我认为现在有很多好的新闻报道,人们真正关心的是 - 当地社区如何体验这种军事化或加剧对边界危机的言论? 但是你越往常离边境越远,你对它的了解就越少,你因害怕恐惧而受到的影响就越大。 我认为媒体有一个非常大的责任,就是不给予这一点,而不仅仅是为了加强人们对双方通常过于简单化的理解。

你知道,正如你所说,这不是......我们在边境的政策以及这种军事化和建筑围栏,他们并不是从特朗普开始的。 就是这样,很多政策在很久以前就已经从奥巴马政府继续 - 布什和克林顿。 这是我们政治机构数十年来一直在做的事情的一部分。

是的,有来自全国或跨境的毒品。 但同样,原因是因为美国有很高的需求。 因此,也许我们应该解决成瘾问题,并将其视为公共健康,而不一定是通过执法镜头。 因此,我认为这些是非常非常重要的对话,并不总是很容易放入简单而简短的叙述中。

谢谢。 感谢您在这里写下这本书的经历 , 我们将包含一个链接。 人们可以看看。 我希望能听到你的更多信息。 因此,我会尽量保持联系,因为我认为你所做的事情是非常有趣和重要的。 所以谢谢。

谢谢。 让我们保持联系。 照顾自己。


*请注意,为了清晰起见,此录音已经从视频版本进行了编辑。 看看我们的 视频访谈 Ieva Jusionyte在我们的YouTube频道上,您可以在其中享受我们的其余谈话和洞察力。

门槛:美墨边境的紧急救援人员 可以通过 加州大学出版社亚马逊.

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

FEATURED NATIONAL

Interview: Working as an EMT at the US-Mexico Border

People gather on the U.S. side of the border fence between Mexico and the United States during an inter-religious service against U.S. President Donald Trump's border wall, in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico February 26, 2019. REUTERS/Jose Luis Gonzalez -/File Photo
People gather on the U.S. side of the border fence between Mexico and the United States during an inter-religious service against U.S. President Donald Trump's border wall, in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico February 26, 2019. REUTERS/Jose Luis Gonzalez -/File Photo

“The policies we have at the border and this militarization, building fences, they didn’t start with Trump. This is a lot of the policies have continued from the Obama administration much earlier… Bush and Clinton.”

Citizen Truth had the pleasure of speaking with Ieva Jusionyte who spent over a year volunteering as an EMT at the Nogales, Arizona border area. Jusionyte is also an assistant professor of Anthropology and Social Studies at Harvard University and the author of Threshold: Emergency Responders on the U.S.-Mexico Border, which details her experience as a paramedic at the border and the complexities of border communities and border life.

Ieva Jusionyte in her profile photo for the Border Rescue Project where she acts as the principal investigator. (Photo: Border Rescue Project)

Ieva Jusionyte in her profile photo for the Border Rescue Project where she acts as the principal investigator. (Photo: Border Rescue Project)

Jusionyte’s unique combination of academic expertise and her time spent as an EMT make Threshold a compelling and important read in a world of escalating border tensions and as we watch the increasing militarization and criminalization of our southern border.

Enjoy portions of our interview below, you can also watch the full interview on our YouTube channel.

Today we’re talking to Ieva Jusionyte and you are a professor of anthropology at Harvard. Also, you just wrote a book called Threshold Emergency Responders on the US-Mexico Border. But I also found out that you wrote a book about the border in Argentina, right? Do you have a particular interest in borders?

I think so. I have always been interested in the U.S.-Mexico border. When I was doing my dissertation research, I couldn’t go to the U.S.-Mexico border. I just studied journalists and how they report on violence, so I was looking for another area to ask those same questions. But I think coming from Lithuania, that’s part of the reason why I’m so interested in societies that are in between. Our Lithuanian history was always way between the east and the west and they were different countries that we were part of. So I was very intrigued by this division of space and political community.

What was your experience in terms of the feeling down there? Does it feel like a kind of combative area, with hostility or acceptance? Obviously, there’s a lot of different communities. 

I think you can feel this heavy presence of federal security enforcement in the region and the people who erect the checkpoints are, these are border patrol agents, they usually not from the area. They are rotated from other parts of the country and they live in the community, but for a very short time.

Whereas locals, were they ranchers or emergency responders or local business owners, they have different opinions of whether this is needed to secure the border or not. Some say yes, some say no.

Well, there was a lot of activism going on around the checkpoints, a lot of protest. There’s a lot of profiling going on for people who are either of Mexican nationality, descent, or dual citizens who raise suspicion when they go through checkpoints. Even the emergency responders I worked with were often, you know, questioned just because border patrol agents couldn’t understand maybe in their first weeks at the border that this is the composition of the community right here.

In addition to the border patrol agents, what’s happening there, there are also these volunteer militiamen who moved to the area and… yes, they are taking the law into their own hands and their presence is also very complicated. A lot of local people don’t want them, but some others are okay with them.

So borderlands are like anywhere else. People have different opinions on it, but they, they really live it daily.

Let me ask you, why did you want to go down? What were you looking at from the anthropology perspective?

So, you know, we say that the border needs to be secured, we need to build a wall, we need to send more border patrol agents to the line, we need all this technology of surveillance. But for people who live in these border communities, do they feel more secure? Do they feel less secure when all of this security build-up happens?

And being an emergency responder and working with emergency responders, I thought that’s a very good approach or an access point to understand the issue because emergency responders are there in the worst situations – whether it’s a heart attack or whether it’s a dehydrated migrant going across the border, whether it’s a fire or a flood, they, they are there when people are unsafe or insecure in the most tangible ways.

Also because emergency responders, they are this very contradictory role. On the one hand, they work for the government. They work for the local government… and since 9-11, a lot of emergency departments, so fire-rescue departments, have been integrated into the international preparedness system… the mission has been shifted a little bit to also include potential terrorist attacks if they come across the border and tried to sneak in chemical weapons or something like that.

But on the other hand, they are also medical professionals, so their primary responsibilities to help people regardless of their legal status, nationality, criminal background. So, so they have this humanitarian imperative to help anyone and everyone. And at the same time, they work for the government that’s enforcing these laws – that hurts some people. So I thought that’s also will be helpful for an anthropologist to show how contradictory state processes are on the ground.

So what did you find? Did you think that the local community felt more secure with a strong border presence or strengthening the border, building a bigger wall, putting in more money for more surveillance or so on?

No. And it wasn’t very surprising. The security, the militarization clearly has a negative impact on the social ties between the two communities that depend on each other in an emergency.

So there are situations when emergency responders from Mexico have to come to the United States to help with large fires for example and vice versa. When there are big hazardous materials incidents in these maquiladoras or assembly plants that are producing a lot of components for American industry then the Americans provide training, provided equipment.

So there is this collaboration which is being hurt by, not so much by the rhetoric, but by the very material interventions into the landscape. Like the border fence, first responders were used to passing firehoses across the border fence, but as the fence gets or the wall gets bigger and there is now this mesh that doesn’t even allow to pass the hose through the gaps in the border fence, that becomes more difficult.

It’s more difficult for emergency responders to get visas to cross into the United States, which they used to do all the time. To help with, to provide manpower for the U.S. emergency responders. In addition, they are members of these larger communities in Mexico and then the United States which even the rhetoric or the discourse, the bigger policies, are being driven apart.

When you talk about the emergency responders, to me it paints a picture of these two communities actually being very kind of intertwined and working with each other and then this border, then the militarization that we do just keeps kind of dividing it – which actually creates more problems rather than the original community that worked well together.

Yes, that’s absolutely correct… So these communities are connected… the communities are connected socially through work, through school, through business. A lot of towns in southern Arizona, they don’t have property taxes, so they live off sales taxes and a lot of shopping is done by Mexican shoppers. So even, even municipal services that needs taxpayer money in a way depend on this cross border movement.

At the same time, it’s also infrastructure. The water, even the sewage, the sewage from Mexico, most of these tunnel into the United States to treatment plants. There are talks to create binational electric grids. Air pollution is another big issue. In a way which is caused by very long lines that trucks have to wait at inspections to get into the United States. They idle there for hours and that makes air pollution worse than a few years ago.

And the border patrol built these barriers inside the tunnels. Because of the landscape, Mexico is uphill, upwind and upstream from the United States. So when it rains, for example, the water rushes towards Arizona and they install these barriers in the tunnels that the water needs to go through creating a plug which ended up exploding or causing explosions in the streets in Mexico, inundating part of the town.

So it’s very… it’s one environment, and air, water, fire doesn’t see these political boundaries as relevant. And people who live there also depend on this shared understanding that we have to think of this space as one and there are some really nice efforts going on. The EPA, Environmental Protection Agency, has been working with their Mexican counterparts and trying to find solutions to environmental emergencies in the border zone. And the border zone is understood as hundreds of kilometers north and south of the boundary. So we’d have to really think about it as one region – train and equip emergency responders on both sides and find policy solutions to air pollution, water pollution that cross these national jurisdictions.

Do you think there is a place where there does need to be a discussion about what to do in terms of addressing immigration and the problem? …Rather than just pretending that there isn’t a problem?

Whoa, it’s a question you can write several books about that.

In terms of the current situation with asylum seekers, this has really nothing to do with the border wall because these people are coming and asking for asylum at ports of entry or they’re presenting themselves as soon as they cross the border, they are not even trying to evade authorities.

But the border wall was, it’s politically marketed primarily to stop illegal drugs from getting into the country and from preventing unauthorized entry by people into the country. And it’s been counterproductive for both.

For drugs, most of them come through the ports of entry anyways, hidden in the vehicles or they are being taken through very remote areas or launched using catapults or taken through tunnels for the people – it happens similarly. Unauthorized migrants that used to come – not the current asylum seekers, but people who used to come here for work and they didn’t even try to ask asylum – a lot of them had to pay a lot. Big fees to organized crime groups who would control these more remote areas in the desert where there are several days of travel to reach those areas. So it helped almost in our enforcement of the border, helped increase, solidify, and fund organized crime in Mexico. So that’s very counterproductive I think.

So they’ve kind of built up an industry of working to get around the border. And so when you look at this, you go on and you make the border bigger, you’re just reinforcing the industry that’s already there working to get around the border?

Exactly. Because there is no… the incentives, the motivations haven’t changed. So it only makes it more profitable, and more costly depending on who you are.

…there are countries that have different policies for how to admit immigrants and how to give them, whether it’s temporary work permit or permanent status. And this is where a lot of solutions have to come from. Definitely, for current asylum seekers, there are a lot of push factors and Central American countries that make them want to flee.

But there are also issues with our immigration system that’s very complicated and solutions can be found through policy such as temporary seasonal work permits or family, different family reunification programs or sometimes because of… well, I really don’t want to go into that because immigration law is not my expertise. But there are some very strange rules that make people, make them wait for 10 years, for example, to bring your spouse from Mexico to the United States – which could be made simpler. And it will also motivate more people to be seasonal laborers, like they used to be, go back and forth between the countries.

Now a lot of people who came here earlier, they are stuck because they know how difficult it would be to cross again if they needed to come, you know, to get a construction job and then go back to their home country… Now they know they couldn’t come back to the U.S., so more of them are motivated to stay here. And again, this has nothing to do with increasing the heights of the border wall.

Have you looked at the media’s role in the U.S.-Mexico border?

I didn’t study it specifically, but I’ve worked a lot with journalists obviously both while I was at the border and now that my book came out. I’m very interested in how we talk about it, what problems get foregrounded, how we portray the border as this place of crisis and insecurity.

I think there is a lot of good journalism being done now, where people really care – how do the local communities experience this militarization or intensification of rhetoric about the border crisis? But too often the further you are from the border, the less you know about it and the more you are affected for fear by fearmongering. I think media has a very big responsibility of not giving to that, not make headlines only that reinforce people’s very often simplistic understandings on both sides.

You know, as you say, it’s not… the policies we have at the border and this militarization and building fences, they didn’t start with Trump. This is, a lot of the policies have continued from the Obama administration, much earlier – Bush and Clinton. This is part of what our political establishment has been doing for many decades.

And yes, there are drugs coming across the country or across the border. But again, the reason is because there is high demand in the United States. So maybe we should address the problem of addiction and look at it as public health and not necessarily through an enforcement lens. So I think these are very, very important conversations, that are not always easy to put in a simple and short narrative.

Thank you. Thank you for your experience going down there and writing the book Threshold, we’ll include a link to it. People can check it out. I hope to hear more from you. So I’ll try to keep in touch because I think what you’re doing is fascinating and important. So thank you.

Thank you. Let’s, let’s keep in touch. Take care.


*Note this transcript has been edited from the video version for clarity. Check out our video interview with Ieva Jusionyte on our YouTube channel, where you can enjoy the rest of our conversation and her insight.

Threshold: Emergency Responders on the U.S.-Mexico Border is available via the University of California Press and on Amazon.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.