输入搜索

反战 亚太

上周特朗普 - 金峰会的关键时刻和乐观情绪

特朗普总统访问越南
朝鲜民主主义人民共和国国家事务委员会主席唐纳德·J·特朗普和金正恩在河内索菲特传奇大都会酒店举行社交晚宴,2月27,2019,他们举行了第二次峰会。 (白宫官方摄影:Joyce N. Boghosian)

特朗普与金正恩之间的无核化谈判因放宽对朝鲜的制裁而突然崩溃,但未来的谈判并未失去所有希望。

上周四,唐纳德特朗普总统与朝鲜同行金正恩在越南河内举行的第二次会晤结束时没有任何朝向朝鲜无核化的正式迹象。 然而,峰会期间有一些关键时刻,有些人希望未来仍有进展。

越南发生了什么?

在特朗普与金正恩在新加坡举行的首次会晤中,Jong-un表示愿意终止朝鲜宁边核电站的所有活动,因为所有对朝鲜的国际制裁都被取消。 这成为上周特朗普和Jong-un举行的第二次会议的关键点。

“这是关于制裁。 基本上,他们希望完全取消制裁,但我们不能这样做,“ 川普酒店 说过 在峰会后的新闻发布会上。

峰会的确切性质尚不清楚,因为双方都指责对方。 但是,制裁将被取消的程度以及何时显然是一个有争议的问题。 纽约时报 还报道说特朗普首次透露他的政府是否知道除了宁边以外的第二个浓缩网站,尽管在谈判中发挥的程度尚不清楚。

越南的关键时刻

Jong-un直接与外国记者交谈

Kim Jong-un首次回答外国记者的提问,让所有人感到惊讶。 观看下面视频中的交流。

向金正恩提出的第一个问题之一就是他是否愿意将Jong-un回应的无核化,“如果我不愿意这样做,我现在就不会在这里。”

没有午餐,没有交易

共享晚餐后,特朗普和Jong-un突然离开索菲特传奇大都会河内酒店而没有用餐计划的午餐时,峰会突然结束。 菜单上有雪鱼,鹅肝和蜜饯,但空盘子上传出了一个不祥的信息:没有午餐,没有交易。

“取消真的是最后一分钟。 一切都准备好了,“酒店的两个消息来源之一告诉他们 路透社。

Jong-Un的神秘妹妹

很多人猜测金正恩的妹妹金尧钟在河内访问期间陪伴着她的哥哥姐姐。 当她潜伏在她的兄弟和特朗普总统身边时,Yo Jong经常被拍到背景镜头。

Yo Jong是朝鲜工人党宣传和信息部主任,她在哥哥和特朗普 - 金正峰会期间的存在被视为她对朝鲜政权重要性的一个标志。

白宫限制新闻访问

在峰会的第一天,一位记者问特朗普关于他的前律师迈克尔科恩,他在国会作证时特朗普在越南,并说他的前任老板是个骗子,欺骗者和种族主义者。 特朗普忽略了这个问题,但并没有被忽视。

不到一个小时后, 白宫禁止几名记者报道下一次媒体活动 在河内,这一决定引发了白宫记者的抗议。

白宫记者协会抨击了这一意想不到的决定,称这是一个“反复无常的决定”,并且是“最后一刻限制覆盖范围的任意限制”背后的撤退。

根据华尔街日报的Vivian Salama的说法,由于会议的高度敏感性,白宫女发言人Sarah Huckabee Sanders限制了新闻访问。

回到家后,特朗普指责他的前律师在科恩在国会面前的证词后破坏了河内会议。

奥托Warmbier

令人争议的是,特朗普说他接受了Jong-un的说法,即朝鲜领导人在朝鲜拘留期间并不了解这位年轻的美国奥托战士的处理情况。 Warmbier是一名21岁的弗吉尼亚大学学生,因涉嫌诽谤宣传海报而在朝鲜2016被捕。 Warmbier在朝鲜拘留期间陷入昏迷,并在6月2017返回美国后不久死亡

“我不相信他知道这件事,” 特朗普说 上周在越南举行的峰会之后,金正日被削减了。 “他告诉我他不知道这件事,我会接受他的话。”

特朗普还评论说,Jong-un对这一事件感到“非常不满”。 后来特朗普回过头来,声称自己被误解了,事实上,他确实指责朝鲜因为Warmbier的死而受到指责。

“我当然要让朝鲜对奥托的虐待和死亡负责。”

“我爱奥托,经常想起他!”特朗普说。

失败的谈判应该归咎于谁?

在峰会结束几个小时后,特朗普打电话给韩国人说他很遗憾没有达成无核化协议。 然而,正如韩国总统府在一份声明中所说,特朗普仍致力于通过对话解决问题。

特朗普公开声称朝鲜坚持要求终止所有制裁,这是美国不能同意的一个词。

朝鲜外交部长李永浩表示,朝鲜声称已准备好提出切合实际的建议,但特朗普拒绝接受。 这位部长补充说,平壤只是在寻求部分取消禁运,这与美国所说的相反。

Ri补充说,他的一方愿意拆除其宁边核电站,但未指明拆除核设施的准备工作。

在越南特朗普 - 金峰会之后会发生什么?

虽然有些人在特朗普离开峰会时很快就指着特朗普,但其他人支持特朗普拒绝屈服于Jong-un不可接受的要求的决定。

“没有协议比糟糕的协议更好,” Chun Yung-woo说曾担任朝鲜半岛未来论坛主席的前谈判代表。

前国务院官员David Kim,专门研究东亚和防扩散,他告诉VOX,峰会没有产生任何赢家,但他补充说,两位领导人仍然致力于和平进程 - 正如Jong-Un声明他不会测试导弹和​​特朗普愿意停止朝鲜半岛的军事演习。

“特朗普说,他将继续停止朝鲜半岛的联合军事演习,这对朝鲜一直是一种冒犯性的举动。 在缓和期间,我认为停止真正针对朝鲜的进攻性军事演习是有道理的,“ 金说。

尽管取得了令人失望的结果,但朝鲜国有新闻机构朝中社报道说,Jong-un愿意与特朗普保持沟通,并承诺会有更多即将举行的会谈。 朝鲜中央通讯社的报告与朝鲜外交部副部长崔颂辉的一份声明相矛盾,他说,在不久的将来,Jong-un已经失去了对达成协议的热情。

在飞回华盛顿之前,特朗普在越南会议上发挥了自己的积极作用。

“这不像你起床走出去一样,”他说。 “不,这非常友好。 我们握了握手。“

“我们有一种温暖,我希望留下来,”他补充道。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANTI WAR ASIA/PACIFIC

Key Moments and Some Optimism From Last Week’s Trump-Kim Summit

President Trump's Trip to Vietnam
President Donald J. Trump and Kim Jong Un, Chairman of the State Affairs Commission of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea meet for a social dinner Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2019, at the Sofitel Legend Metropole hotel in Hanoi, for their second summit meeting. (Official White House Photo by Joyce N. Boghosian)

Denuclearization talks between Trump and Kim Jong-un abruptly fell apart over the easing of sanctions on North Korea, but not all hope is lost for future talks.

Last Thursday the second meeting between President Donald Trump and his North Korean counterpart Kim Jong-un in Hanoi, Vietnam ended without any formal signs of progress towards the denuclearization of North Korea. However, there were some key moments during the summit and some hope that progress could still be made in the future.

What Happened in Vietnam?

In the first meeting between Trump and Kim Jong-un in Singapore, Jong-un expressed his willingness to terminate all activities at the North Korean Yongbyon nuclear site as long all international sanctions against North Korea were removed. This became the sticking point at the second meeting between Trump and Jong-un held last week.

“It was about the sanctions. Basically, they wanted the sanctions lifted in their entirety, but we couldn’t do that, “ Trump said in a press conference after the summit.

The exact nature of the breakdown at the summit was unclear as both sides blamed the other. However, the extent to which sanctions would be removed and when was clearly a contentious issue. The New York Times also reported that Trump revealed for the first time his administration was aware of a second enrichment site other than Yongbyon, though to what extent that played in the negotiations is unclear.

Key Moments in Vietnam

Jong-un Speaks Directly to Foreign Journalists 

Kim Jong-un surprised everyone by answering questions from foreign journalists for the first time. Watch the exchange in the video below.

One of the first questions posed to Kim Jong-un was whether he was willing to denuclearize which Jong-un responded, “If I’m not willing to do that, I won’t be here right now.”

No Lunch, No Deal 

After a shared dinner, the summit came to an abrupt end when Trump and Jong-un suddenly left the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel without dining on their planned lunch. On the menu was snow fish, foie gras, and candied ginseng, but the empty plates gave an ominous message: no lunch, no deal.

“The cancellation was really last minute. Everything was ready,” one of two sources in the hotel told Reuters.

Jong-Un’s Mysterious Sister

Much speculation was made of Kim Jong-un’s younger sister, Kim Yo Jong, who accompanied her older sibling during the Hanoi visit. Yo Jong was often caught on a camera in background shots as she lurked around her brother and President Trump.

Yo Jong is the director of North Korea’s Publicity and Information Department of the Workers’ Party of Korea and her presence around her brother and during the Trump-Kim summit is seen as a sign of her importance to the North Korean regime.

The White House Restricts Press Access

On the first day of the summit, a journalist asked Trump about his ex-lawyer Michael Cohen who testified before Congress while Trump was in Vietnam and said that his former boss was a liar, cheat and a racist. Trump ignored the question but it did not go unnoticed.

Less than an hour later, the White House banned several journalists from covering the next media event in Hanoi, a decision that sparked protests from White House-based correspondents.

The White House Correspondents’ Association slammed the unexpected decision, calling it a “capricious decision” and a retreat behind “arbitrary last-minute restrictions on coverage.”

According to Vivian Salama from the Wall Street Journal, White House spokeswoman Sarah Huckabee Sanders restricted press access due to the highly sensitive nature of the meetings.

After returning home, Trump blamed his ex-lawyer for ruining the Hanoi meeting following Cohen’s testimony before the Congress.

Otto Warmbier 

To much controversy, Trump said he took Jong-un at his word that the North Korean leader did not know about the handling of the young American Otto Warmbier while in North Korean custody. Warmbier was a 21-year-old University of Virginia student when he was arrested in 2016 in North Korea for allegedly defaming a propaganda poster. Warmbier fell into a coma while in North Korean custody and died in June 2017 shortly after he was returned to the U.S.

“I don’t believe he knew about it,” Trump said of Kim last week after their summit in Vietnam was cut short. “He tells me that he didn’t know about it and I will take him at his word.”

Trump also commented that Jong-un felt “badly about” the incident. Later Trump walked back his comments by claiming that he was misunderstood and that he did, in fact, blame North Korea for Warmbier’s death.

“Of course I hold North Korea responsible for Otto’s mistreatment and death.”

“I love Otto and think of him often!” Trump said.

Who’s to blame for the failed talks?

A few hours after the summit ended, Trump called South Korean to say that he regretted he did not reach an agreement on denuclearization. However, Trump is still committed to solving the issue through dialogue, as the South Korean Presidential Palace said in a statement.

Trump publicly claimed North Korea was insisting on an end to all sanctions, a term the U.S. could not agree to.

North Korea claimed it was ready with a realistic proposal, but Trump rejected it, said North Korean Foreign Minister Ri Yong Ho. The minister added that Pyongyang was only seeking a partial lifting of the embargo, a statement contrary to what the U.S. said.

Ri added that his side is willing to demolish its Yongbyon nuclear complex, without specifying the preparations for dismantling the nuclear facility.

What’s Next After the Vietnam Trump-Kim summit?

While some were quick to point fingers at Trump when he walked away from the summit, others supported Trump’s decision for refusing to bow to Jong-un’s unacceptable demands.

“No agreement is better than a bad agreement,” said Chun Yung-woo, a former negotiator who currently chairs the Korean Peninsula Future Forum.

David Kim, a former State Department official, specializing in East Asia and nonproliferation, told VOX that the summit produced no winners, but added that both leaders are still committed to the peace process — as reflected by Jong-Un’s statement that he will not test missiles and Trump’s willingness to stop military exercises on the Korean Peninsula.

“Trump said he’ll continue to stop joint military exercises on the Korean peninsula, which to North Korea has always been an offensive gesture. In a period of detente, I think it makes sense to stop offensive military exercises that’s really aimed at North Korea but also China,” Kim said.

Despite the disappointing results, North Korea’s state-owned news agency KCNA reported that Jong-un is willing to maintain communication with Trump and promised more upcoming talks. The KCNA report contradicted a statement from North Korea’s Deputy Foreign Minister Choe Son-hui who said Jong-un had lost enthusiasm for making an agreement in the near future.

Before flying back to Washington Trump put his own positive spin on the Vietnam meeting.

“This wasn’t a walkaway like you get up and walk out,” he said. “No, this was very friendly. We shook hands.”

“There’s a warmth that we have and I hope that stays,” he added.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.