输入搜索

亚太

实际上在惊喜特朗普 - 金DMZ峰会上发生了什么

特朗普总统和金正恩在即兴会议上与韩国DMZ握手。
特朗普总统和金正恩在即兴会议上与韩国DMZ握手。 (图片:YouTube截图)

“我们今天所做的是迈出了一步,可能是朝着正确方向迈出的一步。”

在参加了在日本大阪举行的G-20峰会之后,唐纳德·特朗普总统突然访问了与朝鲜领导人金正恩在非军事区(DMZ)会晤,该地区分离了朝鲜和韩国。

在特朗普通过推文邀请金某会见之后,两位领导人之间的意外会面开始了。

在这次会议上,73岁的总统已成为第一位跨越DMZ的总统。 这一历史性时刻发生在特朗普进入朝鲜并与36岁的领导人握手时。 然后两人走向韩国首尔并停下来拍照,然后他们与他们的韩国同行Moon Jae-in一起。

特朗普表示,他为跨越国界感到自豪,称会议“精彩”。

“站在朝鲜的土地上,这是对所有人的重要声明,也是一种极大的荣誉!” 特朗普啾啾。

虽然金正日评论说,他与特朗普的非凡关系将使两个对手克服障碍。 非军事区“首脑会议”是新西兰政府在去年2月在越南河内因无核化条款和制裁问题达成分歧后在新西兰国家联盟内举行的第二次会议。 这是特朗普和金的第三次会议,第一次谈话是在新加坡6月2019。

“这具有很大的意义,因为这意味着我们希望结束令人不快的过去并尝试创造一个新的未来。 所以这是一个非常勇敢和坚定的行为,“ 金告诉记者。

特朗普告诉记者,金被邀请随时访问白宫。

“我曾经说过,任何时候他都想这么做,”特朗普在修改了之前的一份声明后表示,金正日可以“在时机成熟时”访问白宫。

特朗普和金正准备谈判

在位于非军事区南部的韩朝自由之家举行的新闻发布会上,特朗普表示他和他的朝鲜同行已经同意在河内会议结束后重新启动无核化谈判,但没有取得任何进展。

总统补充说,他的团队将在未来两三周内开始工作并就此问题举行会议,但他向他保证,他并不急于达成协议。

特朗普声称他“并不是在寻找速度[但]希望能够做到正确” BBC报道。

与此同时,韩国主持人Moon Jae-in表示,他对最后一刻的会谈感到“不堪重负”,并对后续会谈表示乐观。

“我们今天所做的是迈出的一步,可能是朝着正确方向迈出的一步。 有一种很好的感觉,所以它可能非常好。 至于另一次会议,我想让我们看看今天在我们开始思考之前会发生什么,但这可能非常重要,“Jae-in说, 据Arirang News报道。

DMZ峰会几乎没有提及“无核化”

值得注意的是,当特朗普在边境会见并向金正日介绍金正日时,他几乎没有提到“无核化”一词。 目前尚不清楚这两位领导人是否解决了如何解决如何进行无核化的问题。

对于朝鲜来说,平壤的任何谈判的主要焦点都是取消制裁。 但在金边协会的公开会议期间,金也没有对制裁发表评论。

然而,特朗普证实经济制裁仍然有效,但只要即将举行的谈判进展顺利且朝鲜满足华盛顿完全拆除其核设施的要求,就可以解除经济制裁。

在朝鲜与美国之间的紧张局势升级之后不久,DMZ峰会就此召开

五月初,平壤 进行了两次短程导弹试验 - 许多人认为此举是为了回应与特朗普失败的河内会谈。 导弹发射后不久, 美国查获了一艘运载煤炭的朝鲜货船.

DMZ峰会获得混合评论

朝鲜国家新闻机构朝中社称此次会议“令人惊叹”,并称赞特朗普是第一位在任期间过境的美国总统。 但关于核谈判命运的问题仍然存在,对即兴DMZ会议背后的动机持怀疑态度。

“我认为(会议)是特朗普再次当选的一次性事件,” Choi Yong-chul说,AP新闻,在首尔的65岁企业主。

首尔朝鲜大学教授南成旭说: , 到AP新闻。

首尔远东研究所分析师Kim Dong-yub, 描述了与AP新闻的谈话 值得一提,因为它建立了继续和改善无核化谈判的势头,他说这远未结束。

“这只是一个开始,”他说。 “我正在等待特朗普前往平壤,金正日前往首尔和华盛顿的那一天。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 2, 2019

    只是另一个公开姿态的相互展示,以及进一步中止各种邪恶行为的机会主义手段 - 仍然是在秘密会议中炮制 - 尚未来自这个“大人物”肥皂剧媒体盛会的双方。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

What Actually Happened at the Surprise Trump-Kim DMZ Summit

President Trump and Kim Jong Un shake hands at Korean DMZ at impromptu meeting.
President Trump and Kim Jong Un shake hands at Korean DMZ at impromptu meeting. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

“What we’re doing today is a step and probably it’s a step in the right direction.”

After attending the G-20 summit in Osaka, Japan, President Donald Trump made a surprise visit to meet with North Korean leader Kim Jong-un in the Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) which separates the North and South Korea.

The unexpected meeting between both leaders came after Trump dropped an invitation to Kim to meet via a tweet.

With the meeting, the 73-year-old president has become the first President to step to cross the DMZ. The historic moment took place when Trump stepped into North Korea and shook hands with the 36-year-old leader. The two then walked towards Seoul, South Korea and stopped for picture-taking then they joined with their South Korean counterpart Moon Jae-in.

Trump stated that he was proud of crossing the border, calling the meeting “wonderful.”

“Stood on the soil of North Korea, an important statement for all, and a great honor!” Trump tweeted.

While Kim commented that his extraordinary relationship with Trump will enable the two adversaries to overcome obstacles. The DMZ “summit” is the second meeting in 2019 between both leaders after talks fell apart in Hanoi, Vietnam last February over a disagreement on denuclearization terms and sanctions. It was Trump and Kim’s third meeting overall, the first talk was in Singapore in June 2018.

“This has a lot of significance because it means that we want to bring an end to the unpleasant past and try to create a new future. So it’s a very courageous and determined act,” Kim told reporters.

Trump told reporters that Kim was invited to visit the White House anytime.

“I said, any time he wants to do it,” Trump said after amending a previous statement that Kim could visit the White House “when the time is right.”

Trump and Kim Ready to Negotiate

During a press conference at the Inter-Korean House of Freedom located on the DMZ’s southern side, Trump said that he and his North Korean counterpart have agreed to re-start negotiations on denuclearization after the Hanoi meeting ended without any progress.

The president added that his team would start working and meeting on the issue in the next two or three weeks, but he assured that he was in no rush to reach an agreement.

Trump claimed that he is “not looking for speed [but] looking to get it right,” as BBC reported.

At the same time, the South Korean host, President Moon Jae-in, said he felt “overwhelmed” by the last-minute talks and expressed optimism for the follow-up talks.

“What we’re doing today is a step and probably it’s a step in the right direction. There’s a good feeling, so it could be very good. As for as another meeting I think let’s see what happens today before we starting thinking about that but it could be very important,” Jae-in said, as reported by Arirang News.

DMZ Summit Hardly Mentions ‘Denuclearization’

Notably, Trump barely mentioned the term “denuclearization” when he met and briefed the press with Kim at the border. It was still unclear whether the two leaders resolved any differences over interpretations of how to proceed with denuclearization.

For North Korea, Pyongyang’s main focus of any talks is to have sanctions lifted. But Kim also did not comment on sanctions during the open session at the DMZ.

Trump, however, confirmed that economic sanctions remain in effect but could be lifted as long as upcoming negotiations go well and North Korea fulfills Washington’s demand to completely dismantle its nuclear facilities.

The DMZ summit comes shortly after an escalation in tensions between North Korea and the U.S.

In early May, Pyongyang conducted two short-range missile tests – a move many saw as a response to the failed Hanoi talks with Trump. Soon after the missile launches, the U.S. seized a North Korean cargo ship carrying coal.

DMZ Summit Receives Mixed Reviews

North Korea’s state news agency KCNA called the meeting “amazing” and praised Trump as the first U.S. president to cross the border while still in office. But questions about the fate of nuclear talks still lingers as does skepticism about the motivations behind the impromptu DMZ meeting.

“I think (the meeting) was a one-time event for Trump’s re-election,” said Choi Yong-chul, a 65-year-old business owner in Seoul, to AP News.

“It was a summit that clearly shows the characteristic of Trump, who likes to use mass communication … but it’s still unclear whether these colorful diplomatic shows between the leaders could lead to progress,” said Nam Sung-wook, a professor at Seoul’s Korea University, to AP News.

Kim Dong-yub, an analyst from Seoul’s Institute for Far Eastern Studies, described the talks to AP News as worth it because it built momentum to continue and improve denuclearization negotiations, which he said is far from over.

“This is just the beginning,” he said. “I am waiting for the day when Trump goes to Pyongyang and Kim goes to Seoul and Washington.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 2, 2019

    Merely another mutual show of public posturing, and an opportunistic means of further suspension of various nefarious deeds –still being concocted in secret meetings — yet to come from both sides of this “Big Man” soap opera media extravaganza.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.