输入搜索

亚太

创纪录的抗议活动在香港继续

香港抗议活动
香港抗议活动(图片:YouTube截图)

在有争议的引渡法案完全撤回审议之前,示威活动可能会持续下去。

在整个六月份,香港行政长官林嘉欣面临越来越大的公众压力,要求中国,澳门和台湾政府的刑事引渡请求由香港法院处理。 目前,没有这样的特权被授予其他自治区。

香港市民很快开始抗议该法案,林先生最初发誓要继续推进这项法案。 她表示,该法案对于保持香港没有罪犯是必要的,但抗议者担心中国会利用这种立法作为反对政治对手的武器。

香港的大规模抗议活动

组织者声称最初的抗议活动导致超过一百万的公民走上街头,最终导致数万人封锁政府总部,试图阻止围绕引渡法案进行辩论。 在一周内,抗议规模增加一倍,警方称,338,000并发抗议者在活动的最高点出现在街头。

林先生暂停了这项法案后发生了这些数字,但没有完全退出法案。 抗议者不满意林的举动,要求她辞职 - 担心她已成为中国政府的傀儡。

中国政府因其侵犯人权行为而臭名昭着,包括 在劳教所被监禁的1.5百万维吾尔族穆斯林。 中国对香港的外部影响已经导致民权下降,然而,自由之家 行列 香港为“部分免费”,评级为59 / 100。 另一方面,中国; 被评为“非自由”,拥有11 / 100自由分数。

Joshua Wong成为2014“伞形运动”的代言人,该运动推动了香港更民主的选举, 发布 在示威的高峰期。 “这位年轻的活动家赢得了一项单独定罪和6个月非法集会判决的上诉,并在该案件中被判入狱两个多月后被释放,”法国24报道。

现在发生了什么

香港记者为卫报记者 报道 以下是周五的另一场大型演示:

“香港的抗议者关闭了税收,移民和当地政府大楼,封锁了通过市中心的主要道路[原文如此]并集结在数千名警察总部以外,要求释放被拘留的活动分子并为警察暴行道歉。 星期五是不到两周内该市的第四次重大示威活动,虽然比其他人小,但人群仍然承诺,在清晨开始后仍然在街道上停留超过15小时。“

“警方没有公正对待公民。 他们实际上用催泪瓦斯和不必要的力量袭击了我们,“人群中的一名年轻抗议者对卫报说道。 “我们来到这里是为了告诉警察我们对他们的所作所为不满意。”警方在抗议者身上使用胡椒喷雾剂,橡皮子弹和催泪瓦斯试图驱散人群,造成一些伤害。

阻拦警察大楼的人群已经 分散 星期六早上在香港。 在局势开始平静下来之后不久,警方向媒体发表了措辞强硬的评论。 “警察对抗议者表现出最大的宽容......但他们表达观点的方式已经变得非法,非理性和不合理。 警方会严厉跟进这些非法活动。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Record-Breaking Protests In Hong Kong Continue

Hong Kong protests
Hong Kong protests (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

Demonstrations are likely to continue until a controversial extradition bill is completely withdrawn from consideration.

Throughout the month of June, Hong Kong Chief Executive Carrie Lam has faced increasing public pressure over a bill which would allow criminal extradition requests from governments in China, Macau, and Taiwan to be processed by Hong Kong courts. Currently, no such privileges are granted to the other autonomous regions.

Citizens of Hong Kong quickly began to protest the legislation, which Lam initially vowed to continue pushing forward. She stated that the bill is necessary to keep Hong Kong free of criminals, but protestors are concerned China would use such legislation as a weapon against political opponents.

Massive Protests Across Hong Kong

Organizers claim initial protests saw over one million citizens take the streets, which eventually led tens of thousands to block off government headquarters in an attempt to stop debate around the extradition bill. Within a week estimates of protest size doubled with police stating 338,000 concurrent protestors were on the streets during the apex of activity.

These numbers occurred after Lam suspended the bill but stopped short of completely withdrawing it from consideration. Protestors were not satisfied with the move by Lam, calling for her resignation — fearing she has become a puppet for the Chinese government.

The Chinese government is infamous for its human rights abuses, including the imprisonment of an estimated 1.5 million Uygur Muslims in reeducation camps. External influence by China on Hong Kong has already resulted in a drop of civil rights, however, Freedom House ranks Hong Kong as ‘partly free’ with a 59/100 rating. China, on the other hand; is rated as ‘not free’ with an 11/100 freedom score.

Joshua Wong, who became the face of the 2014 ‘Umbrella Movement’ which pushed for more democratic elections in Hong Kong was released during the height of demonstrations. “The young activist won an appeal of a separate conviction and six-month sentence for unlawful assembly and released after spending more than two months in prison in that case,” France 24 reports.

What’s Happening Now

Reporters in Hong Kong for The Guardian reported the following during another large demonstration on Friday:

“Protesters in Hong Kong closed tax, immigration and local government buildings, blockaded key roads through the city centre [sic] and massed in their thousands outside police headquarters to demand the release of detained activists and an apology for police brutality. Friday’s was the fourth major demonstration in the city in less than two weeks, and although smaller than the others, the crowd was committed, still filling the streets for more than 15 hours after an early morning start.”

“The police didn’t do justice to the citizens. They actually attacked us with teargas and unnecessary force,” said one young protester in the crowd to The Guardian. “We came here to tell the police we are not happy with what they did.” Police have used pepper spray, rubber bullets and tear gas on protestors in an attempt to disperse crowds, resulting in a number of injuries.

The crowds blocking police buildings had dispersed by Saturday morning in Hong Kong. Police released a strongly worded comment to the media shortly after the situation began to quiet down. “Police have shown the greatest tolerance to the protesters … but their means of expressing views have become illegal, irrational and unreasonable. Police will stringently follow up on these illegal activities.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.