اكتب للبحث

البيئة

بومبو: ذوبان القطب الشمالي يقدم "فرصًا جديدة للتجارة"

(مايك بومبو يتحدث في قمة Values ​​Voter Summit في واشنطن العاصمة في 2011. تصوير: Gage Skidmore)
(مايك بومبو يتحدث في قمة Values ​​Voter Summit في واشنطن العاصمة في 2011. تصوير: Gage Skidmore)

"فجأة ، حوّل الخطاب اليوم انتباه الجميع إلى ،" هل ننظر إلى الصراع القادم في القطب الشمالي؟ "

تحدث وزير الخارجية بومبيو إلى الدبلوماسيين في اجتماع لمجلس القطب الشمالي في فنلندا يوم الاثنين ، مشيدًا بـ "الفرص الجديدة للتجارة" التي يوفرها ذوبان الجليد في القطب الشمالي ، تحذير من الحاجة إلى كبح التوسع الصيني والروسي في المنطقة.

"وتتمتع محورها ، المحيط المتجمد الشمالي ، بأهمية استراتيجية جديدة بسرعة. الموارد البحرية ، التي تساعد الدول الساحلية المعنية ، هي موضوع تجدد المنافسة. وقال بومبيو إن التخفيضات المستمرة في الجليد البحري تفتح ممرات جديدة وفرصًا جديدة للتجارة.

لا يوافق الدبلوماسيون الآخرون الذين حضروا الاجتماع على تصريحات بومبو ، حيث رفض الوزير ذكر تغير المناخ على الرغم من أنه كان السبب وراء اجتماع مجلس القطب الشمالي. كان ذكر الوزير الوحيد لتغير المناخ إشارة مرفوضة إلى "البحث العلمي في الأحداث التي قد تحدث أو لا تحدث في سنوات 100".

"لقد تركز كل شيء على التعاون البنّاء حيث لا تثير المشاكل الخارجية. فجأة ، حوّل الخطاب اليوم انتباه الجميع إلى ،" هل ننظر إلى الصراع التالي في القطب الشمالي؟ عندما القضية الحقيقية هنا لا يزال تغير المناخ. وقال مالجورزاتا سميزيك ، وهو زميل في اللجنة الدولية لعلوم القطب الشمالي: نيويورك تايمز.

الـ واشنطن بوست ذكرت أن إدارة ترامب سعت إلى إزالة اللغة التي تنطوي على تغير المناخ أو اتفاق باريس للمناخ من أي بيانات مشتركة من مجلس القطب الشمالي. لأن الولايات المتحدة رفضت إدراج نص يتضمن تغير المناخ ، قال وزير خارجية فينيش تيمو سويني إنه لن يكون هناك إعلان مشترك من القمة.

A دراسة حديثة يقدر أن تكلفة ذوبان التربة الصقيعية للاقتصاد العالمي سوف تبلغ 70 تريليون دولار على الأقل ، وحذر البنتاجون من أن تغير المناخ يشكل مخاطر فورية على الأمن القومي الأمريكي. وصف وزير الدفاع الأمريكي السابق تشاك هاجل الاحتباس الحراري بأنه "التهديد المضاعف"إن تحذير زيادة تواتر الطقس القاسي من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى تفاقم التهديدات مثل الإرهاب والأمراض المعدية.

"يعد الانخفاض الحاد في الجليد البحري في القطب الشمالي أحد العواقب الأكثر دراماتيكية لتغير المناخ الذي يسببه الإنسان. ويأتي ذلك مع تحديات ضخمة للأمن القومي لأننا مضطرون للدفاع عن خط ساحلي جديد. وقال عالِم المناخ مايكل مان: "هناك بالفعل مستويات متعددة من المفارقة غير المقصودة لتصريحات بومبو" المراقب.

عندما سئل عن المكان الذي سيصنف فيه تغير المناخ كقضية أمنية وطنية ، رفض وزير الخارجية بومبيو الإجابة قائلاً: "لا يمكنني تصنيفه ... لا يمكنني أن أخبرك بالضبط بالعدد. لقد رأينا أمريكا تقلل من انبعاثاتها الكربونية ، في حين أن الموقعين ، بما في ذلك الصين ، لم يفعلوا ذلك ... في نهاية المطاف ، العالم ليس أكثر أمانًا. "

عندما خدمت كممثلة كانساس ، تم تهجين بومبيو كـ "عضو الكونغرس من كوخ، "لأخذ تبرعات كبيرة من الأخوة كوخ. ال الإخوة كوخ هم المليارديرات الوقود الأحفوري الذين يمولون شبكة واسعة من مراكز الفكر مكرسة لنشر المعلومات المضللة والارتباك حول علوم المناخ.

جرى خطاب الأمين في نفس اليوم منبر حكومي دولي للعلوم والسياسات في مجال التنوع البيولوجي والنظم الإيكولوجية (IPBES) تقرير يظهر معدل لم يسبق له مثيل من التدهور الناجم عن الإنسان في المحيط الحيوي. ووفقًا للتقرير ، هناك مليون نوع حيواني معرضة حاليًا لخطر الانقراض ، وهناك حاجة إلى تغيير تحولي سريع لتجنب التدمير البيئي الذي لا رجعة فيه.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Pompeo Says Melting Arctic Presents ‘New Opportunities For Trade’

(Mike Pompeo speaking at the Values Voter Summit in Washington, DC in 2011. Photo: Gage Skidmore)
(Mike Pompeo speaking at the Values Voter Summit in Washington, DC in 2011. Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“All of a sudden, the speech today shifted everyone’s attention to, ‘Are we looking at next conflict in Arctic?'”

Secretary of State Pompeo spoke to diplomats at a meeting of the Arctic Council in Finland on Monday, praising the “new opportunities for trade” melting arctic ice provided, and warning of the need to restrain Chinese and Russian expansion in the region.

“And its centerpiece, the Arctic Ocean, is rapidly taking on new strategic significance. Offshore resources, which are helping the respective coastal states, are the subject of renewed competition. Steady reductions in sea ice are opening new passageways and new opportunities for trade,” Pompeo said.

Other diplomats attending the meeting disapproved of Pompeo’s remarks, as the Secretary refused to mention climate change despite it being the reason for the Arctic Council meeting. The Secretary’s only mention of climate change was a dismissive reference to “scientific research into events that may or may not occur in 100 years.”

“Everything has been focused on constructive cooperation where you don’t bring outside problems in. All of a sudden, the speech today shifted everyone’s attention to, ‘Are we looking at next conflict in Arctic?’ when the real issue here is still climate change. No speech will change that,” Malgorzata Smieszek, a fellow at the International Arctic Science Committee, told the New York Times.

The Washington Post reported that the Trump administration sought to remove language involving climate change or the Paris Climate Agreement from any joint statements by the Arctic Council. Because the United States refused to include text involving climate change, Finish Foreign Minister Timo Soini said there would be no joint declaration from the summit.

A recent study estimates the cost of melting permafrost to the global economy will be at least $70 trillion, and the Pentagon has warned climate change poses immediate risks to US national security. Former US Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel described global warming as a “threat multiplier,” warning the increased frequency of severe weather would exacerbate threats like terrorism and infectious diseases.

“The steep decrease in Arctic sea ice is one of the more dramatic consequences of human-caused climate change. And it comes with huge national security challenges as we are forced to defend a new coastline. So there are really multiple levels of unintended irony to Pompeo’s statements,” climate scientist Michael Mann told Observer.

When asked where he would rank climate change as a national security issue, Secretary Pompeo refused to answer, saying, “I can’t rank it … I can’t tell you exactly which number. We’ve seen America reduce its carbon footprint, while the signatories, including China, haven’t done theirs… At the end of the day, the world is no safer.”

When serving as a Kansas Representative, Pompeo was chided as “the congressman from Koch,” for having taken large donations from the Koch brothers. The Koch brothers are fossil fuel billionaires who fund a broad network of think tanks dedicated to spreading disinformation and confusion about climate science.

The Secretary’s speech took place on the same day an Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystems (IPBES) report showing the unprecedented rate of human-caused deterioration to the biosphere was revealed. According to the report, one million animal species are currently at risk of extinction, and rapid transformational change is needed to avert irreversible ecological destruction.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.