输入搜索

亚太 健康/ SCI / TECH

消息应用程序移动以保护香港抗议者的身份

香港反引渡法案抗议
香港反引渡法案于6月12,2019抗议。 (照片:Studio Incendo)

计划在未来几天发布的Telegram更新将允许抗议者阻止中国大陆和香港当局在应用程序的大型群聊中发现他们的身份.

据知情人士透露,“Telegram是一种流行的加密消息应用程序,它将允许用户隐藏他们的电话号码以保护香港抗议者免受当局的监控。”路透社称 发言 深入了解背景资料。

上个月公民真相报道了升级和升级 暴力言论 从中国军队到香港的民主抗议者。

中国政府在8月初发布了一段视频,威胁对那些拒绝“退缩”的抗议者发动暴力事件。

“这部长达三分钟的视频,名为'防暴钻镜头',在中国社交媒体网站微博上发布,并显示军队高呼'堕落!' 并带着标语“警告:停止充电或我们使用武力”。 尽管视频令人毛骨悚然,但这部夸张的视频不太可能阻止民主抗议者走上街头,“Citizen Truth在视频发布时表示。

电报在抗议活动中的作用

许多商店以及香港的抗议者都表示,香港警方已经参与其中 过度用力 在为期数月的抗议活动中。

最近几个月,有传言称中国政府正在黑客攻击电报,以表达对香港抗议者的认同。 据信中国外交部的中国网络空间管理局(CAC)负责网络攻击。

“计划在未来几天发布的电报更新将允许抗议者阻止中国大陆和香港当局在应用程序的大型群聊中发现他们的身份,”路透社在接近情况的消息人士说。

尽管Telegram是 疑似 为了破解漏洞,它仍然是世界各地活动家的热门消息传递应用程序,特别是在香港。

电报没有直接评论有关香港工程师发现设计缺陷的问题,这些设计缺陷可能让极权主义的中国政权及其在香港政府内的盟友确定参加和组织抗议的人的姓名和地点。 香港与中国的合作是民主活动家的核心 不满 行政长官林嘉欣及其在香港的行政管理。

最近更新

周五,香港警方逮捕了一些着名的活动分子和三名立法者。 自三个月前示威活动开始以来,几乎有900人被捕,“路透社报道,进一步猜测反民主力量正在对抗议者使用先进的监视措施。

然而,这并不是反对民主力量的唯一技术策略。 作为科技网站Gizmodo 报道说:

LIHKG是用于组织香港民主抗议活动的最重要网站之一,受到DDoS攻击的打击,该攻击暂时使该论坛在上周末脱机。 虽然没有人确切知道攻击的背后是谁,但我们可以采取有根据的猜测。 至少可以说,中国政府对于自6月以来一直肆虐的香港抗议活动感到非常不满。

据她上周向一群商人发表的一段录音记录显示,“陷入困境的香港领导人林嘉欣表示,她通过点燃席卷该市的政治危机引发了'不可饶恕的浩劫',如果她有选择就会辞职”。路透社 报道 关于Lam泄漏的音频声明。

几年前,林某提到的政治危机是由于人们对一项拟议的引渡法案的愤怒而引发的,活动人士担心该引渡法案将允许中国将香港公民引渡到中国进行捏造和出于政治动机的指控。

香港的抗议活动和不满情绪仍在持续 - 香港的民主活动人士认为,林书豪的言论意味着北京迫使她留在原地,以便充当他们的管道。 这种猜测尚未得到证实。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. Saja Lutor 9-2019-XNUMX

    此类更新需要时间,而且由于Telegram漏洞,人们已经丢失了数据。 我不认为人们会继续使用它。 据我所知,他们已经在寻找替代品,但并没有很多好的。 我更喜欢乌托邦 https://beta.u.is/ 对所有其他人。 它很新,但它确实很安全。 它不需要注册个人数据,并且由于其权力下放而完全匿名且安全。

    回复
    1. Tyler91 12-2019-XNUMX

      嗯,这正是我所信仰和其他人所做的。 大部分实际上已经洗脑并认为TG是安全的。 至于我,我厌倦了电报。 Ps从来没有听说过乌托邦,但它看起来像一个非常有前途的产品。 谢谢你的链接。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Messaging App Moves to Protect Identities of Hong Kong Protesters

Hong Kong anti-extradition bill protest
Hong Kong anti-extradition bill protest on June 12, 2019. (Photo: Studio Incendo)

An update to Telegram, planned for release over the next few days, will allow protesters to prevent mainland Chinese and Hong Kong authorities from discovering their identities in the app’s large group chats.

“Telegram, a popular encrypted messaging app, will allow users to cloak their telephone numbers to safeguard Hong Kong protesters against monitoring by authorities, according to a person with direct knowledge of the effort,” said Reuters after speaking to a source on deep background.

Last month Citizen Truth reported the escalating and violent rhetoric coming from the Chinese Army toward the pro-democracy protesters in Hong Kong.

In a thinly veiled threat towards protesters, the Chinese government released a video in early August threatening violence against protesters who refused to “fall back.”

“The three-minute-long video, titled ‘Anti-Riot Drill Footage’ was released on the Chinese social media site Weibo and shows troops chanting ‘Fall back!’ and carrying a flag reading ‘WARNING: Stop Charging Or We Use Force.’ Despite the chilling nature of the video, it’s unlikely the bombastic video will do little to keep pro-democracy protestors from taking to the streets,” Citizen Truth said when the video was released.

Telegram’s Role in the Protests

Numerous outlets, along with the protestors in Hong Kong, stated Hong Kong police have engaged in excessive force during the months-long protests. 

In recent months rumors circulated of the Chinese government hacking into Telegram to identity Hong Kong protestors. The Cyberspace Administration of China (CAC) from China’s Foreign Ministry is believed to be responsible for the cyber attacks. 

“The update to Telegram, planned for release over the next few days, will allow protesters to prevent mainland Chinese and Hong Kong authorities from discovering their identities in the app’s large group chats,” Reuters said after speaking to their source close to the situation.

Despite Telegram being suspect to hacking vulnerabilities, it continues to be a popular messaging application for activists around the world, especially in Hong Kong.

Telegram did not directly comment to questions concerning Hong Kong engineers finding a design flaw which could allow the totalitarian Chinese regime and their allies within the Hong Kong government to identify the names and locations of those attending and organizing protests. The collaboration between Hong Kong and China is at the heart of pro-democracy activists’ discontent with Chief Executive Carrie Lam and her administration within Hong Kong. 

Recent Updates

“The move by Telegram comes as Hong Kong police arrested a number of prominent activists and three lawmakers on Friday. Nearly 900 people have been arrested since the demonstrations began three months ago,” Reuters reported, drawing further speculation that anti-democracy forces were using advanced measures of surveillance against the protestors. 

However, that isn’t the only technological tactic being used against the pro-democracy forces. As tech website Gizmodo reported:

LIHKG, one of the most important websites used to organize pro-democracy protests in Hong Kong, has been hit with a DDoS attack that temporarily took the forum offline this past weekend. And while no one knows for sure who’s behind the attack, we can take an educated guess. The Chinese government is very unhappy, to say the least, about the protests in Hong Kong that have been raging since June.

“Embattled Hong Kong leader Carrie Lam said she has caused ‘unforgivable havoc’ by igniting the political crisis engulfing the city and would quit if she had a choice, according to an audio recording of remarks she made last week to a group of businesspeople,” Reuters reported concerning a leaked audio statement from Lam.

The political crisis Lam refers to was ignited months ago by popular outrage over a proposed extradition bill that activists feared would have allowed China to extradite Hong Kong citizens to China for trumped-up and politically-motivated charges.

Hong Kong protests and discontent are still ongoing – pro-democracy activists in Hong Kong have interpreted Lam’s statements as meaning Beijing is forcing her to stay in position in order to act as their conduit. Such speculation has not been confirmed. 

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Saja Lutor September 9, 2019

    Such updates will take time and people had already lost their data thanks to Telegram vulnerability. I don’t think that people will continue using it. As I know they already look for the alternatives, but there are not many good ones. I prefer Utopia https://beta.u.is/ to all the others. It’s quite new but it’s really secure. It requires no personal data for registration and is fully anonymous and safe due to its decentralization.

    Reply
    1. Tyler91 September 12, 2019

      Well, that’s exactly what I believe in and some other people do. The majority actually is already brainwashed and believes TG is safe. As for me, I am tired of Telegram. P.s. Never heard about Utopia, but it looks like a very promising product. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.