输入搜索

同行新闻

随着加州极端分子的全国禁令,毛皮正在飞翔

棕色皮大衣。 (照片:Clem Onojeghu)
棕色皮大衣。 (照片:Clem Onojeghu)
(所有同行新闻文章均由公民真相的读者提交,并未反映CT的观点。同行新闻是意见,评论和新闻的混合。文章经过审查,必须符合基本准则,但CT不保证陈述的准确性提出或提出论点。我们很自豪地分享你的故事, 在这里分享你的.)

洛杉矶成为美国最大的禁止生产和销售动物皮毛的城市,成为头条新闻。 现在,积极分子正试图在全州范围内引用动物福利作为主要驱动力。

加利福尼亚州的一些人似乎认为禁酒对于酒精以及我们现在应该在皮草上尝试的药物效果如此之好。 动物活动家强烈支持 议会法案44 这将禁止在加利福尼亚州的毛皮销售和制造。 那些参与皮草行业的人认为这将是政府的超越范围。 如果该法案成为法律,首次违规者将支付$ 500,这可能会在每次违规时加倍。 唯一的豁免是用于美洲原住民文化习俗,宗教原因和用过的毛皮的毛皮。

该法案的作者是民主党女议员劳拉弗里德曼。 她说,选民一直表示,如果他们在加利福尼亚购买涉及动物的产品,他们想知道没有涉及动物残忍。 她说,由于其他时尚,温暖的纺织品的供应,在21st世纪没有必要穿皮草。

加州将是第一个通过全州禁令的州。 西好莱坞,旧金山和洛杉矶已经实施了有趣的禁令,纽约市和夏威夷正在考虑提案。

动物活动家有一个议程

PETA和Direct Action Everywhere是反对动物毛皮行业的领先组织,通常针对服装品牌并进行秘密调查。 动物活动家表示,毛皮贸易是建立在对动物的残酷行为之上,而且这个行业是不受管制的。 活动人士在弗里德曼的法案上挤满了听证会,并分享了他们关于虐待动物的说法。

皮草行业的人坚决否认这些残酷的指控。 他们认为,如果消费者选择从零售商处购买毛皮产品,他们应该有权这样做。 比尔AB 44可以为动物权利活动家创造条件,并最终产生影响我们穿着和吃的东西的法律(没有皮鞋,鸡蛋,乳制品,肉类等)

条例草案的负面后果

美国毛皮信息委员会的Keith Kaplan是一家代表制造和销售毛皮产品的公司的贸易集团,他指出,当你实施禁令时,你会鼓励非法玩家增长。 那些遵守破产规则的人。 他表示,禁止出售皮草只会让加州客户离开该州,就像西好莱坞禁止皮草销售时企业搬到比佛利山庄一样。

卡普兰还指出,“人造”皮草通常采用对环境有害的合成材料制成。 他的答案是制定认证计划, FurMark的,以确保动物福利。 这将使用第三方审计建立对供应链的监控。

捕手,小型家庭农民,制造商和皮草零售商依赖于该行业。 如果这项法案获得通过,他们可能会失去生计,工作和生意。 那些为毛皮商提供服务的人也会受到影响。 在加利福尼亚州关闭的企业不仅会影响个人,而且会影响到整个家庭,这种影响可能会在加利福尼亚以外的地方蔓延。

毛皮农业是可持续的

毛皮养殖是一种可持续的做法,产品比不可降解的塑料替代品更适合环境。 进入垃圾填埋场的废物被转移到饲料动物身上,例如食物加工过程中残留的蛋白质。 粪肥用于施肥当地作物,动物副产品以多种不同方式使用。

该法案是在皮草需求似乎仍在增长的时候出现的。 部分需求是由家具行业推动的,家具行业在椅子覆盖物和其他应用中使用的皮毛比以前更多。 皮草零售商表示,该行业在加利福尼亚的销售额每年约为300百万美元。

反对者说,如果皮草禁令成为加州法律,他们会毫不犹豫地在法庭上挑战国家。

查尔斯拉维蒂

Charles Laverty是加利福尼亚州Costa Mesa的Nuzuna Zone Fitness的首席执行官。 在过去的几十年里,查尔斯一直担任首席执行官或董事会成员,包括InfusionCare和Curaflex。 他还是医疗保健公共政策,商业和政治主题的积极评论员。

    1

1评论

  1. 拉里 8-2019-XNUMX

    谷歌 http://WWW.PETAKILLSANIMALS.COM 看看PETA的真实情况
    他们是恐怖组织

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

PEER NEWS

The Fur is Flying as California Extremists Move For a Statewide Ban

Brown fur coat. (Photo: Clem Onojeghu)
Brown fur coat. (Photo: Clem Onojeghu)
(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

Los Angeles made headlines when it became the largest U.S. city to ban the production and sale of animal fur. Activists are now trying to do the same statewide citing animal welfare as the chief driver.

Some in California seem to think that prohibition worked so well for alcohol and then drugs that we should now try it on fur. Animal activists are strongly supporting Assembly Bill 44 which would ban fur sales and manufacture in California. Those involved in the fur industry believe this would be government overreach. If the bill becomes law, first-time violators would pay $500 and this could double with each violation. The only exemptions are fur used for Native American cultural practices, religious reasons and used fur.

The author of this bill is Democratic Assemblywoman Laura Friedman. She says voters have consistently voiced that if they buy a product in California that involves animals, they want to know that animal cruelty wasn’t involved. She says there is no need to wear fur in the 21st century due to the availability of other fashionable, warm textiles.

California would be the first state to pass a statewide ban. West Hollywood, San Francisco and Los Angeles already have fun bans in place and New York City and Hawaii are considering proposals.

Animal Activists Have an Agenda

PETA and Direct Action Everywhere are leading organizations that are against the animal fur industry, often targeting clothing brands and conducting undercover investigations. Animal activists say the fur trade is built on cruelty to animals and that the industry is unregulated. Activists crowded the hearing on Friedman’s bill and shared their accounts about cruelty to animals.

Those in the fur industry firmly deny these allegations of cruelty. They believe that if consumers choose to buy fur products from retailers, they should have a right to do so. Bill AB 44 could set the stage for animal rights activists to get their way and eventually result in laws that influence what we wear and eat (no leather shoes, eggs, dairy, meat, etc.)

Negative Consequences of the Bill

Keith Kaplan of the Fur Information Council of America, a trade group representing companies that manufacture and sell fur products, points out that when you impose a ban, you encourage growth among illicit players. It’s those who follow the rules that go out of business. He says banning the sale of fur would simply drive Californian customers out of the state, just as businesses moved to Beverly Hills when West Hollywood banned fur sales.

Kaplan also points out that “faux” fur is often made with synthetic materials that harm the environment. His answer would be to institute a certification program, FurMark, to ensure animal welfare. This would establish monitoring of the supply chain using third-party audits.

Trappers, small family farmers, manufacturers and fur retailers depend on the industry. If this bill is passed, they could lose their livelihoods, jobs and businesses. Those who provide services to furriers would also be affected. Businesses closing down in California would not only affect individuals but entire families and the effect could spread beyond California in a ripple effect.

Fur Farming is Sustainable

Fur farming is a sustainable practice and the products are better for the environment than non-degradable, plastic-based alternatives. Waste that would go to landfills is diverted to feed animals, such as proteins leftover in food processing. The manure is used to fertilize local crops and animal by-products are used in numerous different ways.

The bill comes at a time when the demand for fur still appears to be growing. Part of the demand is being driven by the furniture industry, which is using more fur in chair coverings and other applications than before. Fur retailers say the industry records about $300 million a year in sales in California.

Opponents say if the fur ban becomes California law, they won’t hesitate to challenge the State in court.

Charles Laverty

Charles Laverty is CEO of Nuzuna Zone Fitness in Costa Mesa in California. Charles has served as CEO or on the board of several healthcare and fitness releated companies over the last few decades including InfusionCare and Curaflex. He is also an active commentator on healthcare public policy and business and political topics.

    1

1 Comment

  1. Larry September 8, 2019

    Google http://WWW.PETAKILLSANIMALS.COM and see the REAL truth about PETA
    They are terrorist organization

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.