输入搜索

非洲

苏丹宣布内阁职业革命,包括第一位女性外交部长

阿卜杜拉哈姆多克
Abdalla Hamdok在Mo Ibrahim基金会的2014采访中。 (图片:YouTube)

虽然苏丹新政府面临许多挑战,但18内阁成员已经被任命为即将到来的三年过渡时期。

本周早些时候新苏丹总理阿卜杜拉·哈姆多克宣布苏丹新内阁的开始 - 这是自今年早些时候苏丹总统奥马尔·巴希尔在新西兰元勋章年度倒台以来的第一次内阁。

根据苏丹军方和民间反对派之间的权力分享协议,上个月同意的内阁将按照三年过渡时期进行选举。

Hamdok在8月21宣誓就任苏丹新总理,他本周早些时候表示,他将确保新内阁成员包括因其能力而被选中的技术专家成员,并有助于应对苏丹过渡时期面临的严峻挑战远离巴希尔的独裁统治。

虽然两位内阁成员尚未公布, 据报道,Hamdok迄今已批准18成员包括四名女性和第一位女外交部长Asmaa Abdallah。

以前Hamdok说过 他希望组建一个代表苏丹所有省份的内阁,并保持“性别平衡”。

据路透社报道,内阁还包括曾担任财政部长的前世界银行经济学家易卜拉欣•埃尔巴达维(Ibrahim Elbadawi)和作为工业和贸易部长谈判与军方过渡协议的民间联盟领导人马达尼阿巴斯马达尼。

在巴希尔被驱逐后接任的过渡时期军事委员会成员贾马尔·奥马尔将军将担任国防部长。

苏丹面临挑战

新政府面临的主要挑战之一是在一个反对巴希尔统治的叛乱集团影响的众多地区建立和维持和平。

据半岛电视台报道据报道,来自达尔富尔等边缘化地区的四个反叛团体表示他们将“与具有统一愿景的过渡当局进行谈判”,但没有提供进一步的解释。

让苏丹脱离美国支持恐怖主义的国家名单将是另一个优先事项 - 哈姆多克呼吁美国周二采取此举措。 对于Hamdok来说,搬迁至关重要,因为它为复兴经济复苏铺平了道路。

在2017晚些时候,美国取消了对苏丹实施的一系列经济制裁,但将该国列入美国赞助和庇护恐怖主义的国家名单,其中包括伊朗,叙利亚和朝鲜。

“我们认为这种情况适合将苏丹从恐怖主义名单中删除,” 哈姆多克说 在与来访的德国外交部长Heiko Maas举行的联合记者招待会上。

哈姆多克补充说,苏丹一直在“与美国人进行谈判,而且我们预计苏丹将从恐怖主义名单上取消进展。”

人为的变化

自去年12月以来,苏丹经历了大规模示威活动,以抗议货物和商品价格飙升以及通货膨胀。 抗议活动迫使苏丹军队推翻了三十多年来一直掌权的独裁总统奥马尔·巴希尔。

然而,在巴希尔被驱逐后,该国处于混乱状态,没有明确的继任者领导该国。 苏丹的军队掌权,但6月3军方开火并在军队总部外杀死了超过100的抗议者,加剧了对苏丹将成为军事独裁统治的担忧。

6月底和7月初,军方和民间反对派部队致力于巩固权力分享协议。 7月5,苏丹反对派自由与变革联盟表示已与过渡时期军事委员会达成此类协议, 引发庆祝 全国各地的“欢乐生日”。

随着苏丹推进建立新政府,巴希尔因腐败指控受到审判,尽管许多人希望对前总统征收更严重的指控。

“看到他身陷监狱是一种解脱,但目前针对他的案件涉及洗钱和外汇交易,[但]我们认为这不是巴希尔犯下的唯一罪行,”Amjed Farid说。 ,主要反对党,苏丹专业人员协会的发言人。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari是加沙地带的自由撰稿人,记者和讲师。 拉米为全球多家媒体提供英语服务,包括印刷,广播和电视。 他可以在Facebook上作为Rami Munir Almeghari和电子邮件联系 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

Sudan Announces Cabinet Post Revolution, Includes First Female Foreign Minister

Abdalla Hamdok
Abdalla Hamdok in a 2014 interview for the Mo Ibrahim Foundation. (Photo: YouTube)

While many challenges lie ahead for Sudan’s new government, 18 cabinet members have already been named to serve out the coming three-year transitional period.

The beginnings of a new Sudanese cabinet – the first since the toppling of the 30-year reign of former Sudanese President Omar Al-Bashir earlier this year – was announced this week by newly appointed Sudanese Prime Minister Abdalla Hamdok.

The cabinet will govern for a three-year transitional period to be followed by elections, per terms agreed to last month under a power-sharing deal between the Sudanese military and civilian opposition forces.

Hamdok, who was sworn in as Sudan’s new prime minister on August 21, said earlier this week that he would make sure that the new cabinet includes technocratic members chosen for their competence, and who could help meet the serious challenges ahead for Sudan as it transitions away from Bashir’s authoritarian rule.

While the two cabinet members are yet to be announced, Hamdok reportedly approved 18 members so far, including four females and the first female foreign minister, Asmaa Abdallah.

Previously Hamdok stated that he wanted to form a cabinet that represents all Sudanese provinces and that a “gender balance” would be maintained.

According to Reuters, the cabinet also includes Ibrahim Elbadawi, a former World Bank economist who will serve as finance minister, and Madani Abbas Madani, a leader of the civilian coalition that negotiated the transition deal with the military, as a minister of industry and trade.

General Jamal Omar, a member of the Transitional Military Council that took over after Bashir was ousted will serve as defense minister.

Challenges Ahead for Sudan

One of the main challenges facing the new government is establishing and keeping peace in a country with numerous regions affected by rebel groups opposed to Bashir’s rule.

According to Al Jazeera, four rebel groups from marginalized areas such as Darfur reportedly said they will be “negotiating with transitional authorities with a unified vision,” though no further explanation was offered.

Getting Sudan off the United States’ list of countries that sponsor terrorism will be another priority – Hamdok called on the U.S. to make such a move on Tuesday. For Hamdok, the removal is vital as it paves the way for the revival of a battered economy.

In late 2017, the U.S. lifted a series of economic sanctions imposed on Sudan, but kept the country on the U.S.’ list of states sponsoring and harboring terrorism, a list that includes Iran, Syria and North Korea.

“We believe that the situation is suitable for removing Sudan from the terrorism list,” Hamdok said at a joint press conference with visiting German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas.

Hamdok added that Sudan has been “in negotiations with the Americans and [we] expect there would be progress on removing Sudan from the terrorism list.”

People-Imposed Change

Since last December Sudan has lived through mass demonstrations in protest of the soaring prices of goods and commodities as well as inflation. The protests pushed the Sudanese army to overthrow the authoritarian President Omar al-Bashir who had remained in power for more than three decades.

However, the country was in a state of chaos after the ousting of Bashir with no clear successor to lead the country. Sudan’s military assumed power, but June 3 the military opened fire and killed more than 100 protesters outside the military’s headquarters, intensifying worry that Sudan would become a military dictatorship.

In late June and early July, the military and civilian opposition forces worked on cementing a power-sharing agreement. On July 5, the Sudanese opposition Coalition of Freedom and Change said it had reached such an agreement with the transitional military council, sparking celebration of the “birthday of joy” throughout the country.

As Sudan moves forward with establishing a new government, Bashir sits on trial for corruption charges, though many wished for more serious charges to be levied against the former president.

“It is a relief to see him behind bars, but the current case against him is about money laundering and dealing in foreign currency, [but] we don’t think this is the only crime that al-Bashir committed,” said Amjed Farid, a spokesman for the key opposition party, the Sudanese Professionals Association.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.