اكتب للبحث

أفريقيا

السودان يعلن عن ثورة ما بعد مجلس الوزراء ، ويضم أول وزيرة للخارجية

عبد الله حمدوك
عبد الله حمدوك في مقابلة مع 2014 لمؤسسة محمد إبراهيم. (الصورة: يوتيوب)

في حين أن هناك العديد من التحديات الماثلة أمام الحكومة السودانية الجديدة ، فقد تم بالفعل تعيين أعضاء مجلس وزراء 18 للعمل في فترة انتقالية مدتها ثلاث سنوات.

تم الإعلان عن بداية حكومة سودانية جديدة - الأولى منذ الإطاحة بفترة حكم الرئيس السوداني السابق عمر البشير في العام 30 في وقت سابق من هذا العام - من قبل رئيس الوزراء السوداني المعين حديثًا عبد الله حمدوك.

سيحكم مجلس الوزراء لفترة انتقالية مدتها ثلاث سنوات تليها انتخابات ، وفقًا للشروط المتفق عليها في الشهر الماضي بموجب اتفاق لتقاسم السلطة بين الجيش السوداني وقوات المعارضة المدنية.

قال حمدوك ، الذي أدى اليمين الدستورية كرئيس وزراء جديد للسودان في أغسطس 21 ، في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع إنه سيتأكد من أن الحكومة الجديدة تضم أعضاء تكنوقراطيين تم اختيارهم لصلاحياتهم ، ويمكنهم المساعدة في مواجهة التحديات الخطيرة التي تنتظر السودان أثناء انتقاله بعيدا عن حكم البشير الاستبدادي.

بينما لم يتم الإعلان عن عضو مجلس الوزراء بعد ، ورد أن حمدوق وافق على أعضاء 18 حتى الآنبما في ذلك أربع إناث وأول وزيرة للخارجية ، أسماء عبد الله.

صرح حمدوك سابقا إنه يريد تشكيل مجلس يمثل جميع المحافظات السودانية وأنه سيتم الحفاظ على "التوازن بين الجنسين".

ووفقًا لرويترز ، فإن مجلس الوزراء يضم أيضًا إبراهيم البدوي ، وهو خبير اقتصادي سابق بالبنك الدولي سيعمل وزيراً للمالية ، ومدني عباس مدني ، زعيم التحالف المدني الذي تفاوض على اتفاق الانتقال مع الجيش ، كوزير للصناعة والتجارة. .

اللواء جمال عمر ، عضو المجلس العسكري الانتقالي الذي تولى السلطة بعد إقالة البشير ، سيتولى منصب وزير الدفاع.

تحديات أمام السودان

أحد التحديات الرئيسية التي تواجه الحكومة الجديدة هو إرساء السلام والحفاظ عليه في بلد به العديد من المناطق المتضررة من الجماعات المتمردة المعارضة لحكم البشير.

وفقًا لقناة الجزيرة، ذكرت أربع مجموعات متمردة من المناطق المهمشة مثل دارفور أنها "ستتفاوض مع السلطات الانتقالية برؤية موحدة" ، على الرغم من عدم تقديم أي تفسير آخر.

ستكون إزالة السودان من قائمة الولايات المتحدة للدول التي ترعى الإرهاب أولوية أخرى - دعا حمدوك الولايات المتحدة إلى اتخاذ مثل هذه الخطوة يوم الثلاثاء. بالنسبة لحمدوك ، فإن الإزالة أمر حيوي لأنه يمهد الطريق لإنعاش الاقتصاد المدمر.

في أواخر 2017 ، رفعت الولايات المتحدة سلسلة من العقوبات الاقتصادية المفروضة على السودان ، لكنها أبقت البلد على قائمة الولايات المتحدة للدول الراعية للإرهاب وتأويه ، وهي قائمة تضم إيران وسوريا وكوريا الشمالية.

"نعتقد أن الوضع مناسب لإزالة السودان من قائمة الإرهاب" قال حمدوك في مؤتمر صحفي مشترك مع وزير الخارجية الألماني الزائر Heiko Maas.

وأضاف حمدوك أن السودان "يجري مفاوضات مع الأميركيين ونتوقع حدوث تقدم في إزالة السودان من قائمة الإرهاب".

التغيير الذي يفرضه الناس

منذ ديسمبر الماضي ، عاش السودان خلال مظاهرات حاشدة احتجاجًا على ارتفاع أسعار السلع والسلع بالإضافة إلى التضخم. دفعت الاحتجاجات الجيش السوداني إلى الإطاحة بالرئيس الاستبدادي عمر البشير الذي ظل في السلطة لأكثر من ثلاثة عقود.

ومع ذلك ، كانت البلاد في حالة من الفوضى بعد الإطاحة بالبشير مع عدم وجود خليفة واضح لقيادة البلاد. تولى الجيش السوداني السلطة ، لكن في يونيو 3 فتح الجيش النار وقتل أكثر من محتجين من 100 خارج مقر الجيش ، مما زاد من المخاوف من أن السودان سوف يصبح ديكتاتورية عسكرية.

في أواخر يونيو وأوائل يوليو ، عملت قوات المعارضة العسكرية والمدنية على تدعيم اتفاقية تقاسم السلطة. في يوليو / تموز 5 ، قال تحالف الحرية والتغيير السوداني المعارض إنه توصل إلى مثل هذا الاتفاق مع المجلس العسكري الانتقالي ، إشعال الاحتفال "عيد ميلاد الفرح" في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

بينما يمضي السودان قدما في تشكيل حكومة جديدة ، يجتمع البشير للمحاكمة بتهمة الفساد ، على الرغم من أن الكثير منهم يتمنون فرض تهم أكثر خطورة ضد الرئيس السابق.

قال أمجد فريد: "من المريح رؤيته خلف القضبان ، لكن القضية الحالية ضده تتعلق بغسل الأموال والتعامل بالعملة الأجنبية ، لكننا لا نعتقد أن هذه هي الجريمة الوحيدة التي ارتكبها البشير". ، متحدث باسم حزب المعارضة الرئيسي ، جمعية المهنيين السودانيين.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
رامي المغاري

رامي المغاري كاتب مستقل وصحفي ومحاضر في قطاع غزة. ساهم رامي باللغة الإنجليزية في العديد من وسائل الإعلام في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك المطبوعات والإذاعة والتلفزيون. يمكن الوصول إليه على فيسبوك بصفته رامي منير المغاري وعلى البريد الإلكتروني باسم [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AFRICA

Sudan Announces Cabinet Post Revolution, Includes First Female Foreign Minister

Abdalla Hamdok
Abdalla Hamdok in a 2014 interview for the Mo Ibrahim Foundation. (Photo: YouTube)

While many challenges lie ahead for Sudan’s new government, 18 cabinet members have already been named to serve out the coming three-year transitional period.

The beginnings of a new Sudanese cabinet – the first since the toppling of the 30-year reign of former Sudanese President Omar Al-Bashir earlier this year – was announced this week by newly appointed Sudanese Prime Minister Abdalla Hamdok.

The cabinet will govern for a three-year transitional period to be followed by elections, per terms agreed to last month under a power-sharing deal between the Sudanese military and civilian opposition forces.

Hamdok, who was sworn in as Sudan’s new prime minister on August 21, said earlier this week that he would make sure that the new cabinet includes technocratic members chosen for their competence, and who could help meet the serious challenges ahead for Sudan as it transitions away from Bashir’s authoritarian rule.

While the two cabinet members are yet to be announced, Hamdok reportedly approved 18 members so far, including four females and the first female foreign minister, Asmaa Abdallah.

Previously Hamdok stated that he wanted to form a cabinet that represents all Sudanese provinces and that a “gender balance” would be maintained.

According to Reuters, the cabinet also includes Ibrahim Elbadawi, a former World Bank economist who will serve as finance minister, and Madani Abbas Madani, a leader of the civilian coalition that negotiated the transition deal with the military, as a minister of industry and trade.

General Jamal Omar, a member of the Transitional Military Council that took over after Bashir was ousted will serve as defense minister.

Challenges Ahead for Sudan

One of the main challenges facing the new government is establishing and keeping peace in a country with numerous regions affected by rebel groups opposed to Bashir’s rule.

According to Al Jazeera, four rebel groups from marginalized areas such as Darfur reportedly said they will be “negotiating with transitional authorities with a unified vision,” though no further explanation was offered.

Getting Sudan off the United States’ list of countries that sponsor terrorism will be another priority – Hamdok called on the U.S. to make such a move on Tuesday. For Hamdok, the removal is vital as it paves the way for the revival of a battered economy.

In late 2017, the U.S. lifted a series of economic sanctions imposed on Sudan, but kept the country on the U.S.’ list of states sponsoring and harboring terrorism, a list that includes Iran, Syria and North Korea.

“We believe that the situation is suitable for removing Sudan from the terrorism list,” Hamdok said at a joint press conference with visiting German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas.

Hamdok added that Sudan has been “in negotiations with the Americans and [we] expect there would be progress on removing Sudan from the terrorism list.”

People-Imposed Change

Since last December Sudan has lived through mass demonstrations in protest of the soaring prices of goods and commodities as well as inflation. The protests pushed the Sudanese army to overthrow the authoritarian President Omar al-Bashir who had remained in power for more than three decades.

However, the country was in a state of chaos after the ousting of Bashir with no clear successor to lead the country. Sudan’s military assumed power, but June 3 the military opened fire and killed more than 100 protesters outside the military’s headquarters, intensifying worry that Sudan would become a military dictatorship.

In late June and early July, the military and civilian opposition forces worked on cementing a power-sharing agreement. On July 5, the Sudanese opposition Coalition of Freedom and Change said it had reached such an agreement with the transitional military council, sparking celebration of the “birthday of joy” throughout the country.

As Sudan moves forward with establishing a new government, Bashir sits on trial for corruption charges, though many wished for more serious charges to be levied against the former president.

“It is a relief to see him behind bars, but the current case against him is about money laundering and dealing in foreign currency, [but] we don’t think this is the only crime that al-Bashir committed,” said Amjed Farid, a spokesman for the key opposition party, the Sudanese Professionals Association.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.