输入搜索

环境

特朗普政府退回濒危物种保护

国君buttefly的接近的照片
君主蝴蝶是濒临灭绝的物种吗? (照片:)

“濒危物种法案有效; 我们的社区 - 无论是自然的还是人类的 - 都获得了收益。 必须保留这个安全网。“

特朗普政府周一对“濒危物种法”进行了全面修改,削弱了对受威胁物种的保护,并允许当局忽视气候变化对野生动物的影响。

批评人士认为,回滚是内政部长大卫伯恩哈特企图将化石燃料和农业企业利润优先于公共利益的尝试。 其主要条款之一涉及允许政府估算保护物种的经济成本,允许工业在被认为过于昂贵的情况下优先考虑动物保护。

评论家,如 布雷特哈特尔 生物多样性保护组织保护组认为,该规则是一项玩世不恭的努力,为了采掘业的利益而增加保护物种的成本。

伯恩哈特不仅坚守了 最单一的利益冲突 特朗普政府任何内阁成员,但他游说 违反具体规定 在他担任石油,天然气和农业综合企业的说客期间,这是一个问题。

纽约时报的调查显示,伯恩哈特 亲自指导政策 削弱对濒临灭绝动物的保护并且已经 阻止科学报道 关于农药的危害。 伯恩哈特一直积极参与提供石油和天然气租赁的公共土地(几乎与南卡罗来纳州相当),并为工业发展废除了国家纪念碑法规。

这个消息也是在几个月之后才出现的 标志性研究 生物多样性和生态系统政府间科学政策平台(IPBES)发现,目前有100万种动物 面临灭绝的威胁。 该研究的310撰稿人敦促变革性变革是避免对生物圈造成不可逆转的破坏的必要条件。

环保组织承诺反击

该法案的支持者注意到其在保护各种野生动物方面取得了显着成功。

自从理查德·尼克松总统在1973签署成为法律以来,“濒危物种法案”有助于拯救秃头鹰,加州秃鹰和其他许多动物和植物免于灭绝,“ 美联社。 “濒危物种法案目前在美国及其领土上保护的不仅仅是1,600物种。”

虽然环境组织因气候变化导致的特朗普政府最近的生态倒退而感到愤怒,但许多组织承诺在法庭上打击这一裁决。

“我们将在法庭上与特朗普政府进行斗争,以阻止这一重写,这只会为石油业和其他污染者提供服务,他们认为濒危物种是令人讨厌的不便之处,” 说过 生物多样性中心的诺亚格林沃尔德。

“当我们面对气候变化及其对野生动物影响的日益严峻的挑战时,破坏这一受欢迎且成功的法律是朝着错误方向迈出的重要一步” 说过 Lena Moffitt,塞拉俱乐部的我们的野生美国运动主任。 “濒危物种法案有效; 我们的社区 - 无论是自然的还是人类的 - 都获得了收益。 必须保留这个安全网。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 八月13,2019

    家庭是一种濒临灭绝的物种。 不受管制的资本主义是鸡舍里的狐狸。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Trump Administration Rolls Back Endangered Species Protections

Up close photo of a monarch buttefly
Is the monarch butterfly an endangered species? (Photo: Pixabay)

“The Endangered Species Act works; our communities—both natural and human—have reaped the benefits. This safety net must be preserved.”

The Trump administration rolled out sweeping changes to the Endangered Species Act on Monday, weakening protections for threatened species and allowing authorities to ignore the impact of climate change on wildlife.

Critics argue the rollback represents an attempt by Interior Secretary David Bernhardt to prioritize fossil fuel and agribusiness profits over the public interest. One of its major provisions involves allowing the government to estimate the economic cost of protecting a species, allowing industry to override animal protections if they are deemed too expensive.

Critics, such as Brett Hartl of the Center for Biological Diversity conservation group, argue the rule is a cynical effort to inflate the cost of protecting species for the benefit of extractive industries.

Not only does Bernhardt hold the single most conflicts of interest of any cabinet member in the Trump administration, but he lobbied against the specific regulation in question during his time as a lobbyist for the oil, gas and agribusiness industries.

New York Times investigations have revealed that Bernhardt personally directed policies to weaken protections on endangered animals and has blocked scientific reports on the danger of pesticides. Bernhardt has been heavily involved with the offering of public lands (almost the size of South Carolina) for oil and gas leasing, and repealed national monument regulations for the sake of industrial development.

The news also comes only months after a landmark study by the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystems (IPBES) found that one million animal species are currently threatened with extinction. The study’s 310 contributing authors urged transformative change as a necessity to avert irreversible damage to the biosphere.

Environmentalist Groups Pledge To Fight Back

Supporters of the act note its marked success in protecting a diverse range of wildlife.

“The Endangered Species Act is credited with helping save the bald eagle, California condor and scores of other animals and plants from extinction since President Richard Nixon signed it into law in 1973,” explained the Associated Press. “The Endangered Species Act currently protects more than 1,600 species in the United States and its territories.”

While environmental groups were incensed by the latest ecological rollback under the climate change-denying Trump administration, numerous organizations pledged to fight the ruling in court.

“We’ll fight the Trump administration in court to block this rewrite, which only serves the oil industry and other polluters who see endangered species as pesky inconveniences,” said Noah Greenwald of the Center for Biological Diversity.

“Undermining this popular and successful law is a major step in the wrong direction as we face the increasing challenges of climate change and its effects on wildlife,” said Lena Moffitt, director of Sierra Club’s Our Wild America campaign. “The Endangered Species Act works; our communities—both natural and human—have reaped the benefits. This safety net must be preserved.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout August 13, 2019

    Home sapiens is an endangered species. Unregulated capitalism is a fox in the chicken house.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.