اكتب للبحث

البيئة

إدارة ترامب تتراجع أنواع الحماية المهددة بالانقراض

الصورة عن قرب للملك بوتيفلي
هل فراشة العاهل من الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض؟ (الصورة: بيكسباي)

"قانون الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض يعمل ؛ لقد حصدت مجتمعاتنا - الطبيعية والبشرية - الفوائد. يجب الحفاظ على شبكة الأمان هذه. "

بدأت إدارة ترامب في إجراء تغييرات شاملة على قانون الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض يوم الاثنين ، مما أضعف الحماية للأنواع المهددة بالانقراض وسمح للسلطات بتجاهل تأثير تغير المناخ على الحياة البرية.

يجادل النقاد بأن التراجع يمثل محاولة من جانب وزير الداخلية ديفيد بيرنهاردت لإعطاء الأولوية للوقود الأحفوري وأرباح الأعمال الزراعية على المصلحة العامة. يتضمن أحد أحكامها الرئيسية السماح للحكومة بتقدير التكلفة الاقتصادية لحماية الأنواع ، والسماح للصناعة بتجاوز الحماية الحيوانية إذا اعتُبرت مكلفة للغاية.

النقاد ، مثل بريت هارتل من مجموعة الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي التابعة لمركز التنوع البيولوجي ، يجادلون بأن القاعدة عبارة عن جهد متهكم لتضخيم تكلفة حماية الأنواع لصالح الصناعات الاستخراجية.

ليس فقط بيرنهاردت عقد واحد معظم تضارب المصالح من أي عضو في مجلس الوزراء في إدارة ترامب ، لكنه ضغط ضد اللوائح المحددة في السؤال خلال الفترة التي قضاها في جماعات الضغط لصناعات النفط والغاز والصناعات الزراعية.

كشفت تحقيقات نيويورك تايمز أن برنهاردت السياسات الموجهة شخصيا لإضعاف الحماية على الحيوانات المهددة بالانقراض و التقارير العلمية المحجوبة على خطر المبيدات. شارك برنهارد بشدة في تقديم الأراضي العامة (حجم ولاية كارولينا الجنوبية تقريبًا) لتأجير النفط والغاز ، وألغى لوائح الآثار الوطنية من أجل التنمية الصناعية.

الأخبار تأتي أيضا بعد أشهر فقط من دراسة تاريخية وجدت من قبل المنبر الحكومي الدولي للعلوم والسياسات في مجال التنوع البيولوجي والنظم الإيكولوجية (IPBES) أن هناك مليون نوع حيواني حاليًا مهددة بالانقراض. حث مؤلفو الدراسة الذين شاركوا في الدراسة 310 على التغيير التحويلي كضرورة لتفادي الأضرار التي لا رجعة فيها في المحيط الحيوي.

مجموعات حماية البيئة تتعهد بالرد

يلاحظ أنصار الفعل نجاحه الملحوظ في حماية مجموعة متنوعة من الحيوانات البرية.

"إن قانون الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض يعود الفضل في المساعدة في إنقاذ النسر الأصلع ، كوندور كاليفورنيا وعشرات من الحيوانات والنباتات الأخرى من الانقراض منذ أن وقع الرئيس ريتشارد نيكسون ليصبح قانونا في 1973 ،" وأوضح وكالة انباء. "يحمي قانون الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض حاليًا أكثر من أنواع 1,600 في الولايات المتحدة وأقاليمها."

بينما غضبت المجموعات البيئية من جراء التراجع البيئي الأخير في ظل إدارة ترامب التي رفضت تغير المناخ ، تعهدت العديد من المنظمات بمحاربة الحكم في المحكمة.

"سنقاتل إدارة ترامب في المحكمة لمنع إعادة كتابة هذا ، الذي يخدم فقط صناعة النفط وغيرها من الملوثين الذين يرون الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض على أنها مضايقات مزعجة ،" قال نوح غرينوالد من مركز التنوع البيولوجي.

"تقويض هذا القانون الشعبي والناجح هو خطوة رئيسية في الاتجاه الخاطئ حيث نواجه التحديات المتزايدة لتغير المناخ وآثاره على الحياة البرية" قال لينا موفيت ، مديرة حملة سييرا كلوب التابعة لنا بعنوان Wild Our America. "قانون الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض يعمل ؛ لقد حصدت مجتمعاتنا - الطبيعية والبشرية - الفوائد. يجب الحفاظ على شبكة الأمان هذه. "

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ن ستاوت أغسطس 13، 2019

    العاقل المنزل هو الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض. الرأسمالية غير المنظمة هي ثعلب في بيت الدجاج.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Trump Administration Rolls Back Endangered Species Protections

Up close photo of a monarch buttefly
Is the monarch butterfly an endangered species? (Photo: Pixabay)

“The Endangered Species Act works; our communities—both natural and human—have reaped the benefits. This safety net must be preserved.”

The Trump administration rolled out sweeping changes to the Endangered Species Act on Monday, weakening protections for threatened species and allowing authorities to ignore the impact of climate change on wildlife.

Critics argue the rollback represents an attempt by Interior Secretary David Bernhardt to prioritize fossil fuel and agribusiness profits over the public interest. One of its major provisions involves allowing the government to estimate the economic cost of protecting a species, allowing industry to override animal protections if they are deemed too expensive.

Critics, such as Brett Hartl of the Center for Biological Diversity conservation group, argue the rule is a cynical effort to inflate the cost of protecting species for the benefit of extractive industries.

Not only does Bernhardt hold the single most conflicts of interest of any cabinet member in the Trump administration, but he lobbied against the specific regulation in question during his time as a lobbyist for the oil, gas and agribusiness industries.

New York Times investigations have revealed that Bernhardt personally directed policies to weaken protections on endangered animals and has blocked scientific reports on the danger of pesticides. Bernhardt has been heavily involved with the offering of public lands (almost the size of South Carolina) for oil and gas leasing, and repealed national monument regulations for the sake of industrial development.

The news also comes only months after a landmark study by the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystems (IPBES) found that one million animal species are currently threatened with extinction. The study’s 310 contributing authors urged transformative change as a necessity to avert irreversible damage to the biosphere.

Environmentalist Groups Pledge To Fight Back

Supporters of the act note its marked success in protecting a diverse range of wildlife.

“The Endangered Species Act is credited with helping save the bald eagle, California condor and scores of other animals and plants from extinction since President Richard Nixon signed it into law in 1973,” explained the Associated Press. “The Endangered Species Act currently protects more than 1,600 species in the United States and its territories.”

While environmental groups were incensed by the latest ecological rollback under the climate change-denying Trump administration, numerous organizations pledged to fight the ruling in court.

“We’ll fight the Trump administration in court to block this rewrite, which only serves the oil industry and other polluters who see endangered species as pesky inconveniences,” said Noah Greenwald of the Center for Biological Diversity.

“Undermining this popular and successful law is a major step in the wrong direction as we face the increasing challenges of climate change and its effects on wildlife,” said Lena Moffitt, director of Sierra Club’s Our Wild America campaign. “The Endangered Species Act works; our communities—both natural and human—have reaped the benefits. This safety net must be preserved.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout August 13, 2019

    Home sapiens is an endangered species. Unregulated capitalism is a fox in the chicken house.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.