输入搜索

分析

G-20峰会上的五个最热门话题

G20,受邀嘉宾国家和国际组织代表团团长联合合影。
G20,受邀嘉宾国家和国际组织代表团团长联合合影。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

年度G-20峰会在日本结束,但虽然主题很长,但是它是否会导致任何行动还有待观察。

在6月29周六,G-20成员国的年度峰会在日本大阪市举行。 峰会产生了一份由参与国家制作的文件 G20大阪领导人宣言。 它包括在峰会上设立的43点,评论各种问题,包括经济增长,技术,基础设施,气候变化,反腐败努力和全球健康,以及平等和赋予妇女权力。

峰会的五大亮点

关注特朗普 - 习近平贸易谈判

考虑到两国贸易战对全球经济的影响,唐纳德特朗普总统与中国国家主席习近平之间的贸易谈判是峰会上最令人期待的时刻。

两位领导人都同意重启贸易谈判,不再对彼此征收额外关税。 然而,尽管通讯温暖,但没有迹象表明贸易战已经结束。

“尽管华盛顿同意推迟对中国商品征收额外关税以便为谈判腾出空间,特朗普甚至暗示要在谈判结束前推迟对华为作出决定,但事情仍有很大的影响,”中国日报称在引用的社论中 路透社。

来自穆迪投资者服务公司的迈克尔泰勒回应了“每日报”的社论说,由于这两个国家尚未取消已经相互打击的关税,因此休战将是短暂的。 穆迪担任亚太区首席信贷官泰勒解释说,重启贸易谈判不会自动修改全球前景。

泰勒告诉BFM电台 贸易停战将“部分缓解金融市场近期的负面情绪”停火“并未从根本上改变其(穆迪)全球经济前景。”

持续的伊朗 - 美国紧张局势

G-20最敏感的问题之一是美国和伊朗之间的紧张关系不断升级。 紧张局势首先是华盛顿退出伊朗核协议(正式称为联合综合行动计划或JCPOA)引发的,因为有人指责伊朗违反协议并对中东稳定构成威胁。

值得注意的是,特朗普和沙特阿拉伯的王储穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼(MBS)在G-20的间隙讨论了伊朗问题。

“两位领导人讨论了沙特阿拉伯在确保中东和全球石油市场稳定方面的关键作用。 他们还讨论了伊朗政权的升级行为带来的威胁,“白宫发言人霍根吉德利 在一份声明中说:.

华盛顿计划对购买伊朗石油的国家实施制裁并取消之前的临时豁免。

“我们将批准任何进口的伊朗原油。 现在没有油豁免,“ 美国驻伊朗特使布莱恩胡克说并补充说,政府打算“制裁任何非法购买伊朗原油”。

去年,华盛顿退出了在2015签署的JCPOA,声称该协议不足以推动伊朗停止其核计划。 尽管国际原子能机构(IAEA)声称伊朗完全遵守了这项协议,但撤离仍然存在。

伊朗通过暂停一些原先商定的JCPOA条款并超过该交易允许的铀浓缩限值(300千克)进行报复。

欧洲国家正在向伊朗施加压力,要求伊朗坚持这项协议,但如果伊斯兰国没有这样做,就不会指出任何潜在的后果。 德黑兰为欧洲设定了7月7截止日期,以提供一系列努力来缓解美国的制裁。

美俄将继续进行核谈判

在出席G-20峰会后,俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔普京证实,俄罗斯和美国将开始就核军备控制进行谈判,但普京强调,谈判不一定会导致核武器条约的延期,START3已停滞不前几年。

“我们已经向各自的外交部长提出了关于这一主题的开始磋商......但我们还不能说这是否会导致START3延期,” 普京告诉记者 峰会结束后。

俄罗斯和美国都签署了在2010签署的新START条约。 该协定对部署的战略核弹头的数量设置了限制,并限制了其他武器,包括洲际弹道导弹发射器。 该协议在2021中到期,并且有人担心它不会被延长。 普京此前声称,美国拒绝了他的谈判协议可能延长该协议的邀请。

特朗普承认在大阪闭门会议期间与普京讨论军备控制,表明他的政府愿意就新协议进行谈判。

气候变化

所有G-20成员国(美国除外)都承诺履行对巴黎气候协议的承诺,并在G-20宣言中表示他们致力于各种清洁技术和方法。

在阿根廷布宜诺斯艾利斯召开的2018 G-20峰会上,华盛顿宣布退出巴黎协议的计划,认为气候协议给美国纳税人和工人带来了不利因素。

2019东道国日本因为减缓塑料浪费的速度太慢而受到批评。 日本颁布了一项规定,要求零售商收取塑料袋的费用,但由于一些国家已经完全禁止使用一次性塑料,因此这一举措太少,太迟了。

环保监管机构绿色和平组织因为需要将煤炭作为能源而设定了2050之后的中性碳目标日期后,因为没有认真应对气候变化而抨击日本。

大数据

日本首相安倍晋三介绍了他的“无信息数据流动”倡议,也被称为“大阪追踪”,旨在通过制定国际规则促进数据跨国界自由流动。

但是,并非所有国家都支持该倡议。 印度,印度尼西亚,南非拒绝签署大阪轨道倡议。 新德里认为,数据是一种新的财富形式,应该存储在本国而不是外国,以保护隐私。

印度是强调数据本地化重要性的国家之一。 该国外交大臣Vijay Gokhale表示,应在世界贸易组织(WTO)范围内进行数据讨论。

“我们也肯定了数据对发展的作用。 从我们的角度来看,数据是一个主要问题,这是一个我们在国内也在关注国际规则制定的问题,“戈卡莱说。 Scroll.in写道。

除中国外,大多数发达国家都支持自由数据流,因为他们可以将数据保存在世界上最有效的位置。 虽然印度,印度尼西亚和南非更加注重允许本地公司在实现免费数据流动之前在全球范围内竞争, 正如印度时代新闻频道解释的那样.

“印度储备银行已在2018发布指南,指出与支付系统相关的印度客户的所有数据应仅存储在印度的系统中。 现在,除了支付外,印度政府目前还在议会提出议案,要求所有私人参与者,社交媒体巨头和搜索引擎谷歌将数据存储在印度,“Times Now写道。

峰会上最后一个值得注意的成就是日本成功地将其与世界银行在G-20宣言中建立的基础设施计划纳入其中。

该计划称为质量基础设施投资,旨在关注发展中国家更加综合和可持续的发展。 一些人认为该计划与中国发起的新丝绸之路相反,许多国家认为这是一个债务陷阱。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS

Five Hottest Topics at the G-20 Summit

Joint photo session of the heads of delegations from the G20, invited guest countries and international organisations.
Joint photo session of the heads of delegations from the G20, invited guest countries and international organisations. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

The annual G-20 summit wrapped up in Japan, but while it was long on topics it remains to be seen whether it will result in any action.

On Saturday, June 29, the annual summit of G-20 member countries wrapped up in the Japanese city of Osaka. The summit resulted in a document produced by the participating countries called the G20 Osaka Leaders’ Declaration. It consists of 43 points established at the summit that comment on a variety of issues including economic growth, technology, infrastructure, climate change, anti-corruption efforts and global health, as well as equality and women empowerment.

 

Five Highlights From The Summit

All Eyes on Trump-Xi Jinping Trade Talks

Trade talks between President Donald Trump and his Chinese counterpart Xi Jinping were the most anticipated moment in the summit given the impact of the trade war between both countries on the global economy.

Both leaders agreed to restart trade negotiations and refrain from imposing additional tariffs on each other. However, despite the warmer communications, there is no sign the trade war is over.

“Even though Washington agreed to postpone levying additional tariffs on Chinese goods to make way for negotiations, and Trump even hinted at putting off decisions on Huawei until the end of negotiations, things are still very much up in the air,” the China Daily said in an editorial quoted by Reuters.

Michael Taylor from Moody’s Investor Service echoed the Daily’s editorial saying that the truce would be short-lived given that both countries have yet to cancel the tariffs already slapped on each other. Taylor, Moody’s Chief Credit Officer for the Asia Pacific Region, explained that restarting trade talks would not automatically revise the global outlook.

Taylor told BFM Radio that the trade truce would “partially relieve recent negative sentiment in the financial markets” the ceasefire “does not fundamentally change their (Moody’s) outlook for the global economy.”

Ongoing Iran-US tension

One of the most sensitive issues at the G-20 was the escalating tension between the U.S. and Iran. The tension was first triggered by Washington’s withdrawal from the Iran nuclear deal (formally known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action or JCPOA) over accusations that Iran had violated the deal and posed a threat to Middle East stability.

Notably, Trump and Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS) discussed the Iran issue on the sidelines of the G-20.

“The two leaders discussed Saudi Arabia’s critical role in ensuring stability in the Middle East and in the global oil market. They also discussed the threat posed by the Iranian regime’s escalatory behavior,” White House spokesman Hogan Gidley said in a statement.

Washington is planning to impose sanctions on countries which buy Iranian oil and withdrew previous temporary exemptions.

“We will sanction any imports of Iranian crude oil. There are right now no oil waivers in place,” said U.S Special Envoy to Iran Brian Hook, adding that the administration intends to “sanction any illicit purchases of Iranian crude oil.”

Last year, Washington withdrew from the JCPOA, which was signed in 2015, claiming the agreement was not adequate in pushing Iran to stop its nuclear programs. The withdrawal came despite claims by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) that Iran was in full compliance of the deal.

Iran retaliated by suspending some of the formerly agreed to terms in the JCPOA and exceeding the uranium-enrichment limit (300 kilograms) allowed by the deal.

European countries are pressuring Iran to stick with the deal but did not specify any potential consequences if the Islamic state fails to do so. Tehran set a July 7 deadline for Europe to provide a range of efforts to provide relief from U.S. sanctions.

US-Russia Will Continue Nuclear Talks

After attending the G-20 summit, Russia’s President Vladimir Putin confirmed that Russia and the U.S. will begin negotiations regarding nuclear arms control, but Putin stressed the talks will not necessarily lead to an extension of the nuclear arms treaty, START3, which has stalled for several years.

“We have charged our respective foreign ministers with starting consultations on this subject… but we can not yet say whether this will lead to an extension of START3,” Putin told reporters after the summit.

Both Russia and the U.S. are signatories of the NEW START treaty signed in 2010. The pact placed limits on the number of deployed strategic nuclear warheads and placed limits on other weapons including inter-continental ballistic missile launchers. The agreement expires in 2021 and there is concern it won’t be extended. Putin previously claimed that the U.S. snubbed his invitation to negotiate the possible extension of the pact.

Trump admitted discussing arms control with Putin during a closed-door meeting in Osaka, signaling that his administration was willing to negotiate a new agreement.

Climate Change

All G-20 member countries (except the U.S.) pledged their commitment to the Paris Climate Accord and said in the G-20 Declaration that they are committed to a wide variety of clean technologies and approaches.

In the 2018 G-20 summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Washington announced its plan to exit from the Paris deal, arguing that the climate agreement brings disadvantages to American taxpayers and workers.

The 2019 host country, Japan, is under criticism for moving too slow to reduce plastic waste. Japan issued a regulation that requires retailers to charge a fee for plastic bags, but the move comes off as too little, too late as several countries have already banned the use of disposable plastic altogether.

Environmental watchdog Greenpeace slammed Japan for not being serious in mitigating climate change after the country set a neutral carbon target date of after 2050 due to its need for coal as an energy source.

Big Data

Japan’s Prime Minister Shinzo Abe introduced his “Data Free Flow With Trust” initiative, also being called the “Osaka Track,” which aims to facilitate the free movement of data across international boundaries by establishing international rules.

However, not all countries support the initiative. India, Indonesia, South Africa refused to sign onto the Osaka Track initiative. New Delhi argued that data is a new form of wealth and should be stored in native countries rather than in foreign nations in order to protect privacy.

India is among countries that stress the importance of data localization. The country’s Foreign Secretary Vijay Gokhale stated that a discussion on data should take place within the World Trade Organization (WTO) context.

“We also affirm the role of data for development. From our perspective, data is a major issue, it is an issue which we are also domestically looking at where international rule-making is taking place,” Gokhale said as Scroll.in wrote.

Most developed nations, except China, are in favor of free-data flow as then they can save their data in the world’s most efficient locations. While India, Indonesia, and South Africa are more focused on allowing local companies to compete on a global level before enabling free data movement, as the Indian-based Times Now News channel explained.

“The Reserve Bank of India had issued guidelines in 2018, stating that all the data of the Indian customers related to the payment systems should be stored in a system only in India. Now, apart from payments, the Indian government is currently mooting to table a Bill in Parliament that would require all private players, social media giants, and search engine Google to store their data in India,” Times Now wrote.

One last noteworthy achievement at the summit was Japan’s success in including the infrastructure program it established along with the World Bank in the G-20 declaration.

The program, called the Quality Infrastructure Investment, aims to focus on more integrated and sustainable development in developing countries. Some consider the program a counter to the Chinese-initiated New Silk Road which many countries see as a debt-trap.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.